Message from the High Commissioner Lisa Stadelbauer

Greetings, Salutations, Hamjambo!

Welcome to the website of the High Commission of Canada in Nairobi, Kenya.

Canada is represented by the High Commission in Nairobi which is Canada’s largest mission in Africa. I am honoured to be representing Canada as the High Commissioner to the Republic of Kenya and Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and to the United Nations Habitat Programme.  A highly dedicated team of Canadian diplomatic and locally-engaged staff delivers programs in the areas of political and economic relations, public affairs, immigration processing and visa services, consular, development cooperation, trade and business development and defence and security cooperation. Our activities in the region are supported and complemented by our office in Kigali (Rwanda) and our Honorary Consul offices in Bujumbura (Burundi) and Kampala (Uganda).

Canada and Kenya enjoy excellent cooperation and friendship founded on shared interests. We were pleased, in November 2018, to co-host with Kenya the first global Sustainable Blue Economy Conference, which had over 17,000 registered participants from more than 180 countries. We look forward to working with Kenya in the coming year to build the blue economy we want: prosperous, sustainable and inclusive.

We will also work with Kenyans, through our Feminist International Assistance Policy, to advance Kenya’s development, with a focus on education. We are putting women’s and girls’ empowerment at the heart of all our work. Our trade relationship continues to grow, and we are supporting Kenya’s efforts to promote regional security. Our engagement is broad, and holds great promise for further growth.

I would urge you to keep abreast of Canada’s Travel Advisories and Travel Reports for the countries in which you reside and travel. Further information on Canada’s Travel Advisories and Travel Reports can be found at: https://travel.gc.ca/travelling.

If you are a Canadian resident in or visiting Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda, Somalia or Uganda, please take a moment to register online using the Registration of Canadians Abroad (ROCA) webpage, or by coming to the High Commission of Canada in Nairobi, or any of our offices in Burundi, Rwanda and Uganda to provide coordinates should we need to contact you in case of an emergency.

I hope that you find this website useful and informative and I encourage you to explore the links for more detailed information on the range of services we provide.

Yours sincerely,
Lisa Stadelbauer,
High Commissioner


Biography

(BA [Administrative and Commercial Studies], University of Western Ontario, 1988) joined External Affairs and International Trade Canada in 1990. Her first assignment abroad was in 1992 to Tel Aviv, and she later served in Hanoi as counsellor and then in Oslo as counsellor and consul. From 2011 to 2015, she served as ambassador to Zimbabwe and Angola and high commissioner in Botswana. In Ottawa, she has served in a number of functions, including director of the Eastern and Southern Africa Division, deputy to Canada’s Africa personal representative to the G8 and, from 2015 to 2017, director general of the Pan-Africa Bureau. Her most recent assignment was in the Foreign and Defence Policy Secretariat of the Privy Council Office. Ms. Lisa Stadelbauer was appointed Canada’s High Commissioner to Kenya in October 2018 and presented her credentials to President Uhuru Kenyatta on Wednesday, December 5, 2018.
Mme Lisa

Message de la Haute-commissaire

Greetings, Salutations, Hajambo!

J'ai le plaisir de vous accueillir sur le site internet du Haut-commissariat du Canada à Nairobi, Kenya.

Le Canada est représenté par le Haut-commissariat à Nairobi qui est la plus grande mission diplomatique du Canada sur le continent africain.  J'ai l'honneur de représenter le Canada en tant que Haute-commissaire auprès de la République du Kenya et Ambassadeure et Représentante permanente auprès du Programme des Nations unies pour l'environnement (UNEP) et du Programme des Nations unies pour les établissements humains ONU-habitat.  J’ai le plaisir de travailler avec une équipe très dévouée de diplomates canadiens et d'employés recrutés sur place qui livrent des programmes dans les domaines de relations politiques et économiques, d’affaires publiques, de traitement des demandes d'immigration et de visas, de services consulaires, de coopération au développement, de développement d'échanges commerciaux et d'affaires et de coopération en matière de défense et de sécurité.  Nos activités dans la région sont soutenues et complémentées par notre bureau à Kigali (Rwanda) et nos Consulats honoraires à Bujumbura (Burundi) et à Kampala (Ouganda).

Le Canada et le Kenya bénéficient d’une excellente coopération et amitié fondées sur des intérêts partagés. En novembre 2018, nous avons eu le plaisir d’organiser conjointement avec le Kenya la première Conférence sur l’économie bleue durable, qui a eu plus de 17,000 participants d’enregistrés, venant de plus de 180 pays. Nous avons hâte de continuer au courant de la prochaine année, le travail avec le Kenya pour construire l’économie bleue que nous souhaitons : prospère, durable et inclusive.

Nous travaillerons aussi avec le Kenya, au travers de notre Politique d’aide internationale féministe, à avancer le développement du Kenya avec une emphase sur l’éducation. Nous plaçons le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles au centre de tout notre travail.  Notre relation commerciale continue à croître, et nous soutenons les efforts du Kenya pour la promotion de la sécurité régionale.  Notre engagement est vaste et très prometteur pour la poursuite de la croissance.

Je vous recommande de vous tenir au courant des conseils aux voyageurs ainsi que des rapports de voyage sur les pays dans lesquels vous résidez ou souhaitez voyager.  Pour plus d'information sur les conseils aux voyageurs émis par le Canada et les rapports de voyage, cliquez sur l'adresse suivante: https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager.

Si vous êtes un(e) résident(e) canadien(ne) vivant ou en visite au Kenya, au Burundi, au Rwanda, en Somalie ou en Ouganda, nous vous invitons à prendre un instant pour vous enregistrer en ligne sur la page internet Inscription des Canadiens à l'étranger, ou en venant au Haut-commissariat du Canada à Nairobi ou à l'un de nos bureaux au Burundi, Rwanda et en Ouganda pour nous fournir vos coordonnées afin de pouvoir vous joindre en cas d'urgence.

J'espère que vous trouverez ce site utile et informatif et je vous encourage à explorer les différents liens que vous y trouverez afin d’obtenir plus d'information sur les nombreux services que nous fournissons.

Cordialement,
Lisa Stadelbauer,
Haute-commissaire


Biographie

(B.A. [études administratives et commerciales], Université de Western Ontario, 1988) s’est jointe à Affaires extérieures et Commerce extérieur Canada en 1990. Elle est affectée pour la première fois à l’étranger en 1992, à Tel-Aviv, pour ensuite occuper le poste de conseillère à Hanoï, puis ceux de conseillère et de consule à Oslo. De 2011 à 2015, elle a été Ambassadrice au Zimbabwe et en Angola, et Haute-commissaire au Botswana. À Ottawa, elle a occupé divers postes, notamment celui de directrice de la Direction de l’Afrique orientale et australe, de suppléante du représentant personnel du Canada pour l’Afrique au sein du G8 et, de 2015 à 2017, de directrice générale de la Direction générale des affaires panafricaines. Elle travaillait jusqu’à tout récemment au Secrétariat chargé de la politique étrangère et de la défense du Bureau du Conseil privé. Lisa Stadelbauer a été nommée Haute-commissaire du Canada auprès de la République du Kenya en octobre 2018, présentant ses Lettres de créances au Président Uhuru Kenyatta le mercredi 5 décembre 2018.