Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Kuwait.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office

Ambassador's Message

Louis-Pierre Émond
Louis-Pierre Émond

Thank you for visiting our website.

It is truly an honor to represent Canada in the State of Kuwait and contribute to strengthening the already solid ties that unite our countries. Although our two countries are very different in terms of climate, we do have numerous areas of common interest and shared principles and values. Canada and Kuwait enjoy a solid and growing commercial relationship with key partnerships in areas such as engineering, aerospace, education, life sciences and oil and gas. Furthermore, around 400 post-secondary Kuwaiti students decide to study in Canadian learning institutions every year, creating everlasting bonds between the two countries that will develop over time into research projects, shared experiences and commercial opportunities.

As we approach the 55th anniversary of our diplomatic relations, our team will continue to work closely with our Kuwaiti counterparts in order to deepen our partnership through promoting regional and international security and stability; diversifying our bilateral trade and investment portfolio; and discovering what each country has to offer through arts, science and sports.

It will be particularly interesting to see how Canadians can take part in the New Kuwait 2035 development plan, an ambitious vision for renewal of key aspects of Kuwaiti infrastructure in terms of human capital, public administration, healthcare, the environment and the economy, among others.

I encourage all Canadians living in Kuwait to register with us to ensure that we can contact you in the event of an emergency. 

Finally, I encourage all of you interested in discovering more about Canada and Kuwait to follow us on Twitter (@CanadaKuwait), as well as on my personal account (@LPEmond99).

Sincerely,

Louis-Pierre Émond
Ambassador of Canada to the State of Kuwait

Biography

Louis-Pierre Émond (Bachelor of Business Administration, Laval University, 1997; Master of Business Administration, Laval University, 1999) joined the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade in 1999. Abroad, he worked in Tokyo, Japan between 2002 and 2005 as First Secretary and trade commissioner before moving to Nagoya, Japan where he was Consul and senior trade commissioner from 2005 to 2007. He also was posted to the Embassy of Canada in Peru (with responsibility for Bolivia) from 2009 to 2012, where he was Counsellor and senior trade commissioner. He was then posted to Sao Paulo, Brazil from 2014 to 2018 where he was Consul and senior trade commissioner. At Headquarters, he has held progressively more senior assignments starting in the Western Europe division, focusing on the Canada-France commercial relationship between 1999 and 2000, then as Deputy-director of the Middle East and North Africa division from 2007 to 2008. After his return from Peru he acted as Special advisor in the Executive Services Division between 2012 and 2013. He speaks French, English, Japanese, Spanish and Portuguese.

Footer

Date Modified:
2018-10-31

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Koweit.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux

Message de l'ambassadeur

Louis-Pierre Émond
Louis-Pierre Émond

Merci de visiter notre page web.

C’est vraiment un honneur de représenter le Canada au Koweït et de contribuer au renforcement des liens déjà solides qui unissent nos pays. Bien que nos deux pays soient très différents en termes de climat, nous avons de nombreux domaines d’intérêt commun et des principes et valeurs partagés. Le Canada et le Koweït entretiennent des relations commerciales solides et croissantes avec des partenariats clés dans des domaines tels que l'ingénierie, l'aérospatiale, l'éducation, les sciences de la vie ainsi que le pétrole et le gaz. En outre, environ 400 étudiants koweïtiens de niveau postsecondaire décident chaque année d’étudier dans des établissements d’enseignement canadiens, ce qui crée des liens continus entre les deux pays, qui se transformeront progressivement en projets de recherche, en expériences partagées et en opportunités commerciales.

À l’approche du 55e anniversaire de nos relations diplomatiques, notre équipe continuera de travailler en étroite collaboration avec ses homologues koweïtiens afin d’approfondir notre partenariat en favorisant la sécurité et la stabilité régionales et internationales; diversifier notre portefeuille bilatéral de commerce et d'investissement; et découvrir ce que chaque pays a à offrir à travers les arts, les sciences et les sports.

Il sera particulièrement intéressant de voir comment les Canadiens peuvent participer au plan de développement du nouveau Koweït 2035, une vision ambitieuse pour le renouvellement d'aspects essentiels de l'infrastructure koweïtienne en termes de capital humain, d'administration publique, de soins de santé, d'environnement et d'économie, entre autres.

J'encourage tous les Canadiens vivant au Koweït à s'inscrire avec nous pour que l’on puisse vous contacter en cas de situation d'urgence.

Enfin, j'encourage tous ceux qui souhaitent en savoir plus sur le Canada et le Koweït à nous suivre sur Twitter (@CanadaKoweit), ainsi que sur mon compte personnel (@ LPEmond99).

Sincèrement,

Louis-Pierre Émond
Ambassadeur du Canada auprès de l’État du Koweït

Biographie

M. Louis-Pierre Émond (B.A.A., Université Laval, 1997; M.B.A., Université Laval, 1999) est entré au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en 1999. À l’étranger, il a travaillé à Tokyo, Japon de 2002 à 2005 en tant que Premier secrétaire et délégué commercial avant de se déplacer vers Nagoya, Japon où il était Consul et délégué commercial principal de 2005 à 2007. Il a aussi été affecté à l’ambassade du Canada au Pérou (avec responsabilité pour la Bolivie) de 2009 à 2012, où il était Conseiller et délégué commercial principal. Il a par la suite été affecté à Sao Paulo, Brésil de 2014 à 2018 en tant que Consul et délégué commercial principal. À l’administration centrale, il a occupé des postes comportant de plus en plus de responsabilités, en commençant à la direction de l’Europe de l’Ouest, où il travaillait sur la relation commerciale Canada-France entre 1999 et 2000, puis comme directeur adjoint de la Direction du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord entre 2007 et 2008. Après son retour du Pérou, il a travaillé au sein de la Direction des services exécutifs entre 2012 et 2013. Il parle le français, l’anglais, le japonais, l’espagnol et le portugais.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2018-10-30