Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Libya.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Our Office
  4. >
  5. Media Room

Statement by the Embassy of Canada to Libya on the High National Elections Commission attack

May 2, 2018

Canada strongly condemns the attack that took place today at the High National Elections Commission in Tripoli. We extend our heartfelt sympathies to the victims of this horrific act and to their families, and wish a rapid recovery to those injured.

“Canada stands with the people of Libya during this difficult time. We reiterate our support for the Government of National Accord and for Libyan-led efforts, supported by the United Nations Action Plan for Libya, to achieve a lasting and inclusive political solution.

The international community must remain steadfast in its support of Libya on its path towards national unity. Canada, along with its allies, will continue its efforts to counter terrorism in Libya and in the region.

Footer

Date Modified:
2018-05-02

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Libye.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Nos bureaux
  4. >
  5. Salle des médias

Déclaration de l’ambassade du Canada en Libye sur l'attaque visant la Haute Commission électorale nationale

Le 2 mai 2018

Le Canada condamne avec fermeté l'attaque qui a eu lieu aujourd'hui à la Haute Commission électorale nationale à Tripoli. Nous offrons nos plus sincères condoléances aux victimes de cet acte horrible et à leurs familles, et nous souhaitons un prompt rétablissement aux blessés.

Le Canada se tient aux côtés du peuple libyen durant cette période difficile. Nous réaffirmons notre soutien au gouvernement d’entente nationale de la Libye et aux efforts menés par les Libyens, soutenus par le Plan d'action des Nations Unies pour la Libye, en vue de parvenir à une solution politique durable et inclusive.

La communauté internationale doit rester ferme dans son soutien à la Libye sur la voie de l'unité nationale. Le Canada, avec ses alliés, poursuivra ses efforts pour contrer le terrorisme en Libye et dans la région.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2018-05-02