Canada – Malaysia Relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Malaysia share over 60 years of friendly bilateral ties that stretch back to the founding of modern Malaysia. Canada was one of the first countries to establish diplomatic relations with the newly-independent Federation of Malaya in 1957. In Malaysia, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in Kuala Lumpur, and by a Consulate headed by an Honorary Consul in Penang. Malaysia is represented in Canada by a High Commission in Ottawa, a Trade Office in Toronto and a Consulate in Vancouver.

Trade

Malaysia is one of Canada’s largest bilateral merchandise trading partners in the ASEAN region. In 2018 bilateral trade totaled $3.8 billion. Canadian merchandise exports to Malaysia were valued at more than $784 million. Top Canadian exports included fertilizers, soybeans, wheat, electrical machinery and equipment, and machinery and mechanical appliances. Canada’s merchandise imports from Malaysia, which were valued at almost $3 billion, consisted primarily of electronic machinery and equipment, printing machinery, technical and precision instruments, and rubber.

Development

Through Canada’s High Commission in Kuala Lumpur, Canada engages in strategic advocacy and supports programming to promote Canadian values. Partnering with Malaysian civil society organisations, areas of focus include strengthening democratic values, supporting marginalized groups (LGBT, women, indigenous peoples and victims of sexual violence), and promoting religious freedom, diversity and pluralism. 

Canada’s ASEAN regional development program aims to strengthen the empowerment of the poor and most vulnerable people in ASEAN countries with a particular focus on women and girls.

Defence and Security

Canada and Malaysia enjoy a robust and expanding defence and security relationship. The two nations signed a Memorandum of Understanding on security cooperation in 2013 and regularly collaborate in areas including military capacity building, counter-terrorism, and Weapons of Mass Destruction threat reduction (particularly Chemical Biological Radiological and Nuclear threat response). Canada has trained over 1000 Malaysian first responders in how to respond safely to various threats, incidents, and attacks. Canada has also contributed equipment to Malaysian security partners, including two rigid hull fender boats which were delivered to the Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency in 2014.

Additionally, Malaysia is a beneficiary of the many Canadian regional counter-terrorism and anti-crime initiatives in Southeast Asia. These initiatives are addressing, among other things, cyber security, foreign terrorist fighters, terrorist finance, migrant smuggling, strengthening border security, and improving information sharing among ASEAN members.

Members of the Malaysian Armed Forces have benefitted from Canada’s Military Training Cooperation Program since 1966. More than 500 officers have received training in areas including language courses, peace support operations, and military professional development.

Multilateral partnerships

Trade and investment agreements

Relations Canada – Malaisie

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et la Malaisie entretiennent des relations bilatérales amicales depuis plus de 60 ans, qui remontent à la fondation de la Malaisie moderne. Le Canada a été un des premiers pays à établir des relations diplomatiques avec la Fédération de Malaisie nouvellement indépendante en 1957. En Malaisie, le Canada est représenté par son haut-commissariat à Kuala Lumpur et par un consul honoraire à Penang. La Malaisie est quant à elle représentée au Canada par un haut-commissariat à Ottawa, un bureau commercial à Toronto et un consulat à Vancouver.

Commerce

La Malaisie est un des plus importants partenaires commerciaux bilatéraux du Canada dans la région de l'ANASE. En 2018, les échanges commerciaux entre les deux pays ont totalisé 3,8 milliards de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers la Malaisie se sont élevées à plus de 784 millions de dollars. Parmi les principales exportations canadiennes, mentionnons les engrais, le soja, le blé, la machinerie et l'équipement électriques, ainsi que la machinerie et les appareils mécaniques. Les importations canadiennes de marchandises en provenance de la Malaisie, évaluées à près de 3 milliards de dollars, étaient principalement des machines et du matériel électroniques, des machines d'impression, des instruments techniques et de précision, ainsi que du caoutchouc.

Développement

Par l'entremise du haut-commissariat du Canada à Kuala Lumpur, le Canada participe à des activités de promotion stratégique et appuie les programmes mettant de l’avant les valeurs canadiennes. En partenariat avec les organisations de la société civile malaisienne, l'accent est mis sur le renforcement des valeurs démocratiques, le soutien aux groupes marginalisés (LGBT, femmes, peuples autochtones et victimes de violences sexuelles) et la promotion de la liberté religieuse, de la diversité et du pluralisme.

Le programme de développement du Canada pour la région vise à renforcer le pouvoir économique des pauvres et des personnes les plus vulnérables dans les pays de l'ANASE, en portant une attention particulière aux femmes et aux filles.

Défense et sécurité

Le Canada et la Malaisie entretiennent des relations solides et croissantes en matière de défense et de sécurité. Les deux pays ont signé un protocole d'entente sur la coopération en matière de sécurité en 2013 et collaborent régulièrement dans des domaines comme le renforcement des capacités militaires, la lutte contre le terrorisme et la réduction des menaces liées aux armes de destruction massive (notamment les menaces chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques et nucléaires). Le Canada a formé plus de 1 000 premiers intervenants malaisiens sur la façon d'intervenir en toute sécurité en cas de menaces, d'incidents et d'attaques diverses. Il a aussi fourni à ses partenaires malaisiens de l'équipement de sécurité, notamment deux embarcations pneumatiques à coque rigide, qui ont été livrées à l'Agence malaisienne d'application de la loi maritime en 2014.

De plus, la Malaisie tire profit des nombreuses initiatives canadiennes de lutte contre le terrorisme et la criminalité en Asie du Sud-Est. Ces initiatives portent, entre autres, sur la cybersécurité, les combattants terroristes étrangers, le financement du terrorisme, le trafic illicite de migrants, le renforcement de la sécurité aux frontières et l'amélioration de l’échange d'information entre les membres de l'ANASE.

Les membres des Forces armées malaisiennes bénéficient du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires du Canada depuis 1966. Plus de 500 officiers ont reçu une formation dans des domaines comme les cours de langue, les opérations de soutien de la paix et le perfectionnement militaire professionnel.

Partenariats multilatéraux

Accords commerciaux et d’investissements