High Commissioner Julia Bentley

Message from the High Commissioner

Julia BentleyIt is a great honour to be appointed as Canada’s 22nd High Commissioner to Malaysia, and to take up this role in this 60th anniversary year of the independence of this unique country, and also the 60th anniversary of Canada-Malaysia relations.

As trading nations, Canada and Malaysia have extensive ties in trade and investment. There is much potential for our partnership to grow through trade, investment, science, technology and education. More than 80,000 Malaysians have pursued educational opportunities in Canada. They serve as ambassadors for promoting Canada’s world-class education system for the enrichment of the youth of Malaysia and to meet the needs of the Malaysian economy.

Canada and Malaysia share many common characteristics, none more so than the diversity of our populations, including vibrant indigenous communities. This diversity has enriched our societies and our cultures, as have the rule of law and good governance. Canadians take pride in valuing tolerance and openness – to people, to trade and investment, to culture, innovation and ideas. This engagement with the world has helped define who we are and what we stand for as Canadians. I look forward to exploring new ways for Canadians and Malaysians to share experiences and to learn from one another.

Through defence and security cooperation that dates back to the 1960s we have joined together to confront transnational threats, such as terrorism.  Peacekeeping training is an important areas of collaboration between our military  forces. Another is joint training by our Special Forces to strengthen capacity to mitigate chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear threats.

Distant though our two nations may be geographically, globalization has brought us closer together.  We have shared interests in closer collaboration on important global and regional issues, such as North Korean nuclear proliferation and the crisis affecting the Rohingya community in Myanmar. We also share common cause in combatting climate change and protecting the environment to ensure the livelihoods and well-being of our future generations.

As a Pacific nation, Canada cherishes its relations with ASEAN countries like Malaysia. We look forward to expanding our dialogue and engagement with Malaysia through multilateral fora such as ASEAN, APEC, the United Nations and the Commonwealth.

Our nations can build upon this strong foundation and work together to confront the challenges of the next 60 years in order to achieve our shared vision of a better, cleaner, more sustainable and secure world for future generations.

I hope that you will find this website helpful, whether you are a Canadian planning to visit or already living here or you are a Malaysian interested in studying, visiting or doing business in Canada. Feel free to also consult our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/CanadaMalaysia/ or follow our Twitter postings at @CanadaMalaysia for the most up-to-date information on upcoming events and initiatives. 

Julia Bentley
High Commissioner

Biography

Julia Bentley (BA [East Asian Studies], Princeton University, 1981; post-graduate diploma [modern Chinese history], Nanjing University, 1983; MA [East Asian Studies], University of Toronto, 1984) joined the Department of External Affairs in 1991.

At headquarters, she has worked in the Asia Pacific Regional Coordination Division, and the International Economic Relations and Summits Division. She has served as Director of the Northeast Asia and South Asia Relations Divisions, and as Acting Director General of the South Asia Bureau. Overseas, she has served in Taiwan, India and twice China. She has also worked as a development consultant in Montreal, Singapore and Beijing, and for three years as director of Winrock International’s NGO Capacity Building Program in China, funded by the Ford Foundation.

Prior to joining the foreign service, she worked as an international policy advisor for the Ontario Ministry of Intergovernmental Affairs for five years.

Message de la Haute-commissaire

Julia BentleyC’est un grand honneur pour moi d’avoir été nommée 22e haut-commissaire du Canada en Malaisie et d’assumer ce rôle en cette année marquant le 60e anniversaire de l’indépendance de ce pays unique, ainsi que le 60e anniversaire des relations Canada-Malaisie.

En tant que partenaires commerciaux, le Canada et la Malaisie entretiennent des liens étroits dans le domaine du commerce et de l’investissement. Notre partenariat offre d’énormes possibilités de croissance grâce au commerce, à l’investissement, aux sciences, à la technologie et à l’éducation. Plus de 80 000 Malaisiens ont poursuivi des études au Canada. Ils servent d’ambassadeurs faisant la promotion du système d’éducation de premier plan du Canada pour l’enrichissement de la jeunesse de la Malaisie et pour répondre aux besoins de l’économie malaisienne.

Le Canada et la Malaisie ont de nombreuses caractéristiques en commun, dont la plus importante est la diversité de nos populations, y compris la présence de communautés autochtones dynamiques. Cette diversité a enrichi nos sociétés et nos cultures, tout comme la primauté du droit et la bonne gouvernance. Les Canadiens sont fiers de valoriser la tolérance et l’ouverture envers les gens, le commerce et l’investissement, la culture, l’innovation et les idées. Cet engagement avec le monde a aidé à définir qui nous sommes et ce que nous représentons en tant que Canadiens. J’ai hâte d’explorer de nouvelles façons pour les Canadiens et les Malaisiens de partager leurs expériences et d’apprendre les uns des autres.

Grâce à notre collaboration en matière de défense et de sécurité, dont l’origine remonte aux années 1960, nous avons conjugué nos efforts pour faire face aux menaces transnationales comme le terrorisme. La formation en matière de maintien de la paix est un important champ de collaboration entre nos forces militaires. Un autre exemple est la formation conjointe de nos forces spéciales pour renforcer leur capacité de limiter les menaces chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques et nucléaires.

Bien que nos deux nations soient éloignées géographiquement, la mondialisation nous a rapprochés. Nous avons un intérêt commun dans une collaboration plus étroite sur d’importantes questions mondiales et régionales, telles que la prolifération nucléaire nord-coréenne et la crise touchant la communauté Rohingya au Myanmar. Nous partageons également une cause commune: la lutte aux changements climatiques et la protection de l’environnement pour assurer les moyens de subsistance et le bien-être de nos générations futures.

En tant que nation du Pacifique, le Canada accorde une grande importance à ses relations avec les pays de l’ANASE comme la Malaisie. Nous sommes impatients d’élargir notre dialogue et notre engagement avec la Malaisie par l’entremise de forums multilatéraux tels que l’ANASE, l’APEC, les Nations Unies et le Commonwealth.

Nos nations peuvent s’appuyer sur ces bases solides et travailler ensemble pour relever les défis des 60 prochaines années afin de réaliser notre vision commune d’un monde meilleur, plus propre, plus durable et plus sûr pour les générations futures.

Que vous soyez un Canadien planifiant visiter la Malaisie ou vivant déjà ici, ou un Malaisien intéressé à étudier, visiter ou faire des affaires au Canada, j’espère que vous trouverez ce site utile. N’hésitez pas à consulter notre page Facebook à https://www.facebook.com/CanadaEnMalaisie ou à nous suivre sur Twitter à @CanadaMalaisie pour obtenir l’information la plus à jour sur les événements et les initiatives à venir.

Julia Bentley
Haute-commissaire

Biographie

Julia Bentley (B.A. [Études est-asiatiques], Université Princeton, 1981; certificat d’études supérieures [Histoire moderne chinoise], Université de Nanjing, 1983; M.A. [Études est-asiatiques], Université de Toronto, 1984) a intégré le ministère des Affaires extérieures en 1991.

À l’administration centrale, elle a travaillé à la Direction de la coordination régionale en Asie-Pacifique ainsi qu’à la Direction des relations économiques internationales et des Sommets. Elle a aussi occupé le poste de directrice des directions des relations avec l’Asie du Nord-Est et l’Asie du Sud, ainsi que celui de directrice générale par intérim à la Direction générale de l’Asie du Sud. À l’étranger elle a été affectée à une mission à Taïwan et à deux missions en Chine. Elle a également travaillé en tant qu’experte-conseil du développement à Montréal, Singapour et Pékin et, pendant trois ans, à titre de directrice du Programme de renforcement des capacités de l’ONG Winrock International en Chine, lequel était financé par la Fondation Ford.

Avant de se joindre au Ministère, elle a travaillé comme conseillère en politique internationale pour le ministère des Affaires intergouvernementales de l’Ontario pendant cinq ans.