Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

mexico.gc.ca

The Canada-Mexico Partnership

Introduction

Canada and Mexico share a dynamic and prosperous relationship: as friends, as North American neighbours, and as strategic partners in the Americas and in the world.  Over the years, our cooperation has expanded across a wide range of  political, trade, social, environmental and security interests.

logo

The Canada-Mexico Partnership has issued its 2018 Annual Report. It highlights the work and progress of this important mechanism over the period and outlines its goals for the year ahead.

Canada-Mexico Partnership Origins

The Canada-Mexico Partnership (“CMP”) is our key mechanism for bilateral cooperation.  It serves as a catalyst for concerted action between our governments, private sectors, and non-governmental partners to pursue common goals and mutually beneficial priorities.  It was launched in Ottawa in October 2004, the year marking the 60th anniversary of Canada-Mexico diplomatic relations and the 10th anniversary of NAFTA.  (See 2004 CMP statement [PDF 426 KB])

Canada-Mexico Partnership Overall Coordination

The Canada-Mexico Partnership meets once a year, with meetings alternating between Canada and Mexico.  The CMP is coordinated by senior public servants from Global Affairs Canada and from Mexico’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs.  There is no set membership of the CMP: rather, participation is determined by membership in one of the CMP’s eight working groups. The groups are not fixed:  the CMP accommodates shifts of priorities within groups as well as the phasing out or creation of new groups.

Canada-Mexico Partnership Working Groups (active in 2018

  • Agri-business
  • Energy
  • Environment
  • Forestry
  • Human Capital
  • Mining
  • Trade, Investment and Innovation
  • Creativity and Culture

Working Group Membership

The CMP’s working groups bring together representatives from the public sector and the private sector.  Each group is co-chaired by senior decision-makers from Canada and Mexico, from both the government and private sectors.  The public sector is represented by individuals at both the federal and provincial/state levels while the private sector comprises members of business and industry associations, academic communities and other organizations. 

Work of the Groups

Each group develops its own goals and work plan and meets to advance its objectives on an as-needed basis.  An annual CMP meeting brings together all working groups to take stock of progress, highlight results and set new priorities.

2018 Annual Meeting: Ottawa, Canada

The 14th Annual Canada–Mexico Partnership (CMP) Meeting was held in Ottawa on October 11th and 12th, 2018.  The meeting took place over a day and a half dedicated to reviewing results achieved in the past year and setting priorities for the coming year. We wish to particularly recognize and thank the engagement and active participation of the private sector and of non-governmental organizations in the working groups which has increased throughout the years and which greatly enriches the CMP process. Canadian provinces and the private industry are also important stakeholders. We would like to particularly highlight the participation of the provinces of Québec and Alberta during the 2018 CMP meeting. The 2018 Annual Report presents an impressive array of results by the Working Groups of the CMP. The achieved outcomes reflect the deepening bilateral relationship and shared values, as well as the importance that both countries place on delivering on jointly agreed-to objectives. Mexico will host the next CMP meeting on November 27 and 28, 2019. 

Previous CMP Meetings:  Host Country

  • October 2018 - Canada
  • November 2017 -Mexico
  • November 2016 - Canada
  • November 2015 - Mexico
  • September 2014 - Canada
  • July 2013 - Mexico
  • May 2012 - Canada
  • April 2011 - Mexico
  • April 2010 - Canada
  • March 2009 - Mexico
  • March 2008 - Canada
  • March 2007 - Mexico
  • October 2006 - Canada
  • March 2006 -Mexico
  • September 2005 - Canada
  • October 2004 - (Launch) Canada

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-03-15

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

mexique.gc.ca

Le Partenariat Canada-Mexique

Introduction

Le Canada et le Mexique entretiennent des rapports dynamiques et prospères, à titre d'alliés, de voisins nord-américains et de partenaires stratégiques dans les Amériques et le monde. Au fil du temps, notre coopération s'est étendue à un large éventail de domaines, dont la politique, le commerce, la société, l'environnement et la sécurité.

logo

Le Partenariat Canada-Mexique a diffusé son Rapport annuel 2018 lequel souligne le travail et le progrès effectués pendant l’année dans le cadre de cet important mécanisme ainsi que ses objectifs pour la prochaine année

Origines du Partenariat Canada-Mexique

Le Partenariat Canada-Mexique (PCM) constitue notre principal mécanisme de coopération bilatérale. Il sert de catalyseur pour une intervention concertée entre nos gouvernements, les secteurs privés et les partenaires non gouvernementaux visant à atteindre des objectifs communs et des priorités mutuellement bénéfiques. Il a été lancé à Ottawa en octobre 2004, au cours de l'année qui marquait le 60e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques canado-mexicaines ainsi que le 10e anniversaire de l'ALENA (voir la déclaration du PCM de 2004 [PDF 426 Ko]).

Coordination générale du Partenariat Canada-Mexique

Le Partenariat Canada-Mexique se réunit une fois par année, et le lieu de rencontre alterne entre le Canada et le Mexique. Le PCM est coordonné par des fonctionnaires des ministères des Affaires Mondiales Canada et du Secrétariat des Affaires Étrangères du Mexique. L'effectif du PCM n'est pas fixe, le nombre de participants est plutôt dicté par le nombre de membres de l’un des huit groupes de travail du PCM. Les groupes ne sont pas statiques : le PCM facilite les changements de priorités au sein des groupes ainsi que l'élimination progressive et la création de groupes, et s’y adapte.

Groupes de travail du Partenariat Canada-Mexique (actifs en 2018)

  • Agro-industrie
  • Capital humain, recherche et innovation
  • Commerce, investissement et innovation
  • Énergie
  • Environnement
  • Foresterie
  • Minière
  • Créativité et culture

Les groupes de travail du PCM réunissent des représentants des secteurs privé et public. Chaque groupe est coprésidé par des décideurs chevronnés canadiens et mexicains des gouvernements et des secteurs privés. Le secteur public est représenté par des fonctionnaires des niveaux fédéraux et provinciaux/étatiques, tandis que le secteur privé l'est par des membres d'associations commerciales et industrielles, de milieux universitaires et d'autres organisations.

Activités des groupes de travail

Chaque groupe établit ses objectifs et son plan de travail, puis se rencontre, au besoin, pour atteindre ces buts. Une réunion annuelle du PCM rassemble tous les groupes de travail, afin de faire le point sur les progrès réalisés, de souligner les réalisations et d'établir de nouvelles priorités.

Assemblée annuelle 2018 : Ottawa, Canada

La 14e réunion annuelle du Partenariat Canada-Mexique (PCM), d’une durée d’une journée et demie, a eu lieu à Ottawa les 11 et 12 octobre 2018 et a été consacré à l’examen des résultats obtenus au cours de l’année et à l’établissement des priorités pour l’année qui s’annonce. Nous aimerions souligner l’engagement et la participation active du secteur privé et des organisations non gouvernementales au sein des groupes de travail et remercier ces acteurs, dont l’engagement n’a fait qu’augmenter au fil des années et enrichit de manière singulière le processus du PCM. Les provinces canadiennes et le secteur privé sont également des intervenants importants. Nous souhaitons souligner en particulier les provinces du Québec et de l’Alberta pour leur participation à la réunion du CMP de 2018. Le Rapport annuel de 2018 fait état d’un éventail impressionnant de résultats issus des groupes de travail du PCM.  Les résultats obtenus sont à l’image de la relation bilatérale qui s’approfondit et des valeurs communes des deux pays et témoignent de l’importance qu’accordent les deux pays à la réalisation des objectifs communs. Le Mexique sera l'hôte de la prochaine réunion les 28 et 29 novembre, 2019.

Réunions précédentes du PCM : pays hôte

  • Octobre 2018 - Canada
  • Novembre 2017 - Mexique
  • Novembre 2016 - Canada
  • Novembre 2015 - Mexique
  • Septembre 2014 - Canada
  • Juillet 2013 - Mexique
  • Mai 2012 - Canada
  • Avril 2011 - Mexique
  • Avril 2010 - Canada
  • Mars 2009 - Mexique
  • Mars 2008 - Canada
  • Mars 2007 - Mexique
  • Octobre 2006 - Canada
  • Mars 2006 - Mexique
  • Septembre 2005 - Canada
  • Octobre 2004 - (Lancement) Canada

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-03-15