Canada - Mongolia Relations

With approximately 3 million people in an area slightly smaller than Quebec, Mongolia is the least densely populated country in the world. Similarities between Canada and Mongolia abound: cold climates, vast landscapes with small populations, large neighbours, and abundant mineral resources.

Canada recognized Mongolia in 1964 and diplomatic relations were established in 1973. Mongolia opened its embassy to Canada in 2001, and the Embassy of Canada to Mongolia was opened in Ulaanbaatar in September 2008.

Mongolia’s foreign policy

Much of Mongolia’s domestic and foreign policy is shaped by its two neighbours, Russia and China. To balance this, Mongolia has actively pursued a “third neighbour” policy, which involves expanding political, economic and defence relations with regional democracies such as India, Japan and South Korea and with select Western countries, including the U.S., Canada, Australia, the U.K., Germany and France.

Mongolia is committed to playing an active role on the international stage. It is a member of the World Trade Organization, the ASEAN Regional Forum, and the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe. Mongolia has also announced its candidacy for a non-permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council for the 2023-2024 term.

Development assistance

An MOU for bilateral development assistance was signed in September 2016. Current development efforts in Mongolia focus on supporting policy reforms and strengthening the capacity of Mongolia’s public service to manage its natural resources sector in a more effective and sustainable manner. This includes supporting efforts to improve mining-related legislation, policies and regulations, and to promote increased community engagement and participation in natural resources management. Global Affairs Canada (GAC) also supports projects on improving policy making and enhancing public participation in democratic processes. In January 2018, GAC launched a new development project in Mongolia (Professional and Citizen-Centred Civil Service) by signing a $7 million grant arrangement with UNDP, to assist the Government of Mongolia in the implementation of civil service reform. Since 1997, GAC has also provided more than $6 million to approximately 400 projects in Mongolia through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives. Many of these projects help to advance human rights and economic development, and involve civil society organizations and local governments.

Commercial relations

Two-way trade between Canada and Mongolia is limited. In 2017, Canadian exports to Mongolia amounted to approximately $27.3 million. Imports from Mongolia amounted to approximately $2.5 million. Canadian investments in Mongolia’s mining industry are the primary driver of bilateral commercial relations, with Canadian direct investment in the country estimated at approximately $6.7 billion (2017). Other sectors presenting potential opportunities for deeper commercial cooperation include: agriculture, education, clean technology, infrastructure and wood-frame construction. In 2016, Canada and Mongolia signed the Canada-Mongolia Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA), which will provide a more transparent and predictable regulatory environment for Canadian investors in Mongolia.

August 2018

Relations Canada - Mongolie

La Mongolie, qui compte environ trois millions d’habitants dans une superficie légèrement inférieure à celle du Québec, est le pays le moins densément peuplé du monde. Les ressemblances sont nombreuses entre le Canada et la Mongolie : un climat froid, de vastes étendues peu peuplées, des voisins de grande taille et des ressources minérales abondantes.

Le Canada a reconnu la Mongolie en 1964 et des relations diplomatiques ont été établies en 1973. La Mongolie a ouvert son ambassade au Canada en 2001, et l’ambassade du Canada à Oulan-Bator a été ouverte en septembre 2008.

Politique étrangère de la Mongolie

La politique intérieure et étrangère de la Mongolie est façonnée en bonne partie par ses deux voisins, la Russie et la Chine. Pour faire contrepoids à cette influence, la Mongolie applique une « politique du troisième voisin », qui consiste à étendre les relations politiques, économiques et de défense avec des démocraties régionales comme l’Inde, le Japon et la Corée du Sud, et avec certains pays occidentaux, notamment les États-Unis, le Canada, l’Australie, le Royaume-Uni, l’Allemagne et la France.

La Mongolie est déterminée à jouer un rôle actif sur la scène internationale. Elle est membre de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, du Forum régional de l’ANASE et de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe. La Mongolie a également annoncé sa candidature à un siège non permanent du Conseil de sécurité pour 2023-2024.

Aide au développement

En septembre 2016, le Canada et la Mongolie ont signé un protocole d’entente sur l’aide bilatérale au développement. Les initiatives actuelles en matière de développement en Mongolie visent à soutenir les réformes politiques et à renforcer la capacité de la fonction publique mongole à gérer son secteur des ressources naturelles de manière plus efficace et plus durable. Il s’agit notamment d’appuyer les efforts visant à améliorer le cadre législatif, les politiques et les règlements liés à l’exploitation minière et à promouvoir une participation accrue des collectivités à la gestion des ressources naturelles. Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) appuie également des projets visant à améliorer l’élaboration des politiques et à accroître la participation du public aux processus démocratiques. En janvier 2018, AMC a lancé un nouveau projet de développement en Mongolie (Fonction publique professionnelle et centrée sur les citoyens) par la signature d’un accord de subvention de sept millions de dollars avec le PNUD afin d’aider le gouvernement du pays à mettre en œuvre la réforme de la fonction publique. Depuis 1997, AMC a également fourni plus de six millions de dollars à environ 400 projets en Mongolie, par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales. Bon nombre de ces projets contribuent à promouvoir les droits de la personne et le développement économique, tout en faisant participer les organisations de la société civile et les administrations locales.

Relations commerciales

Le commerce bilatéral entre les deux pays est limité. En 2017, le Canada a exporté pour environ 27,3 millions de dollars vers la Mongolie et a importé pour environ 2,5 millions de dollars. Les investissements canadiens dans le secteur minier de la Mongolie constituent le principal levier des relations commerciales bilatérales, les investissements directs canadiens dans le pays étant estimés à environ 6,7 milliards de dollars (2017). D’autres secteurs offrent aussi des débouchés en vue d’une coopération commerciale plus approfondie, notamment l’agriculture, l’éducation, les technologies propres, les infrastructures et la construction à ossature de bois. En 2016, le Canada et la Mongolie ont signé un Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE), qui offrira aux investisseurs canadiens en Mongolie un environnement réglementaire plus transparent et plus prévisible.

Août 2018