Mongolia and COVID-19: Frequently asked questions

Updated: April 21, 2020

Here, you will find answers to the most frequently asked questions from Canadians in the context of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) situation. Please read the advice below before contacting the embassy. It allows us to focus on assisting those Canadians who are in distress and require urgent assistance. While we are doing everything we can to help in these circumstances, please remember that you are responsible for your personal security abroad and that you are subject to local health regulations in Mongolia while you are there.

General advice

If you are a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada living or travelling in Mongolia, please register with our Registration of Canadians Abroad service to receive important information and updates from the embassy. You should also read our Travel Advice and Advisories to get the latest information on safety and security, entry and exit requirements, and health in Mongolia.

If you need emergency help, call the Embassy of Canada to Mongolia at ( 976-11) 332500 or send an e-mail to ulaan-cs@international.gc.ca. If the embassy is closed, your call will be transferred to the Emergency Watch and Response Centre in Ottawa. The centre operates around the clock, seven days a week, and may be reached directly at +1 613 996 8885 (call collect where available) or at sos@international.gc.ca.

COVID-19 updates

On this page

Frequently asked questions

If I am a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada, should I leave Mongolia and return to Canada?

If you are a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada living or working in Mongolia, or if you are a dual citizen, you do not have to return to Canada. The decision to travel is your choice, and you are responsible for your personal safety abroad. If you choose to stay outside of Canada, ensure that you have the sufficient financial means and first-necessity items, including medication, to support yourself. We advise you to check with your insurance company to ensure that you are properly covered.

Although we are doing all we can to support Canadians outside the country, we recognize that many individuals may need to remain out of Canada for an indeterminate period. As for the country of Mongolia, the local Government has organized some charter flights on Mongolian Airlines (MIAT) to repatriate Mongolian citizens from various countries and foreigners in Mongolia have been permitted to purchase seats on the outbound portions of these flights. If the embassy obtains information about any further charters that we can pass on to Canadians, we will do so to those registered on the Registration of Canadian Abroad (ROCA).

For more information, read COVID-19: Your safety and security outside Canada.

If I am a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada living in Mongolia and my long stay visa or my residency permit expires in the coming weeks, do I have to leave Mongolia and return to Canada?

You should be prepared to leave before your visa or residency permit expires even if your visa/permit expiry date is not in the near future.  If your intended departure from Mongolia is/will likely be impacted by the current decisions of the local government, including any travel restrictions in place, you should contact the Immigration Authority of Mongolia to inform them about your situation.

If you are having difficulty reaching local immigration authorities, please contact us for assistance.

If I am a Canadian or permanent resident of Canada and I am leaving Mongolia, do I have to self-isolate when I get back to Canada?

Yes. Anyone returning to Canada must quarantine (self-isolate) for 14 days even if they have no symptoms. For more information, read Coronavirus disease (COVID-19): Travel advice.

If I am a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada currently in Canada, can I travel to Mongolia?

Canadians should avoid non-essential travel outside of Canada until further notice. For more information, read our Official Global Travel Advisory.

If I am a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada, will the Embassy of Canada to Mongolia help me find flight information to return to Canada?

The Government of Canada is working with airlines and facilitating access to flights to Canada from locations where there is a lack of international flights or where local restrictions on travel exist. Register with our Registration of Canadians Abroad service to receive information about flights that may be available.

As for the country of Mongolia, the local Government has organized some charter flights on Mongolian Airlines (MIAT) to repatriate Mongolian citizens from various countries and foreigners in Mongolia have been permitted to purchase seats on the outbound portions of these flights. If the embassy obtains information about any further charters that we can pass on to Canadians, we will do so to those registered on the Registration of Canadian Abroad (ROCA).

Can I return to Canada if I have symptoms of COVID-19?

If you have symptoms of COVID-19 and are currently outside of Canada, follow the advice of local authorities, including public health advice and lockdown or shelter-in-place guidance. You could be denied boarding on commercial aircrafts or other means of transportation if you try to return to Canada. If you have symptoms, self-isolate and monitor yourself closely. Avoid contact with anyone except health-care professionals.

If you are hospitalized, we would like to be informed and can assist you to communicate with family. Please contact us for assistance.

Are there any restrictions on going to the airport to take my flight back to Canada?

Read the Entry and exit requirements of Canada’s Travel Advice and Advisories for Mongolia to know if you will face movement restrictions in going to the airport.

If I am a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada, can I travel in Mongolia while waiting for my flight back to Canada?

If you are already in Mongolia, read Canada’s Travel Advice and Advisories for Mongolia before travelling within the country. Note that you may have difficulty obtaining essential products and services, you may face strict movement restrictions and quarantines, your insurance may not cover your travel or medical expenses, and we may have limited capacity to offer you consular services.

If I am a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada in Mongolia, do I have to follow the same confinement measures as Mongolian citizens?

Yes. You should always follow the advice of local authorities, including public health advice and lockdown or shelter-in-place guidance.

What is the state of public transit in Mongolia, other than international airlines?

The local public transit in Mongolia has resumed normal operations.

Are taxi drivers working?

Yes.

If commercial flights stop, will I be repatriated?

As foreign governments implement strict travel restrictions and as fewer international transportation options are available, you may have difficulty returning to Canada or may have to remain abroad for an indeterminate period.

The Government of Canada is working with airlines and facilitating access to flights to Canada from locations where there is a lack of international flights or where local restrictions on travel exist. Register with our Registration of Canadians Abroad service to receive information about flights that may be available.

Am I eligible for a COVID-19 emergency loan and how do I apply?

If you need financial help to return to Canada, check COVID-19: Financial help for Canadians outside Canada.

I am not a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada, but my family member is. Can I travel to Canada?

Yes. If you are an immediate family member of a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident, you can return to Canada for an essential purpose, such as to live with your spouse, partner or parent. You will be refused an authorization if an officer finds that you’re travelling for an optional or non-essential purpose, such as for tourism, entertainment or recreation.

An immediate family member is defined as:

  • spouse or common-law partner
  • dependant child
  • dependant child of a dependant child
  • parent or step-parent
  • guardian or tutor

I am a foreign national travelling with my immediate family member who is a Canadian citizen or permanent resident. How do I travel to Canada?

See Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada’s information about travel for family members of Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

I am a foreign national reuniting with an immediate family member who lives in Canada but is not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident. How do I travel to Canada?

See Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada’s information about travel for family members of people living in Canada who are not Canadian citizens or permanent residents.

To request a travel authorization, please contact Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada at IRCC.COVID-TravelExemptions-Exemptionsdevoyage-COVID.IRCC@cic.gc.ca.

I am not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada and I do not have an immediate family member living in Canada. How do I travel to Canada?

See Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada’s list of people who may travel to Canada for an essential purpose.

Transport Canada Requirement

As of April 20, Transport Canada is implementing measures requiring air operators to verify that all travellers have a removable cloth face covering available for use during their trip, even if the travellers are not showing any symptoms.

It is the traveller’s responsibility to bring the required cloth face covering to the airport.

Will I be put in quarantine after arriving in Canada?

Upon return to Canada, you will need to Self-isolate for 14 days after your return from travel outside of Canada.

Upon arrival, every traveller will need to confirm that they have a suitable place to isolate or quarantine, where they will have access to basic necessities, such as food and medication. Travellers will be expected to make plans for where they will isolate or quarantine in advance of arriving to Canada.

Travellers who do not have an appropriate place in which to isolate or quarantine themselves must go to a place designated by the Chief Public Health Officer of Canada. These criteria are newly applied to asymptomatic travellers.

Monitor your health for fever, cough or difficulty breathing.  Wash your hands often for 20 seconds and cover your mouth and nose with your arm when coughing or sneezing. If you develop a fever, cough or difficulty breathing:

  • Continue to isolate yourself from others
  • Immediately call a health care professional or public health authority and:
    • describe your symptoms and travel history
    • follow their instructions carefully

If I am required to stay in a quarantine facility, will I have to pay for the costs associated with my stay?

Costs associated with staying in a quarantine facility will not be billed back to travellers who are required by a Quarantine Officer to quarantine or isolate in a designated quarantine facility.  Transportation to the facility will also be provided at no cost.

When travellers are in a quarantine facility, they are provided with three meals daily and other essentials through our contract with the Canadian Red Cross. All of these items are delivered to their rooms. They also have access to a toll free phone number (Canadian Red Cross) where they can identify essential items that they require.

I am a Canadian who arrives at a land border, and I am symptomatic for COVID-19. Will I be denied entry into Canada?

There is no restriction on Canadians arriving at a land border from seeking entry into Canada.

A Canadian who is presenting signs of COVID-19 at a land border will be referred to the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Mongolie et COVID-19 : Foire aux questions

Mis à jour : 21 avril 2020

Ici, vous trouverez des réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées par les Canadiens dans le contexte de la maladie du coronavirus (COVID-19). Veuillez lire les conseils ci-dessous avant de contacter l'ambassade. Cela nous permet de nous concentrer sur l'aide aux Canadiens en détresse qui ont besoin d'une aide urgente. Pendant que nous faisons tout ce que nous pouvons pour vous aider dans ces circonstances, n'oubliez pas que vous êtes responsable de votre sécurité personnelle à l'étranger et que vous êtes soumis aux réglementations sanitaires locales en Mongolie pendant votre séjour.

Conseil général

Si vous êtes un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent du Canada vivant ou voyageant en Mongolie, veuillez-vous inscrire auprès de notre Service d’inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger pour recevoir des informations importantes et des mises à jour de l'ambassade. Vous devriez également lire nos nos Conseils aux voyageurs et avertissements pour obtenir les dernières informations sur la sûreté et la sécurité, les exigences d'entrée et de sortie et la santé en Mongolie.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide d'urgence, appelez l'ambassade du Canada en Mongolie au (976-11) 332500 ou envoyez un courriel à ulaan-cs@international.gc.ca. Si l'ambassade est fermée, votre appel sera transféré au Centre de surveillance et d'intervention d'urgence à Ottawa. Le centre fonctionne 24 heures sur 24, sept jours par semaine, et peut être joint directement au +1 613 996 8885 (appel à frais virés, le cas échéant) ou à sos@international.gc.ca.

Mises à jour COVID-19

Sur cette page

Foire aux questions

Si je suis citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada, dois-je quitter la Mongolie et revenir au Canada?

Si vous êtes un citoyen canadien ou un résident permanent du Canada vivant ou travaillant en Mongolie, ou si vous êtes un double citoyen, vous n'avez pas à retourner au Canada. La décision de voyager est votre choix et vous êtes responsable de votre sécurité personnelle à l'étranger. Si vous choisissez de rester à l'extérieur du Canada, assurez-vous que vous avez les moyens financiers suffisants et les articles de première nécessité, y compris les médicaments, pour subvenir à vos besoins. Nous vous conseillons de vérifier auprès de votre compagnie d'assurance pour vous assurer que vous êtes correctement couvert.

Bien que nous fassions tout notre possible pour soutenir les Canadiens à l'extérieur du pays, nous reconnaissons que de nombreuses personnes peuvent avoir besoin de rester à l'extérieur du Canada pour une période indéterminée. En ce qui concerne le pays de Mongolie, le gouvernement local a organisé des vols charters sur Mongolian Airlines (MIAT) pour rapatrier les citoyens mongols de divers pays et les étrangers en Mongolie ont été autorisés à acheter des sièges sur les portions sortantes de ces vols. Si l'ambassade obtient des renseignements sur d'autres chartes que nous pouvons transmettre aux Canadiens, nous le ferons à ceux qui sont inscrits à l'enregistrement des Canadiens à l'étranger (ROCA).

Pour en savoir plus, lisez COVID-19 : Votre sécurité à l’extérieur du Canada.

Si je suis citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada vivant en Mongolie et que mon visa de long séjour ou mon permis de séjour expire dans les semaines à venir, dois-je quitter la Mongolie et retourner au Canada?

Vous devez être prêt à partir avant l'expiration de votre visa ou permis de séjour, même si la date d'expiration de votre visa / permis n'est pas dans un proche avenir. Si votre départ prévu de la Mongolie est / sera probablement affecté par les décisions actuelles du gouvernement local, y compris les restrictions de voyage en vigueur, vous devez contacter les autorités d'immigration de la Mongolie pour les informer de votre situation.

Si vous rencontrez des difficultés pour joindre les autorités d'immigration locales, veuillez nous contacter pour obtenir de l'aide.

Si je suis un résident canadien ou permanent du Canada et que je quitte la Mongolie, dois-je m'auto-isoler à mon retour au Canada?

Oui. Quiconque revient au Canada doit être mis en quarantaine (auto-isolement) pendant 14 jours même s'il ne présente aucun symptôme. Pour plus d’informations, lisez Maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19) : Conseils aux voyageurs.

Si je suis citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada actuellement au Canada, puis-je voyager en Mongolie?

Les Canadiens devraient éviter tout voyage non essentiel à l’extérieur du Canada jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Pour plus d’informations, consultez notre Avertissement officiel aux voyageurs à l’étranger.

Si je suis citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada, l'ambassade du Canada en Mongolie m'aidera-t-elle à trouver des informations sur les vols à retourner au Canada?

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille avec les compagnies aériennes et facilite l'accès aux vols à destination du Canada à partir d'endroits où il n'y a pas de vols internationaux ou là où des restrictions locales sur les voyages existent. Inscrivez-vous à notre Service d’inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger pour recevoir des informations sur les vols qui peuvent être disponibles.

En ce qui concerne le pays de Mongolie, le gouvernement local a organisé des vols charters sur Mongolian Airlines (MIAT) pour rapatrier les citoyens mongols de divers pays et les étrangers en Mongolie ont été autorisés à acheter des sièges sur les portions sortantes de ces vols. Si l'ambassade obtient des renseignements sur d'autres chartes que nous pouvons transmettre aux Canadiens, nous le ferons à ceux qui sont inscrits à l'enregistrement des Canadiens à l'étranger (ROCA).

Puis-je retourner au Canada si j'ai des symptômes de COVID-19?

Si vous présentez des symptômes de COVID-19 et que vous vous trouvez actuellement à l'extérieur du Canada, suivez les conseils des autorités locales, y compris les conseils de santé publique et les consignes de confinement ou d'abri sur place. On pourrait vous refuser l'embarquement à bord d'avions commerciaux ou d'autres moyens de transport si vous essayez de retourner au Canada. Si vous avez des symptômes, auto-isolez-vous et surveillez-vous de près. Évitez tout contact avec quiconque, à l'exception des professionnels de la santé.

Si vous êtes hospitalisé, nous aimerions être informés et pouvons vous aider à communiquer avec la famille. Veuillez nous contacter pour obtenir de l'aide.

Existe-t-il des restrictions pour se rendre à l'aéroport afin de reprendre mon vol au Canada?

Lisez les exigences d’entrée et de sortie des Conseils aux voyageurs et avertissements du Canada pour la Mongolie pour savoir si vous serez confronté à des restrictions de mouvement en vous rendant à l’aéroport.

Si je suis citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada, puis-je voyager en Mongolie en attendant mon vol de retour au Canada?

Si vous êtes déjà en Mongolie, lisez les Conseils aux voyageurs et avertissements du Canada pour la Mongolie avant de voyager à l'intérieur du pays. Notez que vous pouvez avoir des difficultés à obtenir des produits et services essentiels, vous pouvez faire face à des restrictions de mouvement et à des quarantaines strictes, votre assurance peut ne pas couvrir vos frais de voyage ou médicaux, et nous pouvons avoir une capacité limitée pour vous offrir des services consulaires.

Si je suis citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada en Mongolie, dois-je suivre les mêmes mesures de confinement que les citoyens mongols?

Oui. Vous devez toujours suivre les conseils des autorités locales, y compris les conseils de santé publique et les conseils de confinement ou d'abri sur place.

Quel est l'état du transport en commun en Mongolie, à l'exception des compagnies aériennes internationales?

Le transport en commun local en Mongolie a repris ses activités normales.

Les chauffeurs de taxi travaillent-ils?

Oui.

Si les vols commerciaux s'arrêtent, serai-je rapatrié?

Étant donné que les gouvernements étrangers appliquent des restrictions de voyage strictes et que moins d'options de transport international sont disponibles, vous pourriez avoir de la difficulté à retourner au Canada ou devoir rester à l'étranger pour une période indéterminée.

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille avec les compagnies aériennes et facilite l'accès aux vols à destination du Canada à partir d'endroits où il n'y a pas de vols internationaux ou là où des restrictions locales sur les voyages existent. Inscrivez-vous à notre Service d’inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger pour recevoir des informations sur les vols qui peuvent être disponibles.

Suis-je admissible à un prêt d'urgence COVID-19 et comment dois-je faire une demande?

Si vous avez besoin d’une aide financière pour revenir au Canada, consultez COVID-19 : Aide financière si vous êtes à l’extérieur du Canada.

Je ne suis pas citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada, mais le membre de ma famille l'est. Puis-je voyager au Canada?

Oui. Si vous êtes un membre de la famille immédiate d'un citoyen canadien ou d'un résident permanent, vous pouvez revenir au Canada dans un but essentiel, comme vivre avec votre conjoint, partenaire ou parent. Une autorisation vous sera refusée si un agent constate que vous voyagez à des fins facultatives ou non essentielles, par exemple pour le tourisme, le divertissement ou les loisirs.

Un membre de la famille immédiate est défini comme:

  • époux ou conjoint de fait
  • enfant à charge
  • enfant à charge d'un enfant à charge
  • parent ou beau-parent
  • tuteur ou tuteur

Je suis un étranger voyageant avec un membre de ma famille immédiate qui est citoyen canadien ou résident permanent. Comment voyager au Canada?

Consultez les informations sur les voyages d’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada concernant les membres de la famille des citoyens canadiens et des résidents permanents.

Je suis un ressortissant étranger réuni avec un membre de sa famille immédiate qui vit au Canada mais qui n'est ni citoyen canadien ni résident permanent. Comment voyager au Canada?

Consultez les informations sur les voyages d’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada concernant les membres de famille de personnes vivant au Canada qui ne sont pas citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents.

Pour demander une autorisation de voyage, communiquez avec Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada à : IRCC.COVID-TravelExemptions-Exemptionsdevoyage-COVID.IRCC@cic.gc.ca.

Je ne suis pas citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada et je n'ai pas de membre de la famille immédiate vivant au Canada. Comment voyager au Canada?

Voir la liste des personnes qui peuvent venir au Canada dans un but essentiel, établie par Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada.

Exigence de Transports Canada

Depuis le 20 avril, Transports Canada met en œuvre des mesures obligeant les exploitants aériens à vérifier que tous les voyageurs ont un couvre-visage amovible en tissu pouvant être utilisé pendant leur voyage, même si les voyageurs ne présentent aucun symptôme.

Il est de la responsabilité du voyageur d'apporter à l'aéroport le couvre-visage en tissu requis.

Serai-je mis en quarantaine après mon arrivée au Canada?

À votre retour au Canada, vous devrez vous isoler pendant 14 jours après votre retour de voyage à l'extérieur du Canada.

À l'arrivée, chaque voyageur devra confirmer qu'il dispose d'un endroit approprié pour isoler ou mettre en quarantaine, où il aura accès aux produits de première nécessité, tels que la nourriture et les médicaments. On s'attend à ce que les voyageurs planifient où ils vont isoler ou mettre en quarantaine avant d'arriver au Canada.

Les voyageurs qui ne disposent pas d'un endroit approprié pour s'isoler ou se mettre en quarantaine doivent se rendre dans un endroit désigné par l'administrateur en chef de la santé publique du Canada. Ces critères sont nouvellement appliqués aux voyageurs asymptomatiques.

Surveillez votre santé en cas de fièvre, de toux ou de difficulté à respirer. Lavez-vous les mains souvent pendant 20 secondes et couvrez votre bouche et votre nez avec votre bras lorsque vous toussez ou éternuez. Si vous développez de la fièvre, de la toux ou des difficultés respiratoires:

  • Continuez à vous isoler des autres
  • Appeler immédiatement un professionnel de la santé ou une autorité de santé publique et:
    • décrire vos symptômes et vos antécédents de voyage
    • suivez attentivement leurs instructions

Si je dois rester dans une installation de quarantaine, devrai-je payer les frais associés à mon séjour?

Les coûts associés au séjour dans une installation de quarantaine ne seront pas refacturés aux voyageurs qui sont tenus par un agent de quarantaine de mettre en quarantaine ou d'isoler dans une installation de quarantaine désignée. Le transport vers l'installation sera également fourni sans frais.

Lorsque les voyageurs sont dans une installation de quarantaine, ils reçoivent trois repas par jour et d'autres articles essentiels dans le cadre de notre contrat avec la Croix-Rouge canadienne. Tous ces articles sont livrés dans leurs chambres. Ils ont également accès à un numéro de téléphone sans frais (Croix-Rouge canadienne) où ils peuvent identifier les articles essentiels dont ils ont besoin.

Je suis un Canadien qui arrive à une frontière terrestre et je suis symptomatique de COVID-19. Serai-je refusé l'entrée au Canada?

Aucune restriction n'empêche les Canadiens arrivant à une frontière terrestre de demander à entrer au Canada.

Un Canadien qui présente des signes de COVID-19 à une frontière terrestre sera référé à l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada.