Canada - Mauritania Relations

Canada - Mauritania Relations

Bilateral relations between Canada and Mauritania are limited but growing, particularly in areas related to trade and security. In addition to cooperation within La Francophonie, Canada has partnered with Mauritania on counter-terrorism and regional security efforts, and offers support for its security sector. 

Since 2010, Canada has provided $40 million in support of counter-terrorism capacity-building initiatives in the Sahel region, of which Mauritania is a direct beneficiary. Canada co-chaired the Global Counterterrorism Forum (GCTF) Sahel working group between 2011 and 2019, in which Mauritania was invited to participate in meetings and training workshops. Canada and Mauritania also cooperate, in the multilateral context, notably in NATO’s Mediterranean Dialogue and La Francophonie.

Over the past two years, the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) has contributed $80,000 to improve women’s rights, with a focus on addressing early marriage, gender-based violence, female genital mutilation and improving access to education.In 2016, Mauritanian diaspora in Canada was estimated at about 1,000 people. In Mauritania, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Rabat, Morocco, and by an Honorary Consul in Nouakchott which provides assistance in consular affairs. Mr. Sidi Mohamed Ould Taleb Amar, Permanent Representative of Mauritania to the United Nations, also serves as Mauritania’s Ambassador to Canada. Mauritania has Honorary Consuls based in Montreal and Edmonton.

Commercial Relations

Trade relations between Canada and Mauritania are dominated by a strong presence of Canadian companies in the mining sector. Trade in goods and equipment between Canada and Mauritania is modest. In 2018, our bilateral trade with Mauritania totaled $21.9 million, with Canadian exports valued at $21.6 million and imports at $300,000. Approximately 23 Canadian companies do business with Mauritania. Most of them are active in the mining sector, while a few companies operate in the education and training sector. Canada is the largest foreign investor in Mauritania, with mining assets estimated at $2.3 billion in 2018.Canada is pleased to offer full scholarships to students from Mauritania to study in Canada, at various levels of study and open to all disciplines, starting in the 2020/2021 school year as part of the pilot Study in Canada Scholarships program.

Canadian Programming

During the 2012 crisis in the Sahel, Canada provided $65.4 million to the region through UN organizations such as the World Food Programme and UNICEF, as well as the International Committee of the Red Cross and Canadian non-governmental organizations, to support food and nutrition assistance to people in need. Canada helped improve access to food and provided lifesaving nutritional support through a number of activities, including the distribution of emergency food rations, supporting community-based treatment of acute malnutrition, and improving access to safe water for men, women and children facing this very complex humanitarian situation.

Since 2017, Canada has provided over $5.5 million to the UN Refugee Agency, the World Food Programme, the Food and Agriculture Organization and Action Against Hunger to ensure food security for the most vulnerable in, including women and girls living in the M’bera refugee camp located in the southeastern part of Mauritania.

Travel Advisory

Global Affairs Canada recommends anyone considering travel to Mauritania to check its travel advice and encourages travellers to register with Registration of Canadians Abroad service when outside of Canada.

Relations Canada - Mauritanie

Relations Canada - Mauritanie

Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et la Mauritanie sont restreintes, mais en expansion, surtout dans les domaines du commerce et de la sécurité. En plus de coopérer au sein de la Francophonie, le Canada a établi des partenariats avec la Mauritanie sur les plans de la lutte contre le terrorisme et de la sécurité régionale.

Depuis 2010, le Canada a versé 40 millions de dollars pour appuyer des initiatives de renforcement des capacités liées à la lutte contre le terrorisme dans la région du Sahel, dont la Mauritanie est un bénéficiaires direct. La Mauritanie est invitée à participer aux réunions et aux ateliers de formation du Groupe de travail sur le renforcement des capacités dans la région de l’Afrique de l’Ouest au sein du Forum mondial de lutte contre le terrorisme (FMLT), co-présidé par le Canada entre 2011 et 2019. Le Canada et la Mauritanie coopèrent également au niveau multilatéral, notamment dans le cadre du Dialogue méditerranéen de l’OTAN et de La Francophonie.

Au cours des deux dernières années, le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL) a versé 80 000 dollars pour améliorer les droits des femmes, en mettant l’accent sur le mariage précoce, la violence sexiste, les mutilations génitales féminines et l’amélioration de l’accès à l’éducation.

En 2016, la diaspora mauritanienne au Canada était estimée à environ 1 000 personnes. En Mauritanie, le Canada est représenté par son ambassade à Rabat, au Maroc, et par un consul honoraire à Nouakchott qui fournit de l’assistance dans les affaires consulaires. M. Sidi Mohamed Ould Taleb Amar, représentant permanent de la Mauritanie aux Nations Unies, est aussi l’ambassadeur de la Mauritanie au Canada. La Mauritanie a également des consuls honoraires à Montréal et à Edmonton.

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Mauritanie sont dominées par une forte présence d’entreprises canadiennes dans le secteur minier. Le commerce de biens et d’équipements entre le Canada et la Mauritanie est modeste. En 2018, notre commerce bilatéral avec la Mauritanie était de 21,9 millions de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes étaient de 21,6 millions de dollars et les importations de 300 000 dollars. Environ 23 compagnies canadiennes font affaire avec la Mauritanie. La plupart d’entre elles sont actives dans le secteur minier, tandis que quelques compagnies opèrent dans le secteur de l’éducation et de la formation. Le Canada est le plus important investisseur étranger en Mauritanie avec des actifs miniers estimés à 2,3 milliards de dollars en 2018.

Le Canada est heureux d'offrir des bourses complètes aux étudiants de Mauritanie pour étudier au Canada, à différents niveaux d'études et ouvertes à toutes les disciplines, à partir de l'année scolaire 2020/2021 dans le cadre du programme pilote de bourses d'études au Canada.

Programmation canadienne

Pendant la crise de 2012 au Sahel, le Canada a distribué plus de 65,4 millions de dollars dans la région par l’entremise d’organismes de l’ONU, tels le Programme alimentaire mondial et l’UNICEF, ainsi que du Comité international de la Croix-Rouge et d’organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes, afin de contribuer à l’aide alimentaire et nutritionnelle fournie aux gens dans le besoin. Que ce soit en distribuant des rations alimentaires d’urgence, en facilitant le traitement communautaire de la malnutrition aiguë, en améliorant l’approvisionnement en eau potable des hommes, des femmes et des enfants victimes de cette crise humanitaire complexe, ou par d’autres activités semblables, le Canada a contribué à étendre l’accès à la nourriture et a fourni un soutien nutritionnel vital.

Le Canada a versé plus de 5,5 millions de dollars depuis 2017 à l’Agence de l’ONU pour les réfugiés, au Programme alimentaire mondial, à l’Organisation pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture et à Action contre la faim pour assurer la sécurité alimentaire des plus vulnérables en Mauritanie, y compris des femmes et des filles, dans le camp M’bera situé dans le sud-est du pays.

Avis aux voyageurs

Affaires mondiales Canada recommande aux Canadiens et Canadiennes qui envisagent de se rendre en Mauritanie de lire son avertissement et encourage les voyageurs à s’inscrire à l’Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger quand ils vont à l’extérieur du pays.