Canada-Eswatini relations

Canada and Eswatini have maintained diplomatic relations since the Kingdom of Eswatini attained independence in 1968. Canada-Eswatini relations are anchored by our shared Commonwealth ties. Canada is represented in Eswatini by our High Commission in Maputo, Mozambique. Eswatini manages its relations with Canada from its High Commission in Washington, D.C.

Canada’s interests in Eswatini relate to promoting the rule of law and the establishment of a constitutional environment that respects human rights and fosters democratic development, as well as helping to address the serious challenges of poverty and disease.

In addition to Canadian civil society initiatives, the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives supports local Swazi organizations that promote inclusive governance, human dignity and gender equality.

The Government of Canada is also a strong supporter of the multilateral system and regional programs that benefit Eswatini. For example, Canada is among the top donors to the Global Partnership for Education, the Global Fund to fight AIDS, Malaria and Tuberculosis, along with the African Development Bank and the World Bank.

In 2019, two-way bilateral merchandise trade totalled $11.9 million, with Canadian exports to Eswatini worth $10.2 million and Canadian imports totalling $1.7 million.

Other Relevant Information

  • Travel Advisory - Eswatini

Relations Canada – Eswatini

Le Canada et Eswatini entretiennent des relations diplomatiques depuis que le Royaume d’Eswatini a accédé à l’indépendance en 1968. Les relations entre les deux pays sont ancrées dans leur appartenance commune au Commonwealth. Le Canada est représenté au Eswatini par son haut-commissariat à Maputo, au Mozambique. L’Eswatini gère ses relations avec le Canada à partir de son haut-commissariat à Washington.

Les intérêts du Canada au Eswatini portent sur la promotion de la primauté du droit et l’établissement d’un environnement constitutionnel qui respecte les droits de la personne et favorise le progrès démocratique. Le Canada donne également son appui pour relever les défis importants posés par la pauvreté et les maladies.

Outre les initiatives de la société civile canadienne, le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales appuie les organisations swazies locales qui font la promotion de la gouvernance inclusive, de la dignité humaine et de l’égalité entre les genres.

Le gouvernement du Canada est également un ardent défenseur du système multilatéral et des programmes régionaux qui appuient Eswatini. Par exemple, le Canada est l’un des principaux donateurs du Partenariat mondial pour l’éducation, du Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, le paludisme et la tuberculose, et la Banque africaine de développement et la Banque mondiale.

En 2019, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises a atteint 11,9 millions de dollars, le Canada ayant exporté pour 10,2 millions de dollars vers Eswatini et importé pour 1,7 millions de dollars.

Autres renseignements pertinents