Canada-Malawi Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Malawi in 1973. However, Canada has provided international assistance to Malawi since the latter’s independence in 1964. Canada’s High Commission based in Maputo, Mozambique, is accredited to Malawi. Malawi maintains its diplomatic relations with Canada from its High Commission in Washington, D.C.

Canada and Malawi maintain positive relations anchored in development cooperation and our Commonwealth ties. The majority of Canada’s assistance is channelled through regional multilateral organizations or is implemented by Canadian and international non-governmental organizations in partnership with Malawian local organizations. Canada’s programming in Malawi focuses on issues of human dignity, particularly supporting projects regarding maternal, newborn and child health. In response to Cyclones Idai and Kenneth, that stuck the country in March/April 2019, Canada provided $2.5 million in humanitarian assistance funding to UN agencies, the Red Cross Movement, and non-governmental organizations. Through these partners, Canada helped to provide access to emergency food rations, safe water and sanitation services, and healthcare to affected communities.

Canada also has a solid long-standing working relationship with the Malawi Defence Force through the Military Training Cooperation Program (MTCP). Since 1976, 171 Malawian officers have benefited from MTCP training. With the help of Canadian funding, the Malawian Ministry of Defence opened a Peace Support Training Centre on Lake Malawi in 2012. The centre caters to Malawi’s national training needs and the needs of the Southern African Development Community.

In 2019, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Malawi totaled $14.8 million, consisting of $13.5 million in exports from Canada and $1.2 million in imports from Malawi.

Other relevant information

Relations Canada - Malawi

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Malawi en 1973. Toutefois, le Malawi bénéficie de l’aide internationale du Canada depuis son indépendance en 1964. Le haut-commissariat du Canada à Maputo, au Mozambique, est accrédité auprès du Malawi, qui entretient ses relations diplomatiques avec le Canada à partir de son haut-commissariat à Washington.

Le Canada et le Malawi entretiennent de bonnes relations fondées sur leur coopération en matière de développement et leur appartenance au Commonwealth. La plus grande partie de l’aide du Canada est acheminée par l’entremise d’organisations multilatérales régionales ou est mise en œuvre par des organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes et internationales en partenariat avec des organisations locales du Malawi. Les programmes du Canada au Malawi ciblent les questions de dignité humaine, en particulier les projets pour la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants. En réponse aux cyclones Idai et Kenneth qui ont frappé le pays en mars / avril 2019, le Canada a fourni 2,5 millions de dollars en financement d'aide humanitaire aux agences des Nations Unies, au Mouvement de la Croix-Rouge et aux organisations non gouvernementales. Par l'intermédiaire de ces partenaires, le Canada a aidé à fournir l'accès aux rations alimentaires d'urgence, à de l'eau potable, aux services d'assainissement et aux soins de santé aux communautés touchées.

Le Canada entretient également des relations solides et de longue date avec les Forces de défense du Malawi par l’entremise du Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires (PICM). Depuis 1976, 171 officiers malawiens ont bénéficié de la formation du PICM. Grâce à un financement canadien, le ministère de la Défense du Malawi a ouvert un centre de formation pour le soutien de la paix au lac Malawi en 2012. Le centre répond aux besoins nationaux de formation du Malawi et aux besoins de la Communauté de développement de l’Afrique australe.

En 2019, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et le Malawi s’est chiffré à 14,8 millions de dollars. Le Canada a exporté pour 13,5 millions de dollars de marchandises vers le Malawi et a importé pour 1,2 millions de dollars. 

Autres renseignements pertinents