Canada - Mozambique Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Mozambique in 1975, following the latter’s independence. In Mozambique, Canada maintains a High Commission in Maputo (which is concurrently accredited to Malawi and Eswatini). In Canada, Mozambique is represented through its High Commission in Washington, D.C.

Canada and Mozambique maintain positive relations and have a history of collaboration on shared priorities, notably on the Ottawa Convention to ban landmines. Canada also provided support to the UN Operation in Mozambique (ONUMOZ) (1992-1994). Canada and Mozambique are members of the Commonwealth and La Francophonie (Mozambique is an Observer), and have a common interest in important multilateral issues related to the environment and climate change.

International Assistance

Mozambique is among the largest recipients of Canadian international assistance, most of which is provided through Canada’s bilateral development program. Canada has contributed more than 1.1 billion dollars in development assistance since 2010. In response to Cyclones Idai and Kenneth, that stuck the country in March/April 2019, Canada provided $7.25 million in humanitarian assistance funding to UN agencies, the Red Cross Movement, and non-governmental organizations. Through these partners, Canada helped to provide access to emergency food rations, safe water and sanitation services, and healthcare to affected communities.

In line with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls are at the heart of our approach to Mozambique. Aligning with Mozambican priorities, Canada is working towards three main objectives: increasing access to quality services in health and education to ensure human dignity; broadening social and economic empowerment, especially of women and girls; and, establishing the foundations for a more peaceful, inclusive and prosperous Mozambique. Particular emphasis is placed on advancing the sexual and reproductive health and rights of women and girls.

Commercial Relations

In 2019, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Mozambique totaled $70.7 million, comprising $59.7 million in exports from Canada and $11 million in imports from Mozambique.

The Mozambican market presents opportunities for Canadian businesses and investors in infrastructure, traditional and renewable energy generation and distribution, as well as in agri-business, oil and gas, and mining. The number of Canadian companies active in Mozambique is small but steadily growing, particularly in niche areas such as trades training, specialized engineering services, and drilling services.

Other Relevant Information

Relations Canada - Mozambique

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Mozambique en 1975 après l’accession de ce pays à l’indépendance. Au Mozambique, le Canada est représenté par son haut-commissariat à Maputo (qui est également chargé de la représentation du Canada au Malawi et au Eswatini). Le Mozambique est représenté au Canada par son haut-commissariat à Washington, D.C. (États-Unis).

Le Canada et le Mozambique entretiennent de bonnes relations et collaborent traditionnellement à l’égard des enjeux prioritaires qu’ils ont en commun, notamment la Convention d’Ottawa sur l’interdiction des mines terrestres. Le Canada a également apporté son aide dans le cadre des Opérations des Nations Unies au Mozambique (ONUMOZ) (1992-1994). En outre, le Canada et le Mozambique sont membres du Commonwealth et de la Francophonie (le Mozambique a qualité d’observateur), et ont un intérêt commun à l’égard d’enjeux multilatéraux d’importance entourant l’environnement et les changements climatiques.

Aide internationale

Le Mozambique figure au nombre des pays qui bénéficient de la plus importante aide internationale de la part du Canada, dont la plus grande partie est offerte à travers le programme d’aide au développement du Canada. Le Canada a versé plus d’un milliard de dollars en aide au développement au Mozambique depuis  2010. En réponse aux cyclones Idai et Kenneth, qui ont frappé le pays en mars / avril 2019, le Canada a fourni 7,25 millions de dollars en financement d'aide humanitaire aux agences des Nations Unies, au Mouvement de la Croix-Rouge et aux organisations non gouvernementales. Par l'intermédiaire de ces partenaires, le Canada a aidé à fournir l'accès aux rations alimentaires d'urgence, à de l'eau potable, aux services d'assainissement et aux soins de santé aux communautés touchées.

Conformément à la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, l’égalité des sexes et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles sont au cœur de notre approche au Mozambique. En conformité avec les priorités mozambicaines, le Canada vise trois objectifs principaux: accroître l'accès à des services de santé et d'éducation de qualité pour assurer la dignité humaine; élargir l'autonomisation sociale et économique, en particulier des femmes et des filles; et jeter les bases d'un Mozambique plus pacifique, plus inclusif et plus prospère. Un accent particulier est mis sur l'amélioration de la santé et des droits sexuels et reproductifs des femmes et des filles.

Relations commerciales

En 2019, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et le Mozambique a atteint 70,7 millions de dollars – 59,7 millions en exportation du Canada et 11 millions en importation du Mozambique.

Pour les entreprises et investisseurs canadiens, le marché mozambicain présente des occasions en matière d’infrastructures, de production et de distribution d’énergie traditionnelle et renouvelable, ainsi que d’agroentreprise, de produits pétroliers et gaziers, et d’exploitation minière. Le nombre d’entreprises canadiennes actives au Mozambique est peu élevé, mais en constante croissance, particulièrement dans les créneaux comme la formation professionnelle, les services de génie spécialisés et les services de forage.

Autres renseignements pertinents