Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Netherlands.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Netherlands Relations

The Canada-Netherlands bilateral relationship, while anchored in a shared WWII history, is dynamic and forward-looking. We benefit from mutual commercial and foreign policy interests, which flow from our common commitment to multilateralism, free and inclusive trade and the rules-based international order. Our citizens have significant person-to-person ties underpinned by immigration past and present.

One of Canada’s most significant trade, investment and innovation partners

The Netherlands is a country steeped in a long history of commerce and represents a gateway to Europe across the spectrum of trade, investment and technology exchange. The Netherlands is Canada’s second largest source of foreign direct investment. In 2018, the stock of Dutch direct investment in Canada was valued at nearly $106.7 billion.

Bilateral trade was approximately $9.2 billion in 2018, with Canadian merchandise exports to the Netherlands at $4.7 billion, and imports at $4.5 billion. In 2018, Canada’s services exports to the Netherlands totaled $1.3 billion and services imports from the Netherlands to Canada were valued at $1.9 billion.

The Netherlands has an enormous transport logistics infrastructure built around the Port of Rotterdam (the largest in Europe) and Amsterdam’s Schiphol Airport. The country counts a highly international and diverse workforce and attractive tax regimes, making it an ideal location for Canadian companies to invest. Canada’s Trade Commissioner Service in the Netherlands places a strong emphasis on the promotion of Dutch investment in Canada and technology exchange.

Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)

Provisional application of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) started on September 21, 2017, at which time all economically significant parts of the Agreement entered into force. CETA is already generating new economic opportunities for both Canada and the Netherlands. From October 2017 to September 2018 two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Netherlands totaled $9.093 billion, a 30.2% increase over the equivalent pre-CETA period.The Dutch parliament is currently studying legislation to ratify CETA.

Working side by side to create a more peaceful and prosperous world

The Netherlands is a constructive international partner for Canada. We are like-minded across a broad spectrum of issues, including our common commitment to human rights, multilateralism and the rules-based international order. The Dutch are well-regarded multilateral players alongside Canada in the UN, NATO, OSCE, and the various international judicial institutions headquartered in The Hague. The complementarity in our approaches provides lessons-learned in both directions. We also share mutually-beneficial partnerships and perspectives with the Dutch on security, intelligence and rule of law issues. Our interests also converge in the Americas, where the Kingdom of the Netherlands –which include the constituent countries of Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten and special municipalities of Saba, Sint Eustatius and Bonaire– is a neighbour and friend.

An important link in Canada’s storied military heritage

The Canadian Forces spearheaded the Liberation of the Netherlands during World War II, 75 years ago. At the same time, Canada welcomed Her Royal Highness Princess Juliana and her family. The Royal Family gifted Ottawa a multitude of tulip bulbs in recognition of these wartime links. This was the genesis of Ottawa’s well-known Canadian Tulip Festival.

Significant people to people links

The ties forged during the Second World War led to significant people-to-people exchanges. About one million persons of Dutch origin now reside in Canada, a figure which translates to 3% of the Canadian population. Following the adoption of a motion in Parliament, and in recognition of our close bond, Canada celebrated its inaugural Dutch Heritage Day on 5 May 2019.

Recent high level interaction

Foreign Minister Blok made an official visit to Canada on 3 April 2019. Minister Freeland hosted him for a working lunch and earlier in the day he met with members of the Dutch-Canadian community. Prime Minister Rutte made an official visit to Canada on 25 October 2018. This visit also marked the first time a Dutch prime minister delivered an address to the Canadian Parliament. Their Majesties King Willem-Alexander and Queen Máxima of the Netherlands paid a state visit to Canada in May 2015, which included meetings with then Prime Minister Harper and Governor General Johnston. 

The last Canadian ministerial visits to the Netherlands were undertaken by Minister of Health Petitpas Taylor (International AIDS Conference, July 2018) and former Minister of Justice Wilson-Raybould (March 2018). 

Diplomatic Representation 

Canada is represented in the Kingdom of the Netherlands by its Embassy in The Hague, which is also accredited to the Dutch Caribbean countries of Sint Maarten, Aruba and Curaçao. The Netherlands has an Embassy in Ottawa, Consulates-general in Toronto and Vancouver, and honorary consuls in Calgary, Edmonton, Fredericton, Halifax, Montreal, Quebec City, Saskatoon and Winnipeg.

June 2019


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Footer

Date Modified:
2019-06-04

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Pays-Bas.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Pays-Bas

Le Canada et les Pays-Bas entretiennent une relation bilatérale qui, bien qu’ancrée dans une histoire partagée de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, est dynamique et tournée vers l’avenir. Nos deux pays bénéficient d’intérêts mutuels en politique étrangère, découlant de notre engagement commun au multilatéralisme, au commerce libre et inclusif et à un ordre international basé sur les règles. Nos citoyens entretiennent des liens personnels étroits, renforcés par l’immigration passée et présente.

Les Pays-Bas : l’un des principaux partenaires commerciaux, d’investissements et d’innovation du Canada

Les Pays-Bas sont un pays imprégné d'une longue tradition commerciale et représentent une porte d'entrée vers l'Europe pour le commerce, l’investissement et l'échange de technologie. Ils représentent la deuxième source d'investissements directs étrangers au Canada. Le stock d'investissements directs néerlandais au Canada a été évalué à près de 106,7 milliards de dollars en 2018.

Le commerce bilatéral était d'environ 9,2milliards de dollars en 2018, alors que les exportations de marchandises canadiennes vers les Pays-Bas se sont élevées à 4,7 milliards de dollars et que les importations se sont établies à 4,5 milliards de dollars. En 2018, les exportations de services du Canada vers les Pays-Bas ont totalisé 1,3 milliard de dollars et les importations de services des Pays-Bas vers le Canada ont été évaluées à 1,9 milliards de dollars.

Les Pays-Bas disposent d'une énorme infrastructure logistique de transport construite autour du port de Rotterdam (le plus grand d'Europe) et de l'aéroport Schiphol d'Amsterdam. La combinaison d’une main d’œuvre hautement internationale et diversifiée ainsi que la présence de régimes fiscaux attrayants, font des Pays-Bas un endroit idéal pour les investissements des entreprises canadiennes. Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada aux Pays-Bas met l'accent sur la promotion de l'investissement néerlandais au Canada et l'échange de technologie.

Accord économique et commercial global (AECG)

La mise en œuvre provisoire de l'Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne a commencé le 21 septembre  2017, date à laquelle toutes les parties économiquement significatives de l'Accord sont entrées en vigueur. L'AECG a déjà généré de nouvelles opportunités économiques pour le Canada et les Pays-Bas. Entre octobre 2017 et septembre 2018, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises est évalué à 9,0 milliard de dollars, une croissance de 30.2% par rapport à la même période avant l’implémentation de l’AECG. Le gouvernement des Pays-Bas considère actuellement la législation menant à la ratification de l’AECG.

Des partenaires pour construire un monde plus paisible et prospère

Les Pays-Bas sont un partenaire international constructif pour le Canada. Nous partageons les mêmes idées sur plusieurs enjeux, notamment notre engagement commun à l’égard des droits de la personne, le multilatéralisme et des règles internationales. Aux côtés du Canada, les Pays-Bas sont un acteur respecté du système multilatéral, que ce soit aux Nations Unies, à l’OTAN, à l’OSCE ou au sein des diverses institutions judiciaires internationales établies à La Haye. La complémentarité de nos approches permet à chacun de tirer des enseignements. Le Canada a également établi un dialogue mutuellement bénéfique avec les Pays-Bas sur les questions de sécurité, de services de renseignement et de primauté du droit. Nos intérêts convergent également de notre côté de l’Atlantique, où le Royaume des Pays-Bas, qui comprend les pays constitutifs d’Aruba, de Curaçao et de Sint Maarten- est un voisin et un ami.

Un lien important avec le passé militaire du Canada

Les Forces canadiennes ont dirigé la libération des Pays-Bas pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, 75 ans passé. Il est pendant cette période que le Canada a accueilli son Altesse Royale, la princesse Juliana et sa famille. La famille royale néerlandaise a offert une multitude de bulbes de tulipes au Canada en reconnaissance des liens développés durant le conflit. Ce présent a été à l’origine du célèbre Festival canadien des tulipes d’Ottawa.

D’importants liens interpersonnels

Les liens forgés à l’époque de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ont conduit à d’importants échanges entre les personnes. Près d’un million de personnes d’origine néerlandaise résident maintenant au Canada, ce qui représente 3% de la population canadienne. Après l’adoption d’une motion au parlement, et en reconnaissance de notre rapport étroit, le Canada a célébré la journée du patrimoine néerlandais inaugural le 5 mai 2019.

Visites et réunions de haut niveau récentes

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères Blok, en visite officielle au Canada le 3 avril 2019, a rencontré la ministre Freeland lors d’un déjeuner de travail offert par cette dernière. Lors de sa visite, il a aussi rencontré des membres de la communauté hollandaise canadienne. Le premier ministre Rutte a effectué une visite officielle au Canada le 25 octobre 2019. Il est le premier chef de gouvernement a s’adressé au parlement canadien. Leurs majestés le Roi Willem-Alexander et la Reine Maxima des Pays-Bas ont effectué une visite d’État au Canada en mai 2015 lors de laquelle ils ont rencontré l’ancien premier ministre Harper ainsi que l’ancien gouverneur général Johnston.

La dernière visite ministérielle aux Pays-Bas été entreprise par la ministre de la santé Petitpas Taylor (Congrès international sur le SIDA, juillet 2018) et l’ancienne ministre de la justice Wilson-Raybould (mars 2018).    

Représentation diplomatique

Le Canada est représenté aux Pays-Bas par l’embrassade à La Haye, qui est également accrédité aux Pays-Bas caribéens, les pays de Saint-Martin, Aruba et Curaçao. Les Pays-Bas ont une ambassade à Ottawa, des consulats généraux à Toronto et Vancouver ainsi que des consuls honoraires à Calgary, Edmonton, Fredericton, Halifax, Montréal, Québec, Saskatoon et Winnipeg.

Mai 2019


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2019-06-04