Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Netherlands.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

The Globetrotting Exhibition Nunavut’s Culture on Cloth Stops in the Netherlands!


Stijn Schoonderwoerd, Director of the National Museum of Ethnology in Leiden, at the opening of the exhibition Nunavut’s Culture on Cloth.
   

The Speaker of the Senate in Canada, the Honourable Noël A. Kinsella, delivering an opening address.
   

Ambassador Lambert at the opening of the exhibition Nunavut’s Culture on Cloth.
   

A vast and pristine land of ice and snow?  The Embassy of Canada to the Netherlands has been working to enrich this popular but misleading image of the Arctic.  This is a timely message, since Canada’s Arctic Council agenda emphasizes the human dimension of this region.  Our latest initiative to show the vitality of the Arctic peoples is the Nunavut’s Culture on Cloth travelling exhibition, which opened on May 22 for a four-month run at the important National Museum of Ethnology in Leiden.

Nunavut’s Culture on Cloth features a collection of vibrant and intricately worked wall hangings created by the women of Baker Lake, a village located west of Hudson Bay.  This is one of the most sparsely populated and remote regions of the world.  With no written tradition, the Inuit used such fabric art to convey their stories, beliefs, and traditions.  The Leiden exhibition has a centrepiece of unique local relevance:  the Embassy has loaned the Museum a stunning large-scale tapestry by Irene Avaalaaqiaq from the collection at the Chancery. 

The opening of the exhibit on May 22 coincided with Aboriginal Awareness Week, a Canadian government-wide celebration honoring the history and contributions of the First Nations, Métis and Inuit in our communities.  The opening also overlapped with the five-day American Indian Workshop at Leiden University, bringing an enthusiastic expert audience from the academic and museum world. 

We welcomed the Speaker of the Senate in Canada, the Honourable Noël A. Kinsella, who delivered an opening address alongside Ambassador James Lambert.  The curator of the exhibit, Judith Varney Burch, came to the Netherlands especially for the opening.  With great sympathy and knowledge she spoke to the guests about the artists and the cultural relevance of their works, offering her personal recollections of travel throughout the area.

The Embassy has sponsored this exhibition as part of the yearlong celebrations of the 75th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Canada and the Netherlands.  We invite you to view Nunavut’s Culture on Cloth at the National Museum of Ethnology in Leiden until September 28, 2014.


The curator of the exhibit, Judith Varney Burch, came to the Netherlands especially for the opening.
   

Packed audience at the opening of the exhibition Nunavut’s Culture on Cloth.
   

Opening of the exhibition Nunavut’s Culture on Cloth.
   

Exhibition Nunavut’s Culture on Cloth at the National Museum of Ethnology in Leiden.
   

FacebookTwitter

Footer

Date Modified:
2014-06-17

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Pays-Bas.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

L’exposition voyageuse Culture sur étoffe s'arrête aux Pays-Bas!


Le directeur du Musée national d'ethnologie de Leyde, Stijn Schoonderwoerd, à l’ouverture de l’exposition Culture sur étoffe.
   

Le président du Sénat canadien, l’honorable Noël A. Kinsella, prononçant un discours à l’ouverture de l’exposition.
   

L’ambassadeur James Lambert à l’ouverture de l’exposition Culture sur étoffe.
   

L’Arctique, un vaste territoire vierge de glace et de neige? L’Ambassade du Canada aux Pays-Bas travaille à corriger cette image populaire, mais fausse de l’Arctique. Il s’agit d’un message opportun, puisque l’ordre du jour du Conseil de l’Arctique présidé par le Canada met l’accent sur la dimension humaine de cette région. Notre dernière initiative visant à montrer la vitalité des peuples de l’Arctique est l’exposition Culture sur étoffe, qui a débuté le 22 mai au Musée national d'ethnologie de Leyde.

Culture sur étoffe met en vedette une collection de tentures murales éclatantes et finement travaillées par les femmes de Baker Lake, un village situé à l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson. Il s’agit d’une des régions les moins peuplées et les plus éloignées du monde. En l’absence de tradition écrite, les Inuits utilisaient ces étoffes afin de transmettre leurs histoires, croyances et traditions. L’exposition au musée à Leyde a une pièce maîtresse particulière : l’Ambassade a prêté au musée une superbe tapisserie d’Irene Avaalaaqiaq provenant de la collection de la Chancellerie.

L’ouverture de l’exposition le 22 mai coïncidait avec la Semaine de sensibilisation aux cultures autochtones, une célébration à l’échelle du gouvernement du Canada mettant en valeur les diverses cultures et traditions des Métis, des Inuits et des membres des Premières Nations. L’ouverture a également coïncidé avec l’atelier American Indian d’une durée de cinq jours à l’Université de Leyde, réunissant des experts enthousiastes des communautés muséale et académique.

Nous avons accueilli le président du Sénat canadien, l’honorable Noël A. Kinsella, qui a prononcé un discours aux côtés de l’ambassadeur James Lambert. La conservatrice de l’exposition, Judith Varney Burch, est venue aux Pays-Bas spécialement pour cette occasion. Elle a présenté les artistes et parlé de leur pertinence culturelle aux invités avec beaucoup de sympathie et en toute connaissance de cause, relatant ses souvenirs de voyage à travers la région.

L'Ambassade a parrainé cette exposition dans le cadre d'une année de festivités soulignant le 75e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et les Pays-Bas. Nous vous invitons à visiter l’exposition Culture sur étoffe au Musée national d'ethnologie de Leyde jusqu'au 28 septembre 2014.


La conservatrice de l’exposition, Judith Varney Burch, est venue aux Pays-Bas spécialement pour cette occasion.
   

Salle comble à l’ouverture de l’exposition Culture sur étoffe.
   

Ouverture de l’exposition Culture sur étoffe
   

Exposition Culture sur étoffe au Musée national d'ethnologie de Leyde.
   

FacebookTwitter

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2014-06-23