Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Netherlands.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada contributes €2.5 million to support OPCW work in Syria

February 18, 2016 | The Hague, Netherlands – Canada’s Permanent Representative to the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), Ambassador Sabine Nölke, and OPCW Director-General, Ambassador Ahmet Üzümcü, announced today that Canada will contribute an additional €2.5 million (C$3.9 million) to support the Organisation’s verification and fact-finding work in Syria.

This contribution builds on previous Canadian voluntary contributions to the OPCW totalling €8.5 million (C$12 million) for the initial 2013 investigation into chemical weapons use in Syria and to help eliminate Syria’s chemical weapons program. It will be channeled through the OPCW’s new Trust Fund for Syria Missions, which will consolidate extra-budgetary contributions from member states to cover the high cost of contingency operations in Syria.

“Canada is pleased to support OPCW activities to verify the destruction of Syria’s chemical weapons program and to investigate allegations of chemical weapons use through its Fact-Finding Mission,” said Ambassador Nölke. “Since 2013, the OPCW has played a crucial role in addressing the threat posed by chemical weapons in Syria. We commend the Organisation’s staff for their tireless efforts under difficult circumstances.”

“I welcome this significant contribution by Canada to the Trust Fund for Syria Missions,” said Director-General Üzümcü. “These funds will help the OPCW’s important work toward the complete elimination of Syria’s chemical weapons program.”

This contribution complements a US$2 million (C$2.8 million) allocation by Canada – announced in tandem this week in New York – to the OPCW-United Nations Joint Investigative Mechanism to support the pursuit of accountability for chemical weapons use in Syria. Both contributions will be funded by Canada’s Global Partnership Program, established in 2002 to reduce the threat posed by the proliferation of chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear weapons, materials, and expertise.

CONTACTS
Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
+1-343-203-7700
media@international.gc.ca
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP / @CanAmbNL
Like us on Facebook: Global Affairs Canada / Embassy of Canada in the Netherlands

Mr. Malik Ellahi
Acting Head, Media & Public Affairs Branch
Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
+31-(0)70-416-3836 / +31-(0)6-2905-5337
media@opcw.org
Follow us on Twitter: @OPCW
Like us on Facebook: OPCW

Footer

Date Modified:
2016-02-19

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Pays-Bas.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Le Canada verse 2,5 millions d’euros en appui au travail de l’OIAC en Syrie

18 février 2016 | La Haye (Pays-Bas) – La représentante permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation pour l'interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC), l’ambassadrice Sabine Nölke, et le directeur général de l’OIAC, l’ambassadeur Ahmet Üzümcü, ont annoncé aujourd’hui que le Canada versera une somme supplémentaire de 2,5 millions d’euros (3,9 millions $CAN) en appui au travail de vérification et d’enquête de l’Organisation en Syrie.

Cette contribution s’ajoute aux contributions volontaires canadiennes antérieures à l’OIAC totalisant 8,5 millions d’euros (12 millions $CAN) pour l’enquête initiale en 2013 relative à l’utilisation d’armes chimiques en Syrie et pour l’élimination du programme d’armes chimiques de la Syrie. Cette somme sera versée dans le nouveau fonds d’affectation spéciale de l’OIAC pour les missions en Syrie, dans lequel seront regroupées les contributions extrabudgétaires provenant d’États membres afin de payer les coûts liés aux opérations d’urgence en Syrie.

« Le Canada est fier de financer les activités de l’OIAC visant à vérifier la destruction du programme d’armes chimiques de la Syrie et à enquêter sur les allégations relatives à l’utilisation d’armes chimiques grâce à sa mission d’enquête, a affirmé l’ambassadrice Nölke. Depuis 2013, l’OIAC a joué un rôle primordial en se penchant sur la menace que posent les armes chimiques en Syrie. Nous félicitons le personnel de l’Organisation pour leur travail inlassable réalisé dans des circonstances difficiles. »

« Je salue cette importante contribution du Canada au fonds d’affectation spéciale de l’OIAC pour les missions en Syrie, a dit le directeur général Üzümcü. Cette somme appuiera l’important travail de l’OIAC visant l’élimination complète du programme d’armes chimiques de la Syrie. »

Cette contribution s’ajoute à l’allocation de 2 millions $US (2,8 millions $CAN) du Canada, qui a été annoncée en tandem cette semaine à New York, au Mécanisme d’enquête conjoint de l’OIAC et des Nations Unies afin de financer l’attribution de la responsabilité pour l’utilisation des armes chimiques en Syrie. Les deux contributions proviennent du Programme de partenariat mondial du Canada, établi en 2002, dont l’objectif est de réduire la menace que pose la prolifération d’armes et de substances chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques et nucléaires et de l’expertise à ce chapitre.

 

CONTACTS

Service des relations avec les médias
Affaires mondiales Canada
+1-343-203-7700
media@international.gc.ca
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @CanadaPE / @AmbCanNL
Aimez-nous sur Facebook : Affaires mondiales Canada / Ambassade du Canada aux Pays-Bas

M. Malik Ellahi
Chef intérimaire, Service des relations avec les médias et le public
Organisation pour l'interdiction des armes chimiques
+31-(0)70-416-3836 / +31-(0)6-2905-5337
media@opcw.org
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @OPCW
Aimez-nous sur Facebook : OPCW

 

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2016-02-19