Canada-Kiribati Relations

Canada-Kiribati Relations

In Kiribati, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in New Zealand.

Kiribati does not have an official representative accredited to Canada. Citizens of Kiribati require a visa to enter Canada.

Canada enjoys pleasant bilateral relations with Kiribati, formerly called the Gilbert Islands. Canada and Kiribati share memberships in international organizations, such as the Commonwealth, the United Nations, the International Monetary Fund and the World Health Organization.

Canada and Kiribati share interests with respect to fisheries management, and both are parties to the United Nations Fish Stocks Agreement. Canada is also a dialogue partner of the Pacific Islands Forum, to which Kiribati belongs.

Through development assistance, Canada supports small and community-focused projects in Kiribati through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives. The fund is administered by the High Commission of Canada in New Zealand.

Canada’s limited trade relations with Kiribati are managed by the Trade Commissioner Service, New Zealand.

July 2018

Relations Canada - Kiribati

Relations Canada - Kiribati

À Kiribati, le Canada est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Kiribati ne possède aucune représentation officielle au Canada. Les citoyens de Kiribati ont besoin d’un visa pour entrer au Canada.

Le Canada entretient des relations bilatérales cordiales avec Kiribati (anciennement les îles Gilbert). Le Canada et Kiribati sont tous les deux membres d’organisations internationales, telles que le Commonwealth, les Nations Unies, le Fonds monétaire international et l’Organisation mondiale de la santé.

Le Canada et Kiribati ont des intérêts communs à l’égard de la gestion des pêches et sont parties à l’Accord des Nations Unies sur les stocks de poissons. Le Canada est également un partenaire du dialogue du Forum des îles du Pacifique, auquel appartient Kiribati.

Au moyen de l’aide au développement, le Canada appuie de petits projets communautaires à Kiribati par le truchement du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales. Le Fonds est administré par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Les relations commerciales limitées du Canada avec ce pays sont gérées par le Service des délégués commerciaux en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Juillet 2018