Canada-Samoa Relations

Canada-Samoa Relations

In Samoa, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in New Zealand.

Samoa is represented in Canada by a high commission in New York, United States.

Canada enjoys pleasant bilateral relations with Samoa. Canada and Samoa share memberships in several international organizations, such as the Commonwealth, the United Nations and the World Health Organization.

Canada and Samoa share interests with respect to fisheries management and are both parties to the United Nations Fish Stocks Agreement. Canada is also a dialogue partner of the Pacific Islands Forum to which Samoa belongs.

With regard to development assistance, Canada supports small-scale, community-based projects in Samoa through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, administered by the High Commission of Canada in New Zealand.

Canada’s trade relations with Samoa are managed by the Trade Commissioner Service, New Zealand.

July 2018

Relations Canada - Samoa

Relations Canada - Samoa

Au Samoa, le Canada est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Le Samoa est représenté au Canada par un haut-commissariat à New York, aux États-Unis.

Le Canada jouit de relations bilatérales agréables avec le Samoa. Le Canada et le Samoa sont membres de plusieurs organisations internationales telles que le Commonwealth, les Nations Unies et l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé.

Le Canada et le Samoa ont des intérêts communs à l’égard de la gestion des pêches. Ils sont aussi tous deux parties à l’Accord des Nations Unies sur les stocks de poissons. Le Canada est également un partenaire du dialogue du Forum des îles du Pacifique, auquel le Samoa appartient.

Concernant l’aide au développement, le Canada appuie des petits projets communautaires au Samoa par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, qui est administré par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Les relations commerciales du Canada avec le Samoa sont gérées par le Service des délégués commerciaux en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Juillet 2018