Canada-Tonga Relations

Canada-Tonga Relations

In Tonga, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in New Zealand.

Tonga is represented in Canada by a high commission in New York City, U.S.A.

Canada enjoys pleasant bilateral relations with the Kingdom of Tonga, enhanced by memberships in international organizations such as the Commonwealth, United Nations, International Monetary Fund and World Health Organization.

Canada and Tonga share interests with respect to fisheries management and are both parties to the United Nations Fish Stock Agreement. Canada is also a dialogue partner of the Pacific Islands Forum to which Tonga belongs.

With regard to development assistance, Canada supports small-scale, community-based projects in Tonga through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, administered by the High Commission of Canada in New Zealand.

Canada’s trade relations with Tonga are managed by the Trade Commissioner Service, New Zealand.

Relations Canada - Tonga

Relations Canada - Tonga

Aux Tonga, le Canada est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Les Tonga sont représentées au Canada par un haut-commissariat à New York, aux États-Unis.

Le Canada jouit de relations bilatérales agréables avec le Royaume des Tonga. Le Canada et les Tonga appartiennent à des organisations internationales telles que le Commonwealth, les Nations Unies, le Fonds monétaire international et l'Organisation mondiale de la santé.

Le Canada et les Tonga ont des intérêts communs à l'égard de la gestion des pêches. Ils sont aussi parties à l'Accord des Nations Unies sur les stocks de poissons. Le Canada est également un partenaire du dialogue du Forum des îles du Pacifique, auquel les Tonga appartiennent.

Concernant l'aide au développement, le Canada appuie des petits projets communautaires aux Tonga par l'entremise du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales (FCIL) administré par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Les relations commerciales du Canada avec ce pays sont gérées par le Service des délégués commerciaux en Nouvelle-Zélande.