Canada - São Tomé and Príncipe Relations

Canada - Sao Tome and Princip Relations

Diplomatic relations

Canada’s first ambassador was appointed to Sao Tome and Principe (STP) in 1979, four years after the country achieved independence. STP has been interacting with Canada within the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie since the STP joined in 1995.

Canada is currently represented in STP by the High Commission of Canada in Nigeria, located in Abuja. The Permanent Mission of Sao Tome and Principe to the United Nations in New York also serves as the STP embassy to Canada. In addition, STP is represented by an honorary consul in Montréal.

Trade and investments

Canada has limited bilateral trade relations with STP. Two-way merchandise trade reached $758,000 in 2018.

Development and humanitarian assistance

In 2017 to 2018, Canadian development assistance provided to STP was $1.41 million, all channels included. See the Project Browser for additional information on programming in STP. Canada provides scholarships to STP students through the Canadian Francophonie Scholarship Program.

Other relevant information

May 2019

Relations Canada - São Tomé-et-Príncipe

Relations Canada - Sao Tome et Principe

Relations diplomatiques

Le premier ambassadeur du Canada à Sao Tomé-et-Principe (STP) a été nommé en 1979, quatre ans après que le pays eût accédé à l’indépendance. STP collabore avec le Canada au sein de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie depuis que STP s’est joint à l’organisation en 1995.

Le Canada est représenté à STP par le haut-commissariat du Canada au Nigéria, qui est situé à Abuja. La mission permanente de Sao Tomé-et-Principe auprès des Nations Unies à New York représente aussi STP auprès du Canada. De plus, STP est représenté par un consulat honoraire à Montréal.

Commerce et investissements

Le Canada entretient des relations commerciales bilatérales très limitées avec STP. Le commerce bilatéral des marchandises s’est chiffré à 758 000$ en 2018.

Développement et assistance humanitaire

En 2017-2018, l’aide canadienne au développement offerte à STP était estimée à 1,41 million de dollars, tous les canaux confondus. Voir la Banque de projets pour des informations additionnelles sur la programmation à STP. Le Canada accorde des bourses aux étudiants de STP dans le cadre du Programme canadien de bourses de la Francophonie.

Autres informations pertinentes

Mai 2019