Canada-Norway relations

Canada and Norway established diplomatic relations in 1942, with 2017 marking the 75th anniversary of Diplomatic Relations. As NATO allies and multilateral partners, Canada and Norway enjoy a long tradition of cooperation on regional and global security issues, reinforced by like-minded cooperation at the United Nations and related multilateral forums.

Regional and multilateral cooperation

As northern neighbours, Canada and Norway promote international circumpolar cooperation at the Arctic Council, while at the same time working closely together on a number of issues important to Northerners and the Arctic.

The same holds true for membership in other multilateral bodies, particularly the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the World Trade Organization (WTO), the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), and the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization.

Canada and Norway are founding members of NATO and are firmly committed to the trans-Atlantic Alliance.

Global issues

Over the years, Canada and Norway have cooperated on several global initiatives, notably in the fields of:

  • environmental protection
  • action on climate change
  • arms control and disarmament
  • gender equality
  • human rights
  • nuclear waste management
  • progressive trade

Canada and Norway also work closely together at the United Nations (UN), supporting and funding initiatives such as:

  • improving women and children’s health
  • girls' education
  • the global fund to fight Aids, Tuberculosis, and Malaria

The two countries frequently consult each other on the global security agenda.

Trade relations

In 2018, Canada and Norway enjoyed a balanced trading relationship, with merchandise exports to Norway totalling nearly $2.4 billion and imports from Norway valued at almost $2.3 billion. Canada’s trade with Norway benefits from the free trade agreement between Canada and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland,  a goods-only trade agreement that entered into force on July 1, 2009. Canada and the EFTA countries have engaged on several occasions to discuss modernization, including an exploratory meeting on June 5-6, 2018 in Ottawa. Canadian merchandise exports to Norway are dominated by metals and precious stones, and Canadian merchandise imports from Norway by mineral fuels, oils, ships and boats. There are opportunities to develop business in other areas such as oil and gas equipment and services, sustainable technologies, ICT, as well as niche products and services from Canada such as outdoor/sporting goods and apparel. Bilateral trade in services is also significant, with Canadian exports to Norway totalling $362 million and Canadian imports amounting to $583 million in 2018.

Academic relations, youth mobility and culture

Canada and Norway share long-standing interest in each other’s culture. At the turn of the 20th century, Norwegian explorer Roald Amundsen acquired key skills while spending winters with Inuit communities in Canada. His experience led him to be the first person to sail through the Northwest Passage (1903-1906). He later reached the South Pole in 1911. The vessel Gjøa, used by Amundsen for the first voyage through the Canadian Northwest Passage, is now housed in the Gjøa building at Oslo’s Fram Museum, accompanied by an exhibition about Gjøa Haven. Some of the artifacts Amundsen collected in the Canadian Arctic were repatriated to Gjøa Haven in 2013.

Moreover, the Canada and Norway Youth Mobility Memorandum of Understanding (International Experience Canada) enables young Norwegians and Canadians to travel and work in each other’s countries since 2007.

Cultural cooperation between the two countries is vibrant as demonstrated by the frequent exchanges of artists. For instance, the Canada-Norway Audiovisual co-production agreement facilitated the production of the Oscar-winning animation film The Danish Poet. Furthermore, in early 2018, Canadian and Norwegian cultural agencies entered into agreements to fund co-productions between Canadian and Norwegian Indigenous film-makers. In fact, Canada and Norway were both participants in the inaugural Arctic Arts Summit in Norway in 2017.

There is also a growing number of research and academic mobility partnerships between Canada and Norway.

According to the Canada 2016 Census, 463,000 Canadians claim at least some Norwegian ancestry (which is among the top 20 ethnic origins in Canada). Approximately 4000 Canadians live in Norway.

May 2019

Relations Canada-Norvège

L’an 2017 a marqué le 75e anniversaire des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la Norvège, établies en 1942. En tant qu’alliés de l’OTAN et partenaires multilatéraux, les deux pays entretiennent une longue tradition de coopération sur les enjeux de sécurité régionale et mondiale, laquelle se trouve renforcée par leur coopération de même esprit au sein des Nations Unies et de forums multilatéraux connexes.

Coopération régionale et multilatérale

Pays nordiques voisins, le Canada et la Norvège encouragent la coopération circumpolaire internationale au sein du Conseil de l’Arctique. De même, ils collaborent étroitement sur un certain nombre d’enjeux importants pour les habitants du Nord et de l’Arctique.

Il en va de même au sein d’autres organes multilatéraux, en particulier l’Organisation du Traité Atlantique-Nord (OTAN), l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) et l’Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest.

Le Canada et la Norvège comptent parmi les pays fondateurs de l’OTAN et sont tous deux fermement engagés envers l’Alliance transatlantique.

Enjeux mondiaux

Au fil des ans, le Canada et la Norvège ont collaboré sur plusieurs initiatives mondiales, notamment dans les domaines suivants :

  • Protection de l’environnement;
  • Lutte contre les changements climatiques;
  • Contrôle des armements et désarmement;
  • Égalité entre les sexes;
  • Droits de la personne;
  • Gestion des déchets nucléaires;
  • Commerce progressiste.

Le Canada et la Norvège collaborent aussi étroitement au sein des Nations Unies (ONU), afin de soutenir et de financer des initiatives comme les suivantes :

  • Amélioration de la santé des femmes et des enfants;
  • Éducation des filles;
  • Fonds mondial de lutte contre le SIDA, la tuberculose et la malaria.

Les deux pays se consultent fréquemment sur le programme de sécurité mondiale.

Relations commerciales

En 2018, le Canada et la Norvège ont profité d’une relation commerciale équilibrée : les exportations de marchandises vers la Norvège ont atteint près de 2,4 milliards de dollars, tandis que les importations en provenance de la Norvège se sont chiffrées à près de 2,3 milliards de dollars. Le commerce du Canada avec la Norvège profite de l’accord de libre‑échange entre le Canada et les pays membres de l’Association européenne de libre‑échange (AELE), soit l’Islande, le Liechtenstein, la Norvège et la Suisse. Il s’agit d’un accord portant uniquement sur le commerce des marchandises, entré en vigueur le 1er juillet 2009. Le Canada et les pays de l’AELE se sont mobilisés plusieurs fois pour discuter de modernisation, y compris dans le cadre d’une réunion exploratoire les 5 et 6 juin 2018, à Ottawa. Les exportations de marchandises du Canada vers la Norvège consistent principalement de pierres et de métaux précieux, et les importations du Canada en provenance de la Norvège sont surtout constituées de combustibles minéraux, d’hydrocarbures, de navires et d’embarcations. Il existe des occasions de développement des affaires dans d’autres secteurs, comme le matériel et les services d’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz, les technologies durables, les TIC, ainsi que certains produits et services de créneau, comme le matériel et les vêtements d’extérieur et de sport. Le commerce bilatéral de services est aussi important, puisque les exportations du Canada vers la Norvège totalisent 362 millions de dollars et que ses importations s’élèvent à 583 millions de dollars en 2018.

Relations universitaires, mobilité des jeunes et culture

Le Canada et la Norvège s’intéressent depuis longtemps à la culture l’un de l’autre. Au tournant du 20e siècle, l’explorateur norvégien Roald Amundsen a acquis des compétences précieuses lors de séjours hivernaux au sein de communautés inuites du Canada. Fort de cette expérience, il devint le premier à traverser le passage du Nord-Ouest (1903-1906). Il atteint ensuite le pôle Sud, en 1911. Le navire Gjøa, à bord duquel Amundsen a effectué sa première traversée du passage du Nord-Ouest canadien, se trouve maintenant dans l’édifice Gjøa du Musée Fram d’Oslo, accompagné d’une exposition sur Gjøa Haven. Certains des artefacts recueillis par Amundsen dans l’Arctique canadien ont été rapatriés à Gjøa Haven en 2013.

Par ailleurs, le Protocole d’entente sur la mobilité des jeunes entre le Canada et la Norvège (Expérience internationale Canada) permet aux jeunes Norvégiens et Canadiens de voyager et de travailler dans un pays ou l’autre depuis 2007.

La coopération culturelle entre les deux pays est dynamique, comme en témoignent les fréquents échanges entre leurs artistes. Par exemple, l’accord de coproduction audiovisuelle conclu entre le Canada et la Norvège a facilité la production du film d’animation oscarisé « Le poète danois ». De plus, au début de 2018, les organismes culturels canadiens et norvégiens ont conclu des ententes pour le financement des coproductions entre les cinéastes autochtones du Canada et de la Norvège. En fait, en 2017, les deux pays ont participé à l’inauguration de l’Arctic Arts Summit, en Norvège.

Ces alliés concluent également de plus en plus de partenariats sur la mobilité des chercheurs et des universitaires entre le Canada et la Norvège.

Selon le recensement effectué au Canada en 2016, 463 000 Canadiens déclarent être de descendance norvégienne (qui compte parmi les 20 principales origines ethniques au Canada). Environ 4 000 Canadiens vivent en Norvège.

Mai 2019