Canada - Pakistan Relations

Canada and Pakistan established diplomatic relations in 1947, shortly after Pakistan’s independence. Canada is represented in Pakistan by a high commission in Islamabad, a consulate and trade office in Karachi, and a consulate in Lahore. Pakistan is represented in Canada by a high commission in Ottawa and consulates general in Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver.

Canada pursues a broad range of interests in its bilateral relations with Pakistan, including people-to-people links, governance and democracy, human rights, climate change, development assistance, regional security and defence, transnational crime, and trade and investment.

Both countries also participate actively on the international stage as members of the United Nations. Both have a long history of significant contributions to peacekeeping. Canada and Pakistan are also members of the Commonwealth, the Heart of Asia-Istanbul Process related to security in Afghanistan and the wider region, and the Malta Process related to international child abductions.

Canada believes that democracy is integral to a peaceful and prosperous future for Pakistanis and, to this end, supports programs that help strengthen Pakistan’s democratic institutions. This includes the full participation of women in the democratic process.

More broadly, Canada encourages all countries to promote and protect human rights. Canada appreciates ongoing and open dialogue with Pakistan on human rights, including the rights of women and of religious minorities, in a spirit of mutual respect.

Canada works bilaterally and multilaterally to address the global threat of terrorism. It strives to ensure that Canadian interests and values are reflected internationally and to enhance the security of Canadians both at home and abroad. The Government of Canada condemns terrorist violence in Pakistan, which continues to claim the lives of innocent women, men and children, and recognizes Pakistan’s significant efforts to combat terrorism. Canada encourages Pakistan to continue its efforts to address all of its security challenges, in accordance with the rule of law and respect for human rights.

People-to-people links between Pakistan and Canada remain strong. There are over 215,000 Canadians of Pakistani origin living in Canada. In 2017, Pakistan was Canada’s sixth-largest source of immigrants and 15th-largest source of students.

In 2017, Pakistan was Canada's 29th-largest export destination for merchandise, with Canada-Pakistan bilateral trade reaching $1.04 billion. Of this, Canadian exports to Pakistan totalled $693 million and imports from Pakistan totalled $351 million. Opportunities for Canadian companies exist in infrastructure, information and communications technologies, mining, energy, oil and gas, and the agri-food and wood sectors.

Pakistan and Canada share over 60 years of development cooperation. The priorities for the bilateral international assistance program are based on Pakistan’s development priorities and Canada’s comparative advantage in line with its Feminist International Assistance Policy. Global Affairs Canada is focused on gender equality, women’s rights, women’s economic empowerment, women’s political participation, polio eradication, and education (teacher training). Canada’s development assistance to Pakistan also includes multilateral, partnership and humanitarian programming. Additionally, project funding in Pakistan has come from the International Development Research Centre. The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives provides direct funding assistance for small projects to local NGOs and, in exceptional cases, international NGOs and government institutions.

July 2018

Relations Canada - Pakistan

Relations Canada - Pakistan

Le Canada et le Pakistan ont établi des relations diplomatiques en 1947, peu après que le Pakistan eut acquis son indépendance. Le Canada est représenté au Pakistan par un haut-commissariat à Islamabad, un consulat et bureau commercial à Karachi, ainsi qu’un consulat à Lahore. Le Pakistan est représenté au Canada par un haut‑commissariat à Ottawa et des consulats généraux à Montréal, à Toronto et à Vancouver.

Le Canada s’intéresse à un vaste éventail de dossiers dans le cadre de ses relations bilatérales avec le Pakistan, notamment les liens interpersonnels, la gouvernance et la démocratie, les droits de la personne, la lutte contre les changements climatiques, l’aide au développement, la sécurité régionale et la défense, la criminalité transfrontalière, et le commerce et l’investissement.

De plus, les deux pays sont actifs sur la scène internationale à titre de membres des Nations Unies, et ils participent depuis longtemps aux efforts de maintien de la paix. Le Canada et le Pakistan sont aussi membres du Commonwealth, du Cœur de l’Asie-Processus d’Istanbul lié à la sécurité en Afghanistan et dans l’ensemble de la région, ainsi que du Processus de Malte lié aux enlèvements internationaux d’enfants.

Le Canada est d’avis que la démocratie fait partie intégrante d’un avenir pacifique et prospère pour les Pakistanais et, à cette fin, il appuie les programmes visant le renforcement des institutions démocratiques au Pakistan. Cela comprend la pleine participation des femmes au processus démocratique.

De façon plus générale, le Canada encourage tous les pays à promouvoir et à protéger les droits de la personne. Le Canada apprécie le dialogue ouvert et continu qu’il a avec le Pakistan sur les droits de la personne, y compris les droits des femmes et des minorités religieuses, dans un esprit de respect mutuel.

Le Canada travaille de façon bilatérale et multilatérale en vue de contrer la menace mondiale posée par le terrorisme. Il s’efforce de faire en sorte que les valeurs et les intérêts canadiens soient mis de l’avant à l’échelle internationale, et d’améliorer la sécurité des Canadiens, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger. Le gouvernement du Canada condamne la violence terroriste perpétrée au Pakistan, qui continue de coûter la vie à des femmes, à des hommes et à des enfants innocents, et reconnaît les efforts importants déployés par le Pakistan pour combattre le terrorisme. Le Canada encourage le Pakistan à poursuivre ses efforts pour venir à bout de toutes ses difficultés en matière de sécurité, et ce, conformément à l’état de droit et au respect des droits de la personne.

Les liens interpersonnels entre le Canada et le Pakistan demeurent solides. Il y a plus de 215 000 Canadiens d’origine pakistanaise qui habitent au Canada. En 2017, le Pakistan était la sixième source d’immigrants et la quinzième source d’étudiants internationaux pour le Canada.

En 2017, le Pakistan était la 29e destination du Canada pour les exportations de marchandises. Pour la même année, les échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et le Pakistan ont atteint 1,04 milliard de dollars, soit 693 millions de dollars en exportations canadiennes vers le Pakistan, et 351 millions de dollars en importations du Pakistan au Canada. Il existe des débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans les secteurs des infrastructures, des technologies de l’information et des communications, de l’exploitation minière, de l’énergie, du pétrole et du gaz, de l’agroalimentaire et du bois.

Le Pakistan et le Canada travaillent ensemble depuis plus de 60 ans dans le domaine de la coopération au développement. Les priorités du programme bilatéral d’aide internationale sont fondées sur les priorités de développement du Pakistan et sur l’avantage comparatif du Canada, conformément à sa Politique d’aide internationale féministe. Affaires mondiales Canada met l’accent sur l’égalité des genres, les droits des femmes, le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes, la participation politique des femmes, l’éradication de la polio et l’éducation (la formation d’enseignants). L’aide canadienne au développement au Pakistan comprend également des programmes multilatéraux, humanitaires et de partenariat. De plus, le Centre de recherches pour le développement international a fourni un financement supplémentaire pour des projets au Pakistan. Le Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales fournit une aide financière directe à des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) locales pour la réalisation de petits projets et, dans des cas exceptionnels, à des ONG internationales et à des institutions gouvernementales.

Juillet 2018