More than 4,700 Canadians Stranded in Pakistan due to COVID-19 return home

May 15, 2020 - The COVID-19 pandemic is a fast-evolving crisis, which has left thousands of travellers stranded around the world.

Since the suspension of all regular international flights in Pakistan, the High Commission of Canada has worked closely with the Government of Pakistan and Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) to return home over 4,700 Canadians and other eligible travellers stranded in Pakistan.

To date, 16 special PIA direct flights to Toronto have departed from three major Pakistani cities - Islamabad, Karachi, and Lahore – with Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and other eligible travellers on board.

Between 16 March and 14 May, the Government of Canada has facilitated the repatriation of approximately 32,000 Canadians from 90 countries on 264 flights.  These efforts were led by Global Affairs Canada (Canada’s Foreign Ministry, with combined responsibility for diplomacy, international trade and international development), in partnership with foreign governments and airlines around the world.

These efforts followed Canadian Government travel advice, which advises all Canadians to avoid international travel and return home on commercial means when available.

“With thanks to Pakistan International Airlines and the Government of Pakistan, we have been able to support the safe return of thousands of Canadians home to Canada as a result of travel restrictions imposed due to the COVID-19 Pandemic,” stated the High Commissioner of Canada to Pakistan, Wendy Gilmour.

“We recognize that some Canadians will need to remain in Pakistan longer than expected”, she added.  “The High Commission of Canada and its dedicated Consular team will continue working hard to provide consular support and services to those Canadians left in Pakistan”.

In addition to assisting Canadians, the Government of Canada is collaborating with international partners, including the World Health Organization to address the rapidly evolving COVID-19 situation around the globe, including in Pakistan.  In particular, Canada recognizes and supports the tireless efforts of Pakistan’s front line health care workers, who are at the forefront in combatting this novel virus. 

Further information on Canada’s support for Pakistan will be forthcoming shortly.

Quick Facts & Links

-30-

For further information, media representatives may contact:
Amina Sarwar
Public Relations Officer, High Commission of Canada
Tel: 0312-5190383
Amina.Sarwar@international.gc.ca

Plus de 4.700 Canadiens bloqués au Pakistan en raison de la Covid-19 sont de retour chez eux

15 mai 2020 - La pandémie de COVID-19 est une crise en évolution rapide, qui a laissé des milliers de voyageurs bloqués dans le monde.

Depuis la suspension de tous les vols internationaux réguliers au Pakistan, le Haut-commissariat du Canada a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement du Pakistan et Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) pour assurer le retour de plus de 4.700 Canadiens et d’autres voyageurs admissibles, bloqués au Pakistan.

À ce jour, 16 vols directs spécieux de PIA en destination de Toronto ont décollé de trois grandes villes pakistanaises – Islamabad, Karachi et Lahore – avec des citoyens canadiens, des résidents permanents et d'autres voyageurs admissibles à bord.

Entre le 16 mars et le 14 mai, le gouvernement du Canada a facilité le rapatriement d'environ 32.000 Canadiens de 90 pays sur 264 vols. Ces efforts ont été dirigés par Affaires mondiales Canada (ministère des Affaires étrangères du Canada, qui a la responsabilité conjointe de la diplomatie, du commerce international et du développement international), en partenariat avec des gouvernements étrangers et des compagnies aériennes du monde entier.

Ces efforts ont suivi les conseils et les avertissements du gouvernement canadien aux voyageurs d'éviter les voyages internationaux et de revenir chez eux par des vols commerciaux lorsqu'ils sont disponibles.

« Grâce à Pakistan International Airlines et au gouvernement du Pakistan, nous avons pu faciliter le retour au Canada de milliers de Canadiens en toute sécurité », a déclaré la Haute-Commissaire du Canada au Pakistan, Wendy Gilmour.

« Nous reconnaissons que certains Canadiens devront rester au Pakistan plus longtemps que prévu », a-t-elle ajouté. « Le haut-commissariat du Canada et son équipe consulaire dévouée continueront de travailler pour fournir soutien et services consulaires aux Canadiens restés au Pakistan ».

Outre le soutien aux Canadiens, le gouvernement du Canada est en collaboration avec des partenaires internationaux, notamment l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, pour faire face à l'évolution rapide de la situation de la COVID-19 dans le monde, y compris au Pakistan. En particulier, le Canada reconnaît et soutient le travail continu des professionnels de santé pakistanais, qui sont en première ligne de la lutte contre ce nouveau virus.

Informations supplémentaires sur le soutien canadien au Pakistan seront disponibles prochainement.

Faits en bref & liens connexes

-30-

Pour plus d'informations, les représentants des médias peuvent contacter:
Amina Sarwar
Agente des relations publiques, Haut-commissariat du Canada
Tel: 0312-5190383
Amina.Sarwar@international.gc.ca