UNESCO and High Commission of Canada in Pakistan Launch Cohort4ClimateConversations

March 30, 2021 - Islamabad

UNESCO Islamabad in collaboration with the High Commission of Canada in Pakistan, concluded a series of sensitization and information sharing sessions to strengthen climate change reporting. These sessions culminated in the formulation of a Cohort4ClimateConversations forum, with the aim to strengthen climate change reporting in mainstream and digital media in Pakistan. Throughout the country, some 60 online content creators, photojournalists, podcasters, etc., participated, creating linkages and a network to increase credible information on climate across Pakistan.

The sessions aimed to equip participants with climate change resources to empower and increase the knowledge pool on local climate change issues, and to strengthen the capacity of journalists and online content creators to report on climate change issues throughout Pakistan. Special Advisor to the Prime Minister on Climate Change, Malik Amin Aslam, congratulated the participants for their work in promoting climate change awareness, and underlined the Government of Pakistan’s commitment to addressing environmental issues, including through nature based solutions like reforestation.

The High Commissioner to Canada, Wendy Gilmour, encouraged the participants to use both traditional and social media as important channels for accurate information to effect positive change. “The creation of a Cohort4ClimateConversations is an important step to inform communities across Pakistan of the impacts of climate change, and provide credible information to promote mitigation activities”.

Country Representative and Director, UNESCO, Ms. Patricia McPhillips, emphasized on media’s role in highlighting direct impact of climate change on human lives. “Climate change has far reaching consequences on social and cultural aspects of our lives too which are already evident in form of climate induced migration, urban sprawl among other issues. Women and other marginalized groups in particular bear the brunt of scarcity of resources and environmental degradation.”  

Leading organizations working on climate change, such as International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Pakistan, World Wildlife Fund (WWF) Pakistan, Global Change Impact Studies Centre (GCISC), Karachi Urban Lab (KUL) of IBA at Karachi University and Hisaar Foundation connected with the participants and offered full support to the “Cohort4ClimateConversations.”

Afia Salam, leading media development specialist in climate change, facilitated the sessions and developed an extensive information resource pack for journalists and online content creators supporting climate reporting.

L’UNESCO et le Haut-Commissariat du Canada au Pakistan lancent la Cohort4ClimateConversations

30 mars, 2021 – Islamabad

L’UNESCO Islamabad, en collaboration avec le Haut-commissariat du Canada au Pakistan, a réalisé une série de séances de sensibilisation et d’échange d’informations afin de renforcer la réalisation de rapports sur les changements climatiques. Ces séances ont abouti à la formulation d’un forum Cohort4ClimateConversations, dans le but d’améliorer la façon de rendre compte du changement climatique dans les médias grand public et numériques au Pakistan. Dans la totalité du pays, quelque 60 créateurs de contenu en ligne, photojournalistes, balladodiffuseurs, etc., y ont participé, créant des liens et un réseau visant à renforcer la crédibilité de l’information sur le climat à travers le Pakistan.

Ces séances visaient à doter les participants de ressources en matière de changement climatique afin d’autonomiser et d’élargir le vivier de connaissances sur les questions locales liées au changement climatique, et de renforcer la capacité des journalistes et des créateurs de contenu en ligne à rendre compte des questions liées au changement climatique au Pakistan. Le conseiller spécial auprès du Premier ministre sur le changement climatique, Malik Amin Aslam, a félicité les participants pour leur travail de sensibilisation au changement climatique et a souligné l’engagement du gouvernement pakistanais pour faire face aux questions environnementales, notamment par le biais de solutions naturelles telles que le reboisement.

La Haut-commissaire du Canada, Wendy Gilmour, a encouragé les participants à utiliser les médias traditionnels et sociaux comme des relais importants d’informations précises pour effectuer un changement positif. « La création d’une Cohort4ClimateConversations est une étape importante afin d’informer les communautés à travers le pays des impacts du changement climatique et pour apporter des informations crédibles à même de promouvoir des activités d’atténuation ».

La Directrice de l’UNESCO et Représentante du pays, Mme. Patricia McPhillips, a souligné le rôle des médias dans la mise en évidence de l’impact direct du changement climatique sur la vie humaine. « Le changement climatique peut avoir des conséquences d’une grande portée sur les aspects sociaux et culturels de nos vies, qui se font déjà sentir, parmi d’autres, sous la forme de migrations dues aux phénomènes climatiques et d’étalement urbain. Les femmes et d’autres groupes marginalisés sont les premières victimes de la raréfaction des ressources et de la dégradation de l’environnement. »

Des organisations de premier plan travaillant sur le changement climatique telles que l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) Pakistan, le Fonds mondial pour la faune (WWF) Pakistan, le Global Change Impact Studies Centre (GCISC), le Karachi Urban Lab (KUL) de l’IBA de l’université de Karachi et la Fondation Hisaar ont créé des liens avec les participants et elles ont offert un soutien à la « Cohort4ClimateConversations. »

Afia Salam, spécialiste du développement des médias dans le domaine du changement climatique, a animé les sessions et a constitué un vaste dossier de ressources d’informations pour les journalistes et les créateurs de contenu en ligne favorables à la diffusion de rapports sur le climat.