Canada continues its 30 year legacy of fostering women’s rights organizations in Pakistan

News release

May 23, 2019

Islamabad: The High Commission of Canada is proud to launch the five-year Women’s Voice and Leadership Pakistan Initiative in Pakistanwith a discussion and media conference in Islamabad on May 23.

The Women’s Voice and Leadership Pakistan Initiative will strengthen women’s rights organizations to help improve policy, legislation, services and systems and impact on social belief and practices that promote gender equality.  With a CDN $8 million budget, the project is a central component of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy.  It builds on a strong legacy of 30 years’ cooperation of Canada working alongside Pakistani women’s rights organizations to advance women’s and girls’ rights.

The roundtable was hosted by the High Commissioner of Canada, Ms. Wendy Gilmour, and the implementing partner for the project, Oxfam Pakistan, which was represented by its Country Director, Mohammad Qazilbash. 

Canada is honoured that the Chairperson of the National Commission on the Status of Women (NCSW), Ms. Khawar Mumtaz, agreed to chair the roundtable and that the Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Social Protection and Poverty Alleviation, Dr. Sania Nishtar, took part as the Guest of Honour.

According to Dr. Nishtar, “Advancement of Women’s rights and Women empowerment are crucial for the reduction of poverty in Pakistan.  They are key to the realization of the Prime Minister’s commitments, through the Poverty Alleviation Programme – ‘Ehsaas’ -  to reduce inequality, invest in people and lift the lagging districts”.

Ms. Khawar Mumtaz reminded participants that “Important milestones have been achieved in Pakistan over the past years, in terms of legislation to recognize the rights of women and girls.  Progress on the Government’s agenda for the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) now requires the full implementation of these legislations. Women’s Rights Organizations have a key role to play in helping the Government build awareness and support for their full implementation, monitoring and evaluation.”

Pakistan’s Women’s Rights Organizations (WROs) have a rich history of building awareness, and support among the public and law makers for legislative reform to address crimes such as rape, sexual harassment, acid throwing and “honor killings”.  The objective of Women’s Voice and Leadership Pakistan is to better equip existing WROs to work collectively towards further change so that women and girls can fully realize their rights, and reach their full potential in society. Areas where support will be provided include enhanced literacy, preventing early and forced marriages, improved nutrition, reduced maternal mortality rate, combatting gender-based violence and fostering women’s economic and political participation.

Recognizing the important role that national and provincial commissions on the status of women play in advancing gender equality across Pakistan and at various levels, Women’s Voice and Leadership Pakistan Initiative will ensure both inclusiveness and respect for diversity.

High Commissioner Wendy Gilmour said, “Canada is thrilled to launch this flagship initiative building on our significant engagement over decades in support of women’s rights in Pakistan.”

“Oxfam in Pakistan is committed to a women’s rights agenda that includes supporting the work and voices of WROs” said Mohammad Qazilbash at the round-table. “They are key to catalyzing change towards greater progress for women in Pakistan.  They need opportunities to grow their capacity to manage and sustain themselves. They know their context and constituencies best and, as such, are best placed with the Government to determine and deliver the programs and advocacy that address the challenges facing women in Pakistan. ”

Notes to Editors:

  • In 2018, according to the World Economic Forum, Pakistan ranks 148 out of 149 countries in the WEF Global Gender Gap Index.
  • Pakistan is one of the few countries in the world with a negative sex ratio with 100 women to 108.5 men.
  • Evidence shows that strong women’s rights and feminist organization and movements are fundamental to catalyzing change towards gender equality.
  • Canada announced the Women’s Voice and Leadership Program as part of its Feminist International Assistance Policy in June 2017 to respond to the needs of local women’s organizations in developing countries.

-30-

For further information, media representatives may contact:
Amina Sarwar
Public Affairs Officer, High Commission of Canada
051-208-6217
amina.sarwar@international.gc.ca

Le Canada poursuit une tradition de 30 ans en faveur de la promotion des organisations de défense des droits de la femme au Pakistan.

Communiqué de presse

Le 23 mai, 2019

Islamabad : Le Haut-commissariat du Canada se réjouit de lancer une Initiative quinquennale Women’s Voice and Leadership Pakistan (Voix et leadership des femmes au Pakistan) à l’occasion d’une conférence de presse et d’un échange à Islamabad, le 23 mai, 2019. 

L’Initiative Women’s Voice and Leadership Pakistan contribuera à améliorer les politiques, la législation, les services et les mécanismes, et avec un impact sur les croyances et les pratiques sociales qui favorisent l’égalité des sexes. Avec un budget de 8 millions de dollars canadiens, le projet est un élément central de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada. Il s’appuie sur une tradition solide de 30 ans de coopération du Canada avec les organisations pakistanaises de défense des droits de la femme pour faire progresser les droits des femmes et des filles.

La table ronde a été organisée par la Haute-Commissaire du Canada, Madame Wendy Gilmour et le partenaire opérationnel du projet, Oxfam Pakistan, représentée par le Directeur du pays, Mohammad Qazilbash.

Le Canada se sent honoré que Madame Khawar Mumtaz, la présidente de la Commission nationale sur le statut de la femme ait accepté de présider la table ronde et que l’adjointe spéciale du Premier ministre sur la Protection sociale et la réduction de la pauvreté, la Docteure Sania Nishtar ait participé en tant qu’invitée d’honneur.

Selon la Docteure Nishtar, « La promotion des droits des femmes et l’émancipation des femmes sont essentiels pour réduire la pauvreté au Pakistan. Ces facteurs jouent un rôle clé dans la réalisation des engagements du Premier ministre, à travers le Programme de réduction de la pauvreté – ‘Ehsaas’ – pour réduire les inégalités, investir dans les personnes et aider les districts en retard ».

Madame Khawar Mumtaz a rappelé aux participants : « En ce qui concerne la législation qui permet la reconnaissance des droits des femmes et des filles, d’importantes étapes ont été franchies au Pakistan ces dernières années. L’avancement du programme du gouvernement permettant d’atteindre les Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) exige désormais l’application complète de ces lois. Les organisations de défense des droits de la femme jouent un rôle clé pour aider le gouvernement à sensibiliser et à soutenir la mise en œuvre intégrale, le suivi et l’évaluation des lois. »

Les Organisations pakistanaises de défense des droits de la femme  (ODDF) ont une riche histoire en faveur des actions de sensibilisation et elles sont soutenues par l’opinion publique et par des législateurs pour la réforme de la loi contre les crimes tels que le viol, le harcèlement sexuel, l’attaque à l’acide, et les « crimes d’honneur ». La Women’s Voice and Leadership Pakistan se donne l’objectif de mieux équiper les ODDF à  travailler collectivement vers le changement pour que les femmes et  les filles puissent jouir de  leurs droits et qu’elles puissent s’épanouir dans la société. L’aide sera accordée dans les domaines de l’alphabétisation, la prévention des mariages précoces et forcés, l’amélioration de la nutrition, la réduction du taux de mortalité maternelle, la lutte contre la violence fondée sur le genre et la promotion de la participation économique et politique des femmes.

En reconnaissant le rôle important des commissions nationales et provinciales du statut de la femme dans la promotion de l’égalité entre les genres à travers le Pakistan et à divers niveaux, la  Women’s Voice and Leadership Pakistan Initiative garantira l’inclusion et le respect de la diversité.

La Haute-Commissaire Wendy Gilmour a annoncé : « Le Canada se réjouit de lancer cette initiative phare en s’appuyant sur notre engagement significatif au cours des décennies de soutien apporté aux droits des femmes aux Pakistan. »

« Oxfam au Pakistan s’est engagée à la cause des droits des femmes qui comprend le soutien au travail et aux voix des ODDF » a déclaré Mohammad Qazilbash à la table ronde. « Elles sont essentielles au changement vers le plus grand progrès des femmes. Elles ont besoin d’opportunités d’améliorer leur capacité de gestion et de développer leurs autonomies. Elles connaissent le mieux leur contexte et leurs circonscriptions et, par conséquent, elles sont les mieux placées avec le gouvernement pour développer et exécuter les programmes et des plaidoyers pour relever les défis auxquels sont confrontées les femmes au Pakistan. »

Notes aux rédacteurs:

  • En 2018, le Pakistan est au 148e rang sur 149 dans l'indice mondial des écarts de genre du Forum économique mondial.
  • Le Pakistan est l'un des rares pays au monde avec un rapport des sexes au négatif, 100 femmes pour 108,5 hommes.
  • Les faits montrent que des organisations et des mouvements forts féministes et ceux de défense des droits de la femme sont fondamentaux pour faciliter un changement vers l'égalité des sexes.
  • Le Canada a annoncé le programme Voix des femmes et leadership dans le cadre de sa Politique d'aide internationale féministe en juin 2017 pour répondre aux besoins des organisations féminines locales dans les pays en développement.

-30-

Pour plus d'informations, les représentants des médias peuvent contacter:
Amina Sarwar
Agente des relations publiques, Haut-commissariat du Canada
Tel: 0312-5190383
Amina.Sarwar@international.gc.ca