Message from the Ambassador

As a Latina-Canadian, I am honoured to have been named Canada’s Ambassador to Panama and to have the opportunity to bring together the best of Canadian and Panamanian culture and values to promote mutually beneficial strong partnerships and lasting friendship between our two countries.

Panama occupies a unique position within Latin America. Blessed by its strategic location and distinguished by its proud history, biological and cultural diversity, it is often referred to as the “Gateway” of the Americas and widely recognized for its tolerance, security and innovation.

Today, Panama is one of the fastest growing economies in Latin America as well as an international locus for free trade, investment and finance.  In recent decades, Panama has also emerged as a champion for democratic governance, human rights and regional stability.  More recently, the country has achieved important reductions in poverty and has pursued a National Agenda for Gender Equality at the same time and has increased its efforts to improve access to infrastructure by the Comarca indigenous communities.

Canada and Panama have enjoyed strong diplomatic relations since 1961. We are like-minded regional partners who share fundamental values of democratic governance, respect for diversity and social inclusion.  We are not only close allies in global fora and regional platforms, but we are both also strong advocates of free and open trade and a compassionate rules-based international system.  Building on these shared values, I look forward to us working closely together towards further strengthening democratic and transparent institutions, fostering inclusive growth and promote gender equality.

Important milestones in our bilateral relations include the 2013 Panama-Canada Free Trade Agreement, signed in 2013, our expanding educational and business linkages, increased collaboration on regional migration and security issues, and the plethora of exchanges that we nurture between our governments, businesses and citizens. Canadian companies are increasingly establishing a presence and contributing to Panama’s dynamic economy, while a growing number of Canadians live in and invest in Panama and more and more Panamanians are choosing Canada as a place to study, visit and work.

These diverse collaborative efforts are possible thanks to the knowledgeable and committed professional staff in the Canadian Embassy who work tirelessly to strengthen the bonds that benefits both of our nations. We invite you to visit the Canadian Embassy website to learn more about opportunities in Canada.

As a Canadian, we hope you will consider registering with the Embassy and as a Panamanian, we hope you will follow us on social media and learn more about our various initiatives here in Panama and what Canada has to offer.

Sincerely,

Lilly Nicholls (Ambassador) and the Canadian Embassy Team

Message de l’Ambassadrice

En tant que Latino-Canadienne, je suis honorée d’avoir été nommée ambassadrice du Canada au Panama et d’avoir l’occasion de réunir le meilleur des cultures et des valeurs canadiennes et panaméennes de façon à promouvoir des partenariats solides et des amitiés durables entre nos deux pays.

Le Panama occupe une position privilégiée en Amérique latine. Favorisé par son emplacement stratégique, le pays se distingue non seulement par son passé glorieux, mais aussi par sa diversité biologique et culturelle. Il est souvent qualifié de « porte d’entrée » des Amériques et communément reconnu pour sa tolérance, sa sécurité et son esprit d’innovation.

Aujourd’hui, le Panama figure parmi les économies les plus dynamiques d’Amérique latine; il a pour vocation internationale le libre-échange, l’investissement et les finances. Ces dernières décennies, le Panama s’est révélé un promoteur de la gouvernance démocratique, des droits de la personne et de la stabilité régionale. Plus récemment, le pays a su réduire considérablement la pauvreté. Il a en outre mis en place un programme national pour l’égalité des sexes et déployé des efforts importants en vue d’améliorer l’accès à l’infrastructure pour les collectivités des territoires autochtones ou comarcas.

Le Canada et le Panama entretiennent des relations diplomatiques solides depuis 1961. Nous sommes des partenaires régionaux qui prônons les mêmes valeurs fondamentales que sont la gouvernance démocratique, la tolérance, le respect de la diversité et l’inclusion sociale. Outre le fait d’être de proches alliés dans les instances mondiales et les plateformes régionales, nous sommes aussi d’ardents défenseurs de la libéralisation et de l’ouverture du commerce et d’un système international humanitaire fondé sur des règles. Dans le prolongement de ces valeurs communes, je me réjouis à l’idée que nous collaborerons en vue de renforcer des institutions démocratiques et transparentes, de favoriser la croissance inclusive et de promouvoir l’égalité des sexes et l’inclusion.

Parmi les événements marquants dans nos relations bilatérales, mentionnons l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Panama conclu en 2013, le resserrement de nos liens en éducation et en affaires, notre coopération accrue en matière de migration régionale et de sécurité, de même que la multitude d’échanges qu’entretiennent nos gouvernements, nos entreprises et nos citoyens. Les entreprises canadiennes accentuent leur présence et contribuent à la vitalité économique du Panama, tandis qu’un nombre grandissant de Canadiens y vivent et y investissent. Les Panaméens sont de plus en plus nombreux à choisir le Canada pour y étudier, y séjourner et y travailler.

Ces divers efforts conjoints ont été rendus possibles grâce au professionnalisme et à la compétence du personnel de l’ambassade du Canada, qui s’efforce sans relâche de renforcer les liens profitables qui unissent nos deux pays.

Nous vous invitons à consulter le site Web de l’ambassade du Canada pour vous renseigner sur les débouchés offerts au Canada. En tant que Canadienne, j’espère que vous envisagerez de vous inscrire à l’ambassade et, comme Panaméenne, que vous nous suivrez sur les médias sociaux pour en savoir plus sur nos diverses initiatives ici au Panama et sur les possibilités que le Canada propose.

Cordialement,

Lilly Nicholls (ambassadrice) et l’équipe de l’ambassade du Canada