Canada - Bolivia Relations

Canada and Bolivia have enjoyed official diplomatic bilateral relations since 1961. The Embassy of Canada to Peru is cross-accredited to Bolivia. Canada also has an Embassy (Program office) in La Paz which focuses on development cooperation and Consular assistance. The two Embassies have been working to expand and strengthen cooperation in development, Indigenous issues, the environment, responsible resource management, commercial relations, educational exchanges and people-to-people ties. Bolivia is represented in Canada by the Embassy of the Plurinational State of Bolivia in Ottawa and maintains Consulates General in Montreal, Vancouver, Edmonton and Quebec City.

Canada's development assistance is a key component of the bilateral relationship. Canada's bilateral development program is aligned with Bolivia’s national plan for social and economic development 2015-2020, and its priorities of poverty eradication, health and sustainable economic growth. Canada’s development cooperation projects benefitting Bolivia, through all channels, amount on average to over $15 million per year. In addition, Canada invests in multilateral organizations and funds benefitting Bolivia. Current development programming is focused on women’s rights, sexual and reproductive health and rights, and inclusive green growth. The majority of initiatives work to a significant degree with Indigenous communities. Canadian NGOs are particularly active in the country and around 100 Canadian technical experts share expertise with Bolivia every year.

In 2017, bilateral trade between Canada and Bolivia totaled $328.27 million. Canadian exports totaled $53.92 million (mainly in vehicles, machinery, paper products, scientific and precision instruments and chemical products). Canadian imports totaled $274.35 million (mainly in mineral ores, metals and precious stones and vegetables).

For more information on Canadian development programming in Bolivia, including a list of projects and stories from the field, please visit the Government of Canada’s web site.

For information on the work of the Trade Commissioner Service in Bolivia, please visit the Trade Commissioner site.

May 2018

Relations Canada - Bolivie

Depuis 1961, le Canada et la Bolivie entretiennent une relation officielle diplomatique bilatérale. L’ambassade du Canada au Pérou est accréditée en Bolivie. Le Canada a également une ambassade (Bureau du programme) à La Paz qui met l’emphase sur la coopération au développement et l'assistance consulaire. Les deux ambassades s’emploient à élargir et à renforcer la coopération en matière de développement, les questions autochtones, l'environnement, la gestion responsable des ressources, les relations commerciales, les échanges éducatifs et les relations interpersonnelles.

L'aide canadienne au développement est un élément clé de la relation bilatérale. Le programme de développement bilatéral du Canada appuie le plan national de développement social et économique de la Bolivie pour 2015-2020 et ses priorités d'éradication de la pauvreté, de santé et de croissance économique durable. La somme de tous les montants acheminés par divers mécanismes qui sont dédiés à des projets de coopération au développement du Canada bénéficiant à la Bolivie, atteint plus de 15 millions de dollars par année, en moyenne. De plus, le Canada investit dans des organisations multilatérales et des fonds qui profitent à la Bolivie. Les programmes de développement actuels sont axés sur les droits des femmes, la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs, et la croissance verte inclusive. La majorité des initiatives fonctionnent de façon significative avec les communautés autochtones. Les ONG canadiennes sont particulièrement actives dans le pays et environ 100 experts techniques canadiens partagent leur expertise avec la Bolivie chaque année.

En 2017, les échanges bilatéraux entre le Canada et la Bolivie ont totalisé 328,27 millions de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes ont atteint 53,92 millions de dollars (principalement dans les véhicules, les machines, les produits de papier, les instruments scientifiques et de précision et les produits chimiques). Les importations canadiennes en provenance de la Bolivie ont quant a elles totalisé 274,35 millions de dollars (principalement en minerais, métaux, pierres précieuses et légumes).

Pour de plus amples informations sur le programme canadien de développement en Bolivie, y compris une liste de projets et d'histoires sur le terrain, veuillez visiter le site web du Gouvernement du Canada .

Pour de plus amples informations sur le travail du Service des délégués commerciaux en Bolivie, veuillez visiter le site des Service des délégués commerciaux.

Mai 2018