Education: Working in Teams

Many Peruvian scholarship holders will have access to excellent education in Canada, thanks to recent agreements and the joint work of both countries in recent years.  Peru and Canada are certainly experiencing an excellent phase of cooperation in education, which promises to create many more initiatives in the future.

During the visit of President Humala to Canada in April, both governments issued a joint statement highlighting advances achieved in a range of sectors, including social security, defence, security, cooperation and education.  Has interest in education grown?

"A lot" replies Andrea Voto-Bernales, Education Officer at the Canadian Embassy in Peru.  "During the last few years, both countries have increased their emphasis on education", she added.

For example, Canada has been chosen as a host country for Peruvian students under the "Presidente de la República" post-graduate scholarship program of the National Scholarship and Student Loan Program (Programa Nacional de Becas y Crédito Educativo - PRONABEC).

Canada is an excellent study destination. It offers high-quality education at affordable prices.

 
 

Another example is the recent agreement signed between the CALDO consortium and PRONABEC, which enables Peruvian scholarship holders to access the nine Canadian universities in the consortium.

"The Canadian government regularly invites representatives from Peruvian institutes and universities to participate in collaborative missions to Canada in order for them to establish links with their Canadian counterparts.  These agreements enable more Peruvians to benefit from the Beca para Líderes Emergentes de las Américas (Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program - ELAP) and go to Canada for six months with all expenses covered", emphasized Voto-Bernales.

She also stressed the success of the annual education fair organized by the Embassy, which showcases the education opportunities that Canada has to offer and promotes collaboration between institutions in both countries. 

(This article was produced by the Canadian Embassy in Peru and published by the Canada-Peru Chamber of Commerce’s magazine, Dialogue)

Education: Travail en équipe

Grâce aux accords récents, de nombreux chercheurs péruviens ont accès à une excellente éducation au Canada. Ces avantages sont le résultat des efforts conjoints des deux pays au cours des dernières années. Sans aucun doute, le Pérou et le Canada vivent actuellement une grande étape dans la coopération de l'éducation qui promet de générer beaucoup plus de projets à l'avenir.

Dans une déclaration conjointe publiée le 10 avril après la visite du président Ollanta Humala au Canada, les deux gouvernements ont souligné les progrès réalisés, en particulier en matière de sécurité sociale, la défense et la sécurité et la coopération en éducation. A-t-il augmenté l’intérêt pour l’éducation?

«Beaucoup», confirme Andrea Voto-Bernales, coordinatrice d'éducation de l’Ambassade du Canada au Pérou. "Au cours des dernières années, l'éducation a reçu plus d'impulsion de la part des deux pays."

Comme exemple, le Canada a été nommé le pays d’accueil des étudiants péruviens dans le cadre du programme des bourses d'études supérieures «Président de la République» du Programme national de bourses et de prêts aux étudiants (Pronabec). Cette initiative, annoncée en début d’avril, favorise le développement de maitrises dans les différents domaines.

Au Pérou, le Canada est considéré comme une excellente destination académique, car il offre un haut niveau de formation à des frais abordables.

 
 

Un autre exemple récent est l'accord entre le consortium CALDO et Pronabec pour que les boursiers péruviens puissent accéder aux neuf universités canadiennes regroupées par l'association, toutes considérées parmi les meilleures au monde dans le domaine de recherche.

"Le gouvernement du Canada invite régulièrement les représentants des universités et des instituts péruviens à une mission de collaboration au Canada pour établir des liens avec leurs homologues canadiens. Ces accords permettent aux péruviens de profiter de la bourse des nouveaux leaders émergents et de faire un séjour  d’un semestre académique au Canada, tout payé», dit Voto-Bernales.

On souligne également le succès de la foire annuelle d’éducation organisée par l'ambassade. Elle permet d'afficher les offres académiques canadiennes et sert à développer des partenariats entre les institutions des deux pays.

(Cet article a été produit par l'Ambassade du Canada au Pérou et publié par Dialogue, la revue de la Chambre de Commerce Canada-Pérou)