Canadian musicians delight Peruvian audiences


Musicians Nadia Monczak and Steven Massicotte performing Chopin pieces at the American-Peruvian Cultural Institute.

During the holiday season, Polish-Canadian violinist Nadia Monczak and Canadian pianist Steven Massicotte visited Peru to give a series of concerts in Lima and Cajamarca.  

While in Lima, the duo performed at the end-of-year recital of the Inca Garcilaso Cultural Centre of the Peruvian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and organized a special Chopin concert co-hosted by the American-Peruvian Cultural Institute and the Polish Embassy. The musicians also travelled to the city of Cajamarca in northern Peru to perform classical pieces by international composers at the Mayo Cumbe arena and the Belén Church on New Year’s Eve.  

Both Nadia Monzcak and Steven Massicotte have won numerous competitions in North America and Europe. Nadia Monzcak is president of the Chopin Music Society of Montréal and has performed in several recitals and chamber music concerts in Canada, Poland, Mexico and the United States. Steven Massicotte is a member of the McGill Conservatory and has won several awards, such as the “Prix d’Europe” and the Joseph Rouleau award for best piano player at the Montréal International Music Competition.   

Canadian educational institutions are a top destination for music students around the world thanks to their wide range of competitive music-related programmes. To find out more about these programmes, please visit: www.educationau-incanada.ca

Des musiciens canadiens charment le public péruvien


Les musiciens Nadia Monczak et Steven Massicotte interprètent des pièces de Chopin à l’Institut culturel péruvien-américain.

Pendant les célébrations du temps des fêtes, la violoniste polonaise-canadienne Nadia Monczak et le pianiste canadien Steven Massicotte ont visité le Pérou pour donner une série des concerts à Lima et Cajamarca.

À Lima, le duo a participé au récital de fin d’année du Centre Culturel Inca Garcilaso du Ministère des Affaires étrangères et a donné un concert dédié à Chopin, co-organisé par l’Institut culturel péruvien-américain et l’Ambassade de Pologne. Les musiciens ont également visité la ville de Cajamarca, au nord du Pérou, pour présenter des pièces classiques de compositeurs internationaux au stade Mayo Cumbe et à l’Église Belén, pendant la Saint-Sylvestre.

Nadia Monzcak et Steven Massicotte ont gagné de nombreuses compétitions en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. Nadia Monzcak est la présidente de la Société musicale de Chopin à Montréal et a joué dans plusieurs récitals et concerts de musique de chambre au Canada, en Pologne, au Mexique et aux États-Unis. Steven Massicotte est membre du Conservatoire de McGill et a remporté plusieurs prix, dont le « Prix d’Europe » et le prix Joseph Rouleau pour le meilleur pianiste au Concours Musical International de Montréal. 

Le Canada est une destination de prédilection pour les étudiants de musique du monde entier, pour ses institutions présentant des programmes en études musicales exceptionnels et de notoriété internationale. Pour de plus amples informations sur ces programmes, veuillez visiter le site web: www.educationau-incanada.ca.