Canada supports vocational training in Peru


Chargé d’affaires of the Canadian Embassy, Michael Pawsey, participating at the conference.

In February, the Canadian Embassy participated in the conference “Education and Employment for National Development” (available in Spanish only) an event organised within the framework of the Education for Employment project.

This initiative, implemented by the Association of Canadian Community Colleges, Peru’s Ministry of Education and Ministry of Labour, with the support of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development of Canada, aims at strengthening institutions delivering technical-vocational training to young Peruvians at a regional and national level. This programme seeks to give students better access to practical, vocational education services that will, in turn, open up better professional development opportunities for them.

The conference “Education and Employment for National Development” brought together for the first time stakeholders from the education and employment sectors of all regions of Peru so that they could participate in a series of workshops related to peer-learning, skill-development and the strengthening of institutional links.

During this event, Michael Pawsey, Chargé of the Canadian Embassy, highlighted that “Canada wishes to encourage the efficient integration of young Peruvians into the labour market so that they can contribute towards the economic growth and prosperity of Peru.” He added that “this commitment to education is also at the heart of the Pacific Alliance. The participation of both Peru and Colombia in this project reflects this line of action.”

Employment for Education contributes more than $20 million Canadian dollars to the strengthening of economic productivity in three countries of the Andean region: Bolivia, Colombia and Peru. This initiative is part of the Canadian government’s efforts in supporting sustainable economic development by investing in people in Peru and in the Americas.

For more information on Education for Employment, please visit the international cooperation project database of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development and the Association of Canadian Colleges’ website.


Participants of the “Education and Employment for National Development” conference.
 
 

Simeon McKay, First Secretary (Cooperation) and Michael Pawsey, Chargé d’affaires of the Canadian Embassy with Sylvain Goudreau, ACCC representative.

Le Canada encourage la formation professionnelle au Pérou


Le Chargé d’affaires de l’Ambassade du Canada, Michael Pawsey, lors de la conférence.

En février, l'ambassade du Canada a participé à la conférence nationale «Éducation et emploi pour le développement du pays» (disponible en espagnol seulement), organisée dans le cadre du projet Education pour l'emploi.

Cette initiative, mise en œuvre par l'Association des collèges communautaires du Canada, le Ministère de l’éducation et le Ministère du travail du Pérou, sous les auspices du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du commerce et du développement du Canada, vise à renforcer les institutions qui offrent une formation professionnelle aux niveaux régional et national pour les jeunes péruviens. À travers ce programme, l’on vise à améliorer l'accès aux services de formation professionnelle et d’emploi pour les jeunes au Pérou, en leur offrant des meilleures possibilités de carrière.

La conférence « Éducation et emploi pour le développement du pays» a rassemblé pour la première fois, des groupes d'intérêt en éducation et en emploi de toutes les régions du Pérou pour faires des sessions d’inter-apprentissage, renforcement des capacités et des liens inter-institutionnels.

Lors de cet atelier, M. Michael Pawsey, Chargé d'affaires de l’Ambassade, a relevé que «le Canada est intéressé à encourager les jeunes Péruviens à s’intégrer efficacement au marché du travail, afin qu'ils puissent contribuer à la croissance économique et la prospérité du Pérou". Il a ajouté que "cet engagement à l'éducation est d'une importance vitale dans l'Alliance du Pacifique. La participation du Pérou et de la Colombie dans ce projet reflète cette directive."

Le projet Éducation pour l'emploi dispose d'un fonds de plus de $20 millions de dollars canadiens pour le renforcement de la productivité économique dans trois pays de la région andine: la Bolivie, la Colombie et le Pérou. Cette initiative fait partie des efforts déployés par le gouvernement canadien afin de soutenir le développement économique durable en investissant dans les gens, au Pérou et dans les Amériques.

Pour plus d'informations sur Éducation pour l’emploi, veuillez visiter la base de données des projets du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du commerce et du développement et le site web de l'Association des collèges communautaires du Canada.


Les participants de la conférence « Éducation et emploi pour le développement du pays ».
 
 

Simeon McKay. Premier secrétaire (Coopération) et Michael Pawsey, Chargé d’affaires de l’Ambassade du Canada avec Sylvain Goudreau, représentant d’ACCC.