Canada-Philippines Relations

Canada’s Embassy in the Philippines is located in Makati City (Metro Manila). We also maintain a consulate in Cebu City.

The Philippines is represented in Canada by an Embassy in Ottawa and also maintains three consulates-general in Calgary, Toronto and Vancouver. It has honourary consular offices in Edmonton, Winnipeg, St. John's, Charlottetown and Halifax.

Bilateral Relations

With diplomatic relations beginning in 1949, Canada and the Philippines marked their 70th year of strong and friendly bilateral relations in 2019.

The national interests of both countries align on many issues, which have resulted in regular collaboration in the multilateral system, such as ASEAN, United Nations, Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, and the World Trade Organization. Canada supports efforts by the Philippines to advance inclusive and accountable governance, diversity, human rights, and the rule of law. Our countries work closely to maintain international peace and security. Joint efforts include responding to threats posed by international terrorist groups; discouraging the use of child soldiers by armed groups; combatting human smuggling and instances of online sexual exploitation of children; and improving biosecurity.

Ever-increasing people-to-people links between Canada and the Philippines contribute to the growth of both societies. According to the 2016 census, over 837-thousand people of Philippine origin live in Canada, while a growing number of Filipino citizens visit family and friends in Canada, study at Canadian colleges and universities or immigrate to Canada. A significant number of Canadians visit the Philippines each year for tourism, work, and family visits.   

Political and Economic Overview

The Philippines is a vibrant and developed democracy in Southeast Asia. Consisting of over 7000 islands, they cover almost 300-thousand square kilometres of land and have a population of approximately 110 million. The country is predominantly Christian Catholic with a minority Muslim population and a growing evangelical presence. The official languages of the Philippines are Filipino and English.

The economy of the Philippines is the 39th largest in the world, and is the 4th largest economy in Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) after Indonesia, Thailand, and Singapore. It enjoys strong economic, democratic, and demographic fundamentals.

Trade and Investment

In 2018, Canada-Philippines bilateral merchandise trade totalled $2.43 billion, up from $2.24 billion in 2017. Canadian merchandise exports to the Philippines in 2018 amounted to $979.1 million, up from $842.5 million in 2017. Top exports include aerospace products, wood products, meat, and iron ore. In 2018, Canadian merchandise imports from the Philippines were valued at $1.5 billion, up slightly from $1.39 billion in the previous year. Gains were led by articles of copper, nuclear machinery, and toys and games.

Canada’s commercial activity in the Philippines includes a long-standing presence in the insurance sector and a limited presence in the extractive industry, while new business activity is occurring in the environmental services sector, including clean-tech, and the ICT sector. Canada’s stock in direct investments abroad in the Philippines in 2018 was approximately $2.1 billion. In addition, given mutual commercial interests and strong people-to-people ties, Canada has also become an attractive destination for investors from the Philippines.

Development

Canada’s International Assistance Program in the Philippines is focused on the thematic priorities of Growth that Works for Everyone and Gender Equality and Women’s Empowerment – disbursing $17.5 million in 2017-2018. By maintaining a strong focus on women and girls, Canada has an enhanced presence and leadership position promoting gender equality and is well placed to continue supporting implementation of the Feminist International Assistance Policy and Sustainable Development Goals in the Philippines. Canada also supports the Philippines in relief efforts following natural disasters.

The Embassy of Canada in the Philippines also manages the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI), a competitive grants program that provides direct funding assistance to Philippine organizations implementing local projects. In fiscal year 2019-2020, CFLI is supporting projects that will advance a number of priority themes, including the empowerment of women’s political leaders in jurisdictions across the country, the promotion of sustainable and peaceful pluralism in Mindanao, the reduction of instances of sexual and gender-based violence and discrimination, the improvement of access to the judicial system for marginalized groups, and developing mechanisms to improve the accountability of local governments. The Embassy has also contributed to promoting a free and responsible press in the Philippines for over twenty years through its Marshall McLuhan Fellowship Award, which recognizes the country’s leading journalists.

September 2019

Relations Canada-Philippines

L’ambassade du Canada aux Philippines est située à Makati (région métropolitaine de Manille). Le Canada a également un consulat à Cebu.

Les Philippines sont représentées au Canada par une ambassade à Ottawa et trois consulats généraux à Calgary, Toronto et Vancouver. Le pays a des bureaux consulaires honoraires à Edmonton, Winnipeg, St. John’s, Charlottetown et Halifax.

Relations bilatérales

Les relations diplomatiques entre les deux pays ont débuté en 1949. Le Canada et les Philippines célèbrent donc 70 ans de relations bilatérales solides et amicales en 2019.

Les intérêts nationaux des deux pays convergent sur de nombreuses questions, ce qui a donné lieu à une collaboration régulière au sein du système multilatéral, comme l’ANASE, les Nations Unies, le Forum de coopération économique Asie-Pacifique et l’Organisation mondiale du commerce. Le Canada appuie les efforts déployés par les Philippines pour promouvoir une gouvernance inclusive et responsable, la diversité, les droits de la personne et la primauté du droit. Les deux pays travaillent en étroite collaboration pour maintenir la paix et la sécurité dans le monde, notamment pour ce qui est de répondre aux menaces posées par les groupes terroristes internationaux, de décourager le recours aux enfants soldats par les groupes armés, de lutter contre la migration clandestine et l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants en ligne et d’améliorer la sûreté biologique.

Les liens de plus en plus étroits entre le Canada et les Philippines contribuent à la croissance des deux pays. Selon le recensement de 2016, plus de 837 000 personnes d’origine philippine vivent au Canada, et un nombre croissant de citoyens des Philippines visitent des membres de leur famille et des amis au Canada, étudient dans des collèges et universités du pays ou immigrent au Canada. Par ailleurs, un nombre important de Canadiens se rendent aux Philippines chaque année à des fins touristiques, pour travailler ou pour visiter de la famille.   

Aperçu de la situation politique et économique

Les Philippines sont un pays démocratique établi de l’Asie du Sud-Est. Composées de plus de 7 000 îles, elles couvrent près de 300 000 kilomètres carrés de terres et comptent une population d’environ 110 millions d’habitants. Ceux-ci sont principalement de religion chrétienne catholique. Le pays compte aussi une population musulmane minoritaire, et les évangéliques y sont de plus en plus nombreux. Les langues officielles des Philippines sont le philippin et l’anglais.

L’économie des Philippines est classée 39e au monde et constitue la 4e économie en importance de l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) après l’Indonésie, la Thaïlande et Singapour. Le pays peut compter sur une économie vigoureuse, de solides assises démocratiques et une population en croissance.

Commerce et investissement

En 2018, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et les Philippines s’élevait à 2,43 milliards de dollars, alors qu’il représentait 2,24 milliards de dollars l’année précédente. En 2018, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers les Philippines totalisaient 979,1 millions de dollars, soit une hausse par rapport à 2017, année où elles se chiffraient à 842,5 millions de dollars. Les principales exportations du Canada sont notamment les produits aérospatiaux, les produits du bois, la viande et le minerai de fer. En 2018, les importations canadiennes de marchandises en provenance des Philippines étaient évaluées à 1,5 milliard de dollars, une légère hausse par rapport à l’année précédente, où elles se chiffraient à 1,39 milliard de dollars. Les gains ont été réalisés grâce à l’importation accrue d’articles en cuivre, d’équipements nucléaires, de jouets et de jeux.

Pour ce qui est des activités commerciales canadiennes aux Philippines, mentionnons une présence de longue date d’entreprises dans le secteur de l’assurance et une présence limitée dans l’industrie extractive. On constate de nouvelles activités commerciales dans le secteur des services liés à l’environnement, y compris les technologies propres et les TIC. En 2018, les investissements directs du Canada aux Philippines s’élevaient à environ 2,1 milliards de dollars. De plus, étant donné les intérêts commerciaux communs et les liens étroits entre les deux peuples, le Canada est également devenu une destination de choix pour les investisseurs des Philippines.

Aide au développement

Le Programme d’aide internationale du Canada aux Philippines, de l’ordre de 17,5 millions de dollars en 2017-2018, est axé sur les thèmes prioritaires suivants : une croissance qui profite à tout le monde et l’égalité des sexes et l’autonomisation des femmes. En continuant de mettre l’accent sur les femmes et les filles, le Canada renforce sa présence et sa position de chef de file dans la promotion de l’égalité entre les sexes et est bien placé pour continuer d’appuyer la mise en œuvre de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe et des Objectifs de développement durable aux Philippines. Le Canada appuie également les Philippines dans leurs missions de secours à la suite de catastrophes naturelles.

L’ambassade du Canada aux Philippines gère également le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL), un programme concurrentiel de subventions qui fournit une aide financière directe aux organismes philippins pour la mise en œuvre de projets locaux. Au cours de l’exercice 2019-2020, le FCIL appuiera des projets qui feront progresser un certain nombre de thèmes prioritaires, notamment l’autonomisation des dirigeantes politiques des divers ordres de gouvernement du pays, la promotion d’un pluralisme durable et pacifique à Mindanao, la réduction des cas de violence et de discrimination sexuelles et sexistes, un meilleur accès au système judiciaire pour les groupes marginalisés et la mise au point de mécanismes pour améliorer la responsabilité des administrations locales. Depuis plus de vingt ans, l’ambassade contribue également à la promotion d’une presse libre et responsable aux Philippines par l’entremise de son Prix du Mérite Marshall McLuhan, qui récompense les meilleurs journalistes du pays.

Septembre 2019