Message from the Ambassador

Ambassador Lisa Rice Madan

Welcome to the website of the Embassy of Canada to the Portuguese Republic. It is my honour to represent Canada in Portugal.

Diplomatic relations between Canada and Portugal were officially established in 1946, formalizing a long history of interactions extending back to the XVIth century. Our relationship continues to flourish today. We are like-minded partners on significant global issues, including human rights and gender equality, as well as climate change and oceans management. We also work well together in multilateral contexts, including in peacekeeping operations in Africa, and both countries are strong supporters of a rule-based international order. Mutually beneficial trade in goods and services and job-creating investments, boosted by the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement, further underpin our bilateral relationship.

Our substantial people-to-people bonds, built in large part by the Portuguese-Canadian communities across Canada, are today reinforced by these dynamic communities, the tens of thousands of Canadians living in Portugal, and the many tourists, students, businesspeople and family members who travel back and forth. I am particularly pleased that a new mobility arrangement for 18 to 35-year-olds will allow Portuguese youth to travel and work in Canada, while young Canadians will be able to do the same in Portugal, learning about each other´s culture and society while gaining valuable international experience.

Whether you are interested in doing business in Portugal, investing or studying in Canada, or visiting, I encourage you to explore our website. Canadians can learn more about the consular services, including passport and citizenship services, the Embassy and our Consulates in Ponta Delgada (Azores) and Faro (Algarve) provide. You will also find additional information on our bilateral relationship and our collaboration in multilateral institutions.

If you are a Canadian visiting, working or living in Portugal, please take a moment to register on-line at the Registration of Canadian Abroad webpage (https://travel.gc.ca/travelling/registration) so that we can contact you in the event of an emergency. 

I also invite you to follow the Embassy on Facebook (@CanadainPortugal) or me on Twitter (@LisaRiceMadan) to keep up-to-date on recent and upcoming events.  

Sincerely,

Lisa Rice Madan
Ambassador of Canada to Portugal

Message de l'Ambassadrice

Ambassador Lisa Rice Madan

Bienvenue sur le site Web de l'ambassade du Canada au Portugal. C’est un honneur pour moi de représenter le Canada auprès de la République portugaise.

Les relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et le Portugal ont été établies en 1946, officialisant une longue histoire d'interactions qui remonte au XVIe siècle. Notre relation continue de s'épanouir aujourd'hui. Nous partageons des points de vue similaires sur des enjeux mondiaux importants, notamment les droits de la personne et l'égalité des sexes, ainsi que les changements climatiques et la gestion des océans. Nous travaillons également ensemble au niveau multilatéral, y compris dans des opérations de maintien de la paix en Afrique, et nos deux pays sont de fervents partisans d'un ordre international fondé sur des règles. Le commerce des biens et des services mutuellement bénéfique et les investissements créateurs d'emplois, stimulés par l'Accord commercial et économique global, veiennent enrichir nos relations bilatérales.

Nos liens interpersonnels substantiels, établis en grande partie par les communautés canadiennes d'origine portugaise partout au Canada, sont renforcés aujourd´hui par ces communautés dynamiques, par les dizaines de milliers de Canadiens qui vivent au Portugal et par les nombreux touristes, étudiants, gens d'affaires et membres de leur famille qui voyagent dans les deux pays. Je suis particulièrement heureuse qu'une nouvelle entente de mobilité pour les jeunes de 18 à 35 ans permettra aux jeunes Portugais de voyager et de travailler au Canada, tandis que les jeunes Canadiens pourront faire de même au Portugal, en se familiarisant avec la société et la culture de leur pays de destination, tout en acquérant une expérience internationale précieuse.

Que vous soyez intéressés à faire des affaires au Portugal, à investir ou à étudier au Canada,, je vous encourage à visiter notre site Web. Les Canadiens peuvent en apprendre davantage sur les services consulaires, y compris les services de passeport et de citoyenneté, ainsi que sur l'ambassade et sur nos consulats à Ponta Delgada (Açores) et à Faro (Algarve). Vous trouverez également des informations complémentaires sur nos relations bilatérales et sur notre collaboration au sein des institutions multilatérales.

Si vous êtes un Canadien qui visite, travaille ou vit au Portugal, veuillez prendre quelques instants pour vous inscrire sur la page Web d’Inscription des Canadiens à l'étranger (https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager/inscription) afin que nous puissions vous contacter en cas d'urgence. 

Je vous invite également à suivre l’Ambassade sur Facebook (@CanadaauPortugal) et à me suivre sur Twitter (@LisaRiceMadan) pour être informés des événements récents et à venir. 

Cordialement,

Lisa Rice Madan
Ambassadrice du Canada au Portugal