Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

saudiarabia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada-Bahrain Relations

Canada enjoys positive relations with Bahrain. Canada and Bahrain collaborate on a broad range of issues related to regional security, trade and investment.  Defence ties are strong as Canadian Forces personnel are deployed to Bahrain as part of Combined Task Force 150, a multinational coalition based in Bahrain, responsible for naval maritime security and counter-terrorism in the Horn of Africa region.  From December 2016 to April 2017, Canada was in command of the Combined Task Force 150 and will assume command again in December 2018. Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Canada also has an Honorary Consul based in Manama.  Bahrain is represented in Canada by the Embassy in Washington, D.C.

Canada’s commercial relationship with Bahrain is modest but stable. In 2017, total bilateral trade was approximately $13 million, including $12.9 million in exports and $165,000 in imports. Bahrain is a member of the Gulf Cooperation Council and is considered an emerging market with specific opportunities for Canadian companies. Canadian companies doing business in Bahrain typically serve it as a secondary market from offices elsewhere in the Gulf.  

Bahrain’s economy has grown over the past 10 years due to its liberal economic policies and the long term outlook is positive.  Key sectors for Bahrain’s economy include oil, Islamic banking, retail, automotive, construction, agri-food, telecom, tourism, pharmaceuticals, and freight services. 

Looking to the future, the Economic Vision 2030 is a roadmap for making Bahrain a more sustainable, competitive and fair, with the aim of doubling household income by 2030.  

October 2018


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Footer

Date Modified:
2018-10-22

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

arabiesaoudite.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada-Bahreïn

Le Canada entretient des relations positives avec Bahreïn. Le Canada et Bahreïn collaborent sur un large éventail de questions liées à la sécurité régionale, au commerce et à l'investissement. Les liens en matière de défense sont solides, car des membres des Forces canadiennes sont déployés à Bahreïn dans le cadre de la Force opérationnelle multinationale 150, une coalition multinationale basée à Bahreïn responsable de la sécurité maritime et de la lutte antiterroriste dans la Corne de l'Afrique. De décembre 2016 à avril 2017, le Canada a commandé la Force opérationnelle multinationale 150, et il en reprendra le commandement en décembre 2018. Le Canada est représenté à Bahreïn par son ambassade à Riyad, en Arabie saoudite. Il a également un consul honoraire à Manama. Bahreïn est représenté au Canada par son ambassade à Washington, D.C., aux États-Unis.

Les relations commerciales du Canada avec Bahreïn sont modestes mais stables. En 2017, le commerce bilatéral total était d'environ 13 millions de dollars, dont 12,9 millions de dollars d'exportations et 165 000 dollars d'importations. Bahreïn est membre du Conseil de coopération du Golfe et est considéré comme un marché émergent offrant des possibilités particulières aux entreprises canadiennes. Bahreïn est un marché secondaire que les entreprises canadiennes qui abordent généralement à partir de bureaux situés ailleurs dans la région du Golfe.

L’économie de Bahreïn s’est accrue au cours des dix dernières années grâce à ses politiques économiques libérales et des perspectives à long terme positives. Les secteurs névralgiques de l’économie de Bahreïn sont ceux du pétrole, des services bancaires islamiques, du commerce de détail, de l’automobile, de la construction, de l’agroalimentaire, des télécommunications, du tourisme, des produits pharmaceutiques et de transport des marchandises.

La Vision économique 2030 est une feuille de route tournée vers l’avenir. Elle vise à faire de Bahreïn un pays plus durable, compétitif et équitable, dont le but est de doubler le revenu des ménages d'ici 2030.

Octobre 2018


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2018-10-22