Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

saudiarabia.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Canada-Yemen Relations

Canada maintains positive, yet limited bilateral relations with Yemen.  Canada recognizes the importance of regional stability, and supports efforts to protect Yemen’s recognized government, defend its territory and improve stability in Yemen.  Canada encourages all sides of the conflict to resume inclusive political dialogue and participate fully in the peace process.  Canada continues to call on all parties to the conflict to abide by their obligations under international humanitarian law. Canada is represented in Yemen by the Embassy of Canada in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.  Yemen maintains an embassy in Ottawa. 

Canada is a key contributor to the humanitarian response in Yemen.  In 2017, Canada provided $49.5 million in humanitarian funding to Yemen, ranking as the 7th largest single-country donor.  Canada contributes to humanitarian assistance to Yemen through various multilateral organizations such as the World Food Programme, the UN High Commissioner for Refugees and the International Committee of the Red Cross/Red Crescent.  Canada also supports Canadian non-governmental organizations working with the victims of armed conflicts and natural disasters as well as refugees in the region.

In 2017, total bilateral trade was approximately $116.8 million, including $103.2 million in exports and $13.5 million in imports.  Bilateral commercial relations between Canada and Yemen consisted primarily of Canadian exports of vehicles, aircraft, vegetables, live animals and animal products, electric machinery, and pharmaceutical products. Over half of imports from Yemen in 2017 were vegetables, iron and steel, electric machinery, and pharmaceutical products.  Due to the ongoing conflict, there are few opportunities for Canadian investment in Yemen.

October 2018


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page .

Footer

Date Modified:
2018-10-22

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

arabiesaoudite.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Relations Canada-Yémen

Le Canada entretient des relations bilatérales positives mais limitées avec le Yémen. Le Canada reconnaît l’importance de la stabilité régionale et appuie les efforts visant à protéger le gouvernement reconnu du Yémen, à défendre son territoire et à améliorer la stabilité du pays. Le Canada encourage toutes les parties au conflit à reprendre un dialogue politique inclusif et à participer pleinement au processus de paix. Le Canada continue d'appeler toutes les parties au conflit à respecter leurs obligations en vertu du droit international humanitaire. Le Canada est représenté au Yémen par son ambassade à Riyad, en Arabie saoudite. Le Yémen, pour sa part, a une ambassade à Ottawa.

Le Canada est un des principaux donateurs d’aide humanitaire au Yémen. En 2017, il a versé 49,5 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire au Yémen, se classant au 7e rang des plus importants donateurs à un seul pays. Le Canada contribue à l’aide humanitaire au Yémen par l’intermédiaire de diverses organisations multilatérales telles que le Programme alimentaire mondial, le Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés et le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge. Le Canada appuie également les organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes qui travaillent auprès des victimes des conflits armés et des catastrophes naturelles, ainsi que des réfugiés dans la région.

En 2017, le commerce total entre les deux pays s’est élevé à environ 116,8 millions de dollars, dont 103,2 millions de dollars d'exportations et 13,5 millions de dollars d'importations. Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Yémen consistaient principalement en des exportations canadiennes de véhicules, d’aéronefs, de légumes, d’animaux vivants et de produits animaux, de machines électriques et de produits pharmaceutiques. En 2017, plus de la moitié des importations en provenance du Yémen étaient des légumes, du fer et de l'acier, des machines électriques et des produits pharmaceutiques. En raison du conflit en cours, il existe peu de possibilités d’investissements canadiens au Yémen.

Octobre 2018


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2018-10-22