Canada - The Gambia Relations

Canada - Gambia Relations

Diplomatic Relations

Canada and The Gambia established diplomatic relations in 1966, soon after the country gained its independence in 1965. Relations between both countries are limited. Canada encourages The Gambia in the respect of human rights as well as responsible and inclusive governance. In The Gambia, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada in Dakar, in Senegal. The Gambia is represented in Canada by the Embassy of The Gambia in Washington D.C.

Trade Relations

Trade relations between Canada and The Gambia are modest. In 2018, the main Canadian merchandise exports to The Gambia include vehicles and equipment as well as animal products. The main Canadian merchandise imports from The Gambia are machinery, electricals and electronic equipment, animal products and food products. Bilateral merchandise trade amounted to $3.2 M. Exports were valued at $2.2 M and imports from The Gambia at only $1 M. To date, no commercial agreement exists between Canada and The Gambia.

Development and Humanitarian Assistance

In 2015-2016, total Canadian aid disbursements reached $2.62 million. In 2015-2016, the Canadian Fund for Local Initiatives of the Embassy of Canada in Dakar financed three projects on the prevention of child, early and forced marriage as well as on the question of gender in the media. See Project Browser for additional information on programming in The Gambia. 

Other Relevant Information

October 2018

Relations Canada - Gambie

Relations Canada - Gambie

Relations diplomatiques

Le Canada et la Gambie ont établi des relations diplomatiques en 1966, peu après l'indépendance du pays en 1965. Les relations entre les deux pays sont limitées. Le Canada encourage la Gambie à respecter les droits de la personne et à instaurer une gouvernance responsable et inclusive. Le Canada est représenté en Gambie par son ambassade à Dakar, au Sénégal. Pour sa part, la Gambie est représenté au Canada par son ambassade à Washington, D.C., aux États-Unis.

Relations commerciales

Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et la Gambie sont modestes. En 2018, les principales exportations canadiennes vers la Gambie incluent des matériaux de transport ainsi que des produits animaux. Les importations de la Gambie vers le Canada sont notamment constituées de produits de machinerie, électroniques et de mécanique, ainsi que des produits animaux et des produits alimentaires. Les échanges commerciaux ont atteint 3,2 millions de dollars, avec des exportations qui se chiffrent à 2,2 millions de dollars et des importations à 1 million de dollars. Jusqu’à aujourd’hui, il n’y a pas d’accord commercial entre le Canada et la Gambie.

Développement et aide humanitaire

En 2015-2016, le Canada a versé 2,62 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire à la Gambie. La même année, l'ambassade du Canada à Dakar a financé, par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales, trois projets sur la prévention des mariages d'enfants, précoces et forcés, ainsi que sur la question de l'égalité des genres dans les médias. Consultez la Banque de projets pour obtenir plus d’informations sur les programmes en Gambie.

Autre information pertinente

Octobre 2018