Canada - Guinea-Bissau Relations

Canada - Guinea-Bissau Relations

Diplomatic Relations

Canada and Guinea-Bissau established diplomatic relations in 1975. Following the military coup in 2012 which was promptly condemned by Canada, the diplomatic ties between the two countries were suspended by Canada. The democratic election of President M. José Maria Vaz in 2014 allowed the diplomatic relations to resume.

Canada in Guinea-Bissau

Canada does not have an official mission in Guinea-Bissau. The Canadian Embassy in Senegal has been responsible for representing Canada’s interests in Guinea-Bissau since 1976. Guinea-Bissau does not currently have any official mission in Canada. 

Common Memberships

Canada and Guinea-Bissau cooperate on various common issues as members of the United Nations (UN), the Francophonie and the World Trade Organisation (WTO). 

Trade Relations

Canada has a very modest trade relationship with Guinea-Bissau. Merchandise trade in 2017 was valued at $129,000 of which $107,000 were Canadian exports, mainly from the automotive and footwear industry.

Trade Agreements

Canada does not currently have any trade agreement with Guinea-Bissau. However, a Memorandum of Understanding on the Least Developed Countries Market Access Initiative was signed in 2003 between the Governments of Canada and Guinea-Bissau. 

Development and Humanitarian Assistance

Global Affairs Canada’s support mainly targeted projects promoting good governance, including support to civil society. See the Project Browser for additional information on programming. 

Other Relevant Information

October 2018

Relations Canada - Guinée-Bissau

Relations Canada - Guinée-Bissau

Relations diplomatiques

Le Canada et la Guinée-Bissau entretiennent des relations diplomatiques depuis 1975. Le Canada a suspendu ses relations diplomatiques avec le pays à la suite du coup d'État militaire de 2012, qu’il a promptement condamné. L'élection démocratique du président M. José Maria Vaz, en 2014, a mené à la reprise des relations diplomatiques.

Le Canada en Guinée-Bissau

Le Canada n'a pas de mission officielle en Guinée-Bissau. L’ambassade du Canada au Sénégal est chargée de représenter les intérêts du Canada en Guinée-Bissau depuis 1976. La Guinée-Bissau n’a actuellement aucune mission officielle au Canada.

Affiliations communes

Le Canada et la Guinée-Bissau collaborent sur divers dossiers en tant que membres des Nations Unies, de la Francophonie et de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce.

Relations commerciales

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Guinée-Bissau sont très modestes. Le commerce de marchandises en 2017 était évalué à 129 000 dollars, dont 107 000 dollars en exportations canadiennes, principalement des secteurs de l'automobile et de la chaussure.

Accords commerciaux

Le Canada n'a actuellement aucun accord commercial avec la Guinée-Bissau. Toutefois, les deux gouvernements ont signé un protocole d’entente bilatéral sur l’Initiative d’accès aux marchés pour les pays les moins développés a été signé en 2003.

Développement et aide humanitaire

L’appui d’Affaires mondiales Canada visait principalement les projets de promotion de bonne gouvernance, dont l’appui à la société civile. Consultez la Banque de projets pour obtenir plus d’informations sur les programmes en Guinée-Bissau.

Autre information pertinente

Octobre 2018