Canada - Macedonia Relations

The Republic of Macedonia gained independence in 1991 and since then Canada and Macedonia have enjoyed positive bilateral relations. In December 2005, Macedonia received formal candidate status from the European Union.

Overview

Canada is represented in Macedonia by the Embassy of Canada to Serbia, Macedonia and Montenegro in Belgrade, and maintains a consulate in Skopje run by an honorary consul. Macedonia opened an embassy in Ottawa in 1996.

In September 2007, Canada recognized Macedonia under its constitutional name the Republic of Macedonia.

In the UN and other international bodies, Canada continues to respect the term used for Macedonia is the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

Military and defence cooperation

Macedonia would like to join NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) as a member country. Canada supports the decision made by NATO at the 2008 Bucharest Summit to extend an invitation for NATO membership to the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. When a mutually acceptable solution to the name issue with Greece has been reached, Canada will be pleased to welcome Macedonia to NATO.

Macedonia is an active participant in NATO’s Partnership for Peace program and provides troops to multilateral peacekeeping operations. Macedonia contributed personnel to NATO’s International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) in Afghanistan and now contributes to NATO’s Operation Resolute Support mission.

Macedonia joined the Department of National Defence’s Military Training Cooperation Program (MTCP) in 1998. MTCP is a program that provides military cooperation with troop and language training to develop and enhance bilateral defence relations.

Canadian development assistance

Working with both the Macedonian government and the public, Canada has encouraged political and economic reform in Macedonia through supporting initiatives. In 2018, the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) became available to Macedonian civil society organizations.

These initiatives promote:

  • human and minority rights
  • democratic development
  • good governance
  • respect for the rule of law
  • public sector capacity building
  • conflict prevention
  • peace-building
  • security sector reform

In 2009, the former Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) officially closed its office in the Western Balkans, giving $950,000 in funding during its final year of operations in the country.

Trade and investment

Goods traded between Canada and Macedonia totalled $15.3 million in 2017. Canadian goods exported to Macedonia declined from $5.8 million in 2015 to $4.1 million in 2017.

The main export category is meat, followed by vehicles and parts. Canadian merchandise imports from Macedonia totalled $11.2 million in 2017. The main import categories are woven apparel and prepared fruits, vegetables and nuts. 

Macedonia offers commercial opportunities for Canadian companies in areas such as:

  • mining
  • transportation
  • information and communication technology
  • agri-food
  • tourism
  • environmental technologies
  • construction
  • real estate

June 2018

Relations Canada – Macédoine du Nord

La République de Macédoine du Nord a obtenu son indépendance en 1991. Depuis, le Canada et la Macédoine du Nord entretiennent des relations bilatérales positives. En décembre 2005, la Macédoine du Nord a reçu le statut officiel de candidat à l’adhésion à l’Union européenne.

Aperçu

Le Canada est représenté en Macédoine du Nord par l’ambassade du Canada en Serbie, en Macédoine du Nord et au Monténégro, mais il a aussi un consulat à Skopje, qui est dirigé par un consul honoraire. La Macédoine du Nord a ouvert son ambassade à Ottawa en 1996.

Coopération dans les domaines militaire et de la défense

Avec le soutien du Canada, la Macédoine du Nord est en processus d’accession à l’OTAN.  La Macédoine du Nord participe activement au programme de Partenariat pour la paix de l’OTAN et fournit des troupes en appui aux opérations multilatérales de maintien de la paix. Le pays a également affecté du personnel à la Force internationale d’assistance à la sécurité (FIAS) de l’OTAN en Afghanistan et contribue maintenant à la mission Resolute Support de l’OTAN.

Par ailleurs, la Macédoine du Nord a adhéré au Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires (PICM) du ministère de la Défense nationale en 1998. Le PICM offre de l’instruction militaire et aide au renforcement des capacités en matière d’opérations de paix pour développer et améliorer les relations bilatérales en matière de défense.

Aide canadienne au développement

En collaboration avec le gouvernement et la population de la Macédoine du Nord, le Canada encourage les réformes politiques et économiques au sein du pays grâce à diverses initiatives de soutien. Depuis 2018, les organisations de la société civile de la Macédoine du Nord peuvent présenter des demandes au Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL).

Ces initiatives appuient les secteurs suivants :

  • les droits de la personne et des minorités
  • le développement démocratique
  • la bonne gouvernance
  • le respect de la primauté du droit
  • le renforcement des capacités du secteur public
  • la prévention des conflits
  • la consolidation de la paix
  • la réforme du secteur de la sécurité

En 2009, l’ancienne Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) a officiellement fermé son bureau dans les Balkans occidentaux, après avoir offert un financement de 950 000 $ lors de sa dernière année d’activité dans le pays.

Commerce et investissement                     

Le commerce de marchandises entre le Canada et la Macédoine du Nord s’est élevé à 15,3 millions de dollars en 2017. Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers la Macédoine du Nord ont diminué, passant de 5,8 millions de dollars en 2015 à 4,1 millions de dollars en 2017.

La viande est la principale exportation, suivie des véhicules et des pièces. Les importations canadiennes de marchandises en provenance de la Macédoine du Nord ont totalisé 11,2 millions de dollars en 2017. Les vêtements tissés ainsi que les fruits, légumes et noix préparés sont les principaux produits importés.

La Macédoine du Nord offre des débouchés commerciaux aux entreprises

Canadiennes dans des secteurs comme:

  • l’exploitation minière
  • le transport
  • les technologies de l’information et des communications
  • l’agroalimentaire
  • le tourisme
  • les technologies environnementales
  • la construction
  • l’immobilier

Février 2019