Canada - Montenegro Relations

Bilateral relations

Canada recognized the Montenegro’s independence in 2006. Canada and Montenegro established diplomatic relations in September, 2006. In Montenegro, Canada is represented by the Embassy of Canada to Serbia, Macedonia and Montenegro. Montenegro is formally represented in Canada by an Embassy in Washington, D.C. Montenegro opened a Consulate and appointed an Honorary Consul in Vancouver, British Columbia in 2010 and in Toronto in 2017.

Trade

In 2018, Canada’s total goods traded with Montenegro was worth $11.75 million (up from $8.5 million in 2017). Canadian exports to Montenegro were valued at $7.43 million. Canadian exports to Montenegro consisted of fish and seafood, vegetable products, vehicles and transport equipment, and food products. Canada’s imports from Montenegro were valued at $4.3 million. These imports mostly comprised of electrical machinery and equipment, beverages (including wines), vegetable products, and furniture.

Development

Through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, Canada continues to provide international assistance in Montenegro. The Fund aids local partners in Montenegro with projects that build respect for the rule of law and human rights, increase public engagement and combat corruption.

Operations

Since 2007, Montenegro has participated in the Department of National Defence’s Military Training and Co-operation Program (MTCP). MTCP trains officers in language proficiency (English and French), peace-support operations, civil and military affairs, and staff duties and professional development.

Multilateral partnerships

Trade and investment agreements

Relations Canada - Monténégro

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a reconnu l’indépendance du Monténégro en 2006. Les deux pays ont établi des relations diplomatiques en septembre 2006. Au Monténégro, le Canada est représenté par son ambassade en Serbie, en Macédoine et au Monténégro. Le Monténégro est officiellement représenté au Canada par son ambassade à Washington (D.C.). Le Monténégro a quant à lui ouvert un consulat et nommé un consul honoraire à Vancouver en 2010 et à Toronto en 2017.

Commerce

En 2018, le total des biens échangés entre le Canada et le Monténégro s’est élevé à 11,75 millions de dollars (en comparaison à 8,5 millions de dollars en 2017). Les exportations canadiennes vers le Monténégro se sont chiffrées à 7,43 millions de dollars; il s’agissait principalement de poisson et de fruits de mer, de produits à base de légumes, de véhicules et de matériel de transport, ainsi que de produits alimentaires. Les importations en provenance du Monténégro se sont pour leur part établies à 4,3 millions de dollars et comprenaient surtout des machines et du matériel électriques, des boissons (dont du vin), des produits végétaux et des meubles.

Développement

Grâce au Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales, le Canada continue de fournir une aide internationale au Monténégro. Le Fonds aide les partenaires locaux au Monténégro à réaliser des projets qui renforcent le respect de la règle du droit et des droits de la personne, renforcent l'engagement du public et luttent contre la corruption.

Opérations

Le Monténégro participe au Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaires (PICM) du ministère de la Défense nationale depuis 2007. Ce programme comporte de la formation en langues (anglais et français), aux opérations de soutien de la paix, aux affaires civiles et militaires, au travail d’état-major et du perfectionnement professionnel.

Partenariats multilatéraux

Accords commerciaux et d’investissements