Canada - Singapore Relations

Canada - Singapore Relations

n Singapore, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada. Singapore is represented in Canada by a non-resident High Commissioner, who is based in Singapore. Honorary Consul-Generals are present in Vancouver and Toronto.

Political and Economic Overview

Singapore is a small, highly developed, politically stable, and dynamic city-state located at the physical and economic heart of Southeast Asia. It has 5.6 million residents, of which 74% are Chinese, 13% Malay and 9% South Asian. Singapore became independent from the UK in 1963, and became a fully independent country in 1965. Singapore is a parliamentary republic. The elected President is the Head of State and the Prime Minister is the Head of Government. 

Singapore is a trading nation and serves as a financial and commercial hub in the region. Singapore is committed to investing its resources to develop a thriving research and development infrastructure in key industrial sectors, mostly relating to innovation in technology infrastructure. 

Bilateral Relations

Canada was one of the first countries to establish diplomatic ties with Singapore since it became fully independent in 1965. Since then, Singapore has become one of our most important partners in Southeast Asia. Bilateral relations between Canada and Singapore are wide-ranging, and characterized by cooperation in a variety of areas, including: 

  • trade
  • security and defence
  • education
  • science and technology
  • Arctic related issues 

Canada and Singapore cooperate within multilateral fora such as: 

  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
  • the World Trade Organization
  • the Commonwealth
  • the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Regional Forum 

Canada and Singapore are like-minded on many regional and international issues, including: 

  • open trade
  • rules-based international order
  • multilateralism
  • security issues
  • climate change
  • support for inclusive societies 

In May 2013, Singapore was admitted as an Arctic Council observer state with Canadian support. 

As a maritime nation and shipping hub, Singapore is interested in the potential economic impact of increased Arctic shipping in the Northern Sea Route as well as in supplying infrastructure to the developing northern oil and gas industry. As a low-lying island, it is also concerned with environment issues such as the rising sea levels caused by the melting of Arctic sea ice. Singapore endorsed the Vancouver Principles in May 2019 and is part of the Ottawa Group on WTO reform. 

Singapore and Canada have diverse populations that represent a range of values, customs and perspectives. Together we pursue an open dialogue and exchange of ideas on policies and programs related to pluralism and multiculturalism. 

Canada and Singapore enjoy strong people-to-people links. These ties are enhanced by the thousands of Singaporean students who study in Canada, Canadian students studying in Singapore, the many Canadians who reside in Singapore, and the thousands of Canadians that visit the city-state every year.

Trade and Investment

In 2018, the value of Canada’s bilateral merchandise trade with Singapore reached $2.53 billion. Canada’s merchandise exports reached $1.27 billion led by mechanical machinery, electrical machinery and equipment, and scientific and precision instruments. Canadian merchandise imports from Singapore totaled $1.26 billion in 2018 led by electrical machinery and equipment, scientific and precision instruments and mechanical machinery. Services trade between the two countries totaled $3.07 billion in 2018. In 2018, Singapore was Canada’s largest destination in Southeast Asia for Canadian direct investment abroad ($5.85 billion), and Canada’s largest source of foreign direct investment ($116 million) from Southeast Asia.

Multilateral partnerships

Trade and investment agreements

Relations Canada - Singapour

Relations Canada - Singapour

e Canada est représenté à Singapour par son haut-commissariat. Singapour est pour sa part représenté au Canada par un haut-commissaire non résident, basé à Singapour. Des consuls généraux honoraires sont présents à Vancouver et à Toronto.

Aperçu politique et économique

Singapour est une petite ville-État très développée, politiquement stable et dynamique, située au cœur physique et économique de l'Asie du Sud-Est. Elle compte 5,6 millions d'habitants, dont 74 % de Chinois, 13 % de Malais et 9 % d'Asiatiques du Sud. Singapour a obtenu son indépendance du Royaume-Uni en 1963 et est devenu un pays totalement indépendant en 1965. Singapour est une république parlementaire : le président élu est chef de l'État, tandis que le premier ministre est chef du gouvernement. 

Singapour est un pays commerçant et sert de plaque tournante financière et commerciale dans la région. Il s'est engagé à investir ses ressources pour développer une infrastructure de recherche et de développement prospère dans des secteurs industriels clés, principalement dans le domaine de l'innovation technologique. 

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada a été un des premiers pays à établir des liens diplomatiques avec Singapour depuis son accession à l'indépendance totale en 1965. Depuis, Singapour est devenu un de ses plus importants partenaires d’Asie du Sud-Est. Les relations bilatérales entre le Canada et Singapour sont vastes et se caractérisent par une coopération dans divers domaines, notamment : 

  • le commerce,
  • la sécurité et la défense,
  • l’éducation,
  • les sciences et la technologie, et
  • les questions relatives à l’Arctique. 

Le Canada et Singapour coopèrent au sein de forums internationaux comme : 

  • le Forum de coopération économique Asie-Pacifique,
  • l’Organisation mondiale du commerce,
  • le Commonwealth, et
  • le Forum régional de l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE). 

Le Canada et Singapour ont des vues semblables sur bon nombre d’enjeux régionaux et internationaux, notamment : 

  • le commerce ouvert,
  • l’ordre international basé sur des règles,
  • le multilatéralisme,
  • la sécurité,
  • les changements climatiques, et
  • l’appui à la société inclusive. 

En mai 2013, Singapour a été admis, avec l'appui du Canada, comme État observateur au Conseil de l'Arctique. 

En tant que pays maritime et plaque tournante du transport maritime, Singapour s'intéresse à l'impact économique potentiel de l'augmentation du transport maritime dans l'Arctique sur la Route maritime du Nord, ainsi qu'à la fourniture d'infrastructures à l'industrie pétrolière et gazière du Nord en développement. Comme Singapour se situe sur une île proche du niveau de la mer, le pays se préoccupe aussi des questions environnementales comme celle de l'élévation du niveau de la mer causée par la fonte des glaces marines de l'Arctique. Singapour a approuvé les Principes de Vancouver en mai 2019 et fait partie du Groupe d'Ottawa sur la réforme de l'OMC. 

Singapour et le Canada ont des populations diversifiées qui représentent un éventail de valeurs, de coutumes et de perspectives. Ensemble, les deux pays poursuivent un dialogue ouvert et un échange d'idées sur les politiques et les programmes liés au pluralisme et au multiculturalisme. 

Le Canada et Singapour entretiennent des liens interpersonnels étroits. Ces liens sont renforcés par les milliers d'étudiants singapouriens qui étudient au Canada, les étudiants canadiens qui étudient à Singapour, les nombreux Canadiens qui y résident ou qui visitent la ville-État chaque année.

Commerce et investissement

En 2018, la valeur du commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre les deux pays était de 2,53 milliards de dollars. Les exportations de marchandises canadiennes, principalement celles de la machinerie mécanique, de la machinerie et de l'équipement électriques, ainsi que des instruments scientifiques et de précision, ont atteint 1,27 milliard de dollars. Les importations de marchandises de Singapour ont pour leur part totalisé 1,26 milliard de dollars. Il s’est surtout agi de machinerie et d'équipement électriques, d’instruments scientifiques et de précision et de machinerie mécanique. Le commerce des services entre les deux pays s’est élevé à 3,07 milliards de dollars en 2018. Cette même année, Singapour a été la plus importante destination d’investissements directs canadiens dans la région de l’Asie du Sud-Est (5,85 milliards de dollars), et le Canada la plus importante source d'investissements directs étrangers (116 millions de dollars) en provenance d’Asie du Sud-Est.

Partenariats multilatéraux

Accords commerciaux et d’investissements