International Trade Minister concluded successful visits to Singapore and Hong Kong to pursue investment opportunities and expand access to new markets for Canadians

April 3, 2018 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada

Canada’s ambitious trade and investment agenda aims to promote Canada to the world’s investors as a place with a diverse, skilled and highly educated workforce, with a focus on innovation.

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of International Trade, travelled to Singapore from March 22 to 24, 2018, to promote Canada and Singapore’s growing bilateral trade and investment relationship, advance discussions with key partners in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and attend the Canada-ASEAN Business Council (CABC) Forum. The Minister then travelled to Hong Kong to meet with business leaders and key influencers in the region.

While in Singapore, the Minister met his counterpart and other senior representatives of the Singapore government. He also delivered the keynote address at the CABC Forum, attended key sessions of the 2018 Annual Meeting of the Trilateral Commission, engaged with stakeholders from financial institutions and the infrastructure sector, and participated in a round-table discussion with women in business. He also focused on promoting export opportunities for Canada’s steel and aluminum industries. Canada and Singapore are part of the recently signed Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) and continue to work together to bolster trade and investment opportunities.

While in Hong Kong, the Minister promoted Canadian investment opportunities with business leaders, participated in a round-table discussion with Chinese trade experts and met with the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development. Canada has strong people-to-people and business connections with Hong Kong—a gateway city to and from mainland China that plays a key trade and investment role in the Asia-Pacific region.

Canada continues to ramp up its engagement across the entire Asia-Pacific region. Increased trade and investment, like that facilitated by the new CPTPP, or through ASEAN, with whom Canada is engaged in trade talks, presents enormous opportunity for more Canadians to diversify markets, creating more jobs for the middle class as a result.

Quotes

“There has never been a better time for Canada, as a Pacific nation, to diversify and expand its trade and investment, which creates good middle-class jobs for Canadians and opens the doors to markets for Canadian businesses in the dynamic Asia-Pacific region.”

- François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of International Trade

Quick facts

  • Singapore is Canada’s largest source of foreign direct investment in ASEAN, with investments valued at $194 million in 2016.
  • ASEAN’s member states include Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Vietnam, Myanmar, Laos and Cambodia.
  • As a group, ASEAN ranks as Canada’s sixth-largest trading partner.
  • In 2017, bilateral merchandise trade between Canada and ASEAN nations was $23.3 billion, with bilateral service trade reaching $4.5 billion in 2016.
  • Canada and Hong Kong bilateral merchandise trade was $2.6 billion in 2017. Hong Kong is Canada’s third-largest (single economy) trading partner for services, with bilateral service trade valued at $6.1 billion in 2016.
  • On March 8, 2018, Canada and 10 other countries—including four ASEAN members—signed the CPTPP in Santiago, Chile.

Associated links

Contacts

Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
343-203-7700
media@international.gc.ca
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaTrade
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s international trade - Global Affairs Canada

Le ministre du Commerce international a conclu une visite fructueuse à Singapour et à Hong Kong pour promouvoir des possibilités d’investissement et obtenir l’accès à de nouveaux marchés pour les Canadiens

Le 3 avril 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Affaires mondiales Canada

Le programme ambitieux du Canada en matière de commerce et d'investissement vise à faire connaître le Canada, auprès des investisseurs de partout dans le monde, comme étant un pays qui possède une main-d’œuvre diversifiée, qualifiée et hautement éduquée, et qui met l’accent sur l’innovation.

Le ministre du Commerce international, l'honorable François-Philippe Champagne, s’est rendu à Singapour du 22 au 24 mars 2018 pour promouvoir les relations bilatérales grandissantes entre le Canada et Singapour en matière de commerce et d'investissement. Il a profité de l’occasion pour faire progresser les discussions avec les principaux partenaires de l'Association des nations de l'Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) et pour participer au Forum des gens d’affaires du Conseil commercial Canada-ANASE (CCCA). Le ministre s’est ensuite rendu à Hong Kong afin de rencontrer des chefs d'entreprise et des personnes influentes de la région.

À Singapour, le ministre a rencontré son homologue et d'autres hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement de Singapour, et il a prononcé l’allocution d'ouverture du Forum du CCCA. Il a aussi pris part aux principales séances de l’assemblée annuelle de 2018 de la Commission trilatérale et a discuté avec des intervenants d’établissements financiers et du secteur des infrastructures, en plus de participer à une table ronde réunissant des femmes d'affaires. Il a également mis l'accent sur la promotion des débouchés d'exportation pour les industries canadiennes de l'acier et de l'aluminium. Le Canada et Singapour sont deux pays membres du Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) récemment conclu, et ils continuent de collaborer pour accroître les occasions d’échanges commerciaux et d'investissement.

À Hong Kong, le ministre a fait la promotion de l’investissement au Canada en compagnie de chefs d'entreprise. Il a aussi participé à une table ronde d'experts chinois du commerce et a rencontré le secrétaire au Commerce et au Développement économique. Le Canada entretient de solides relations interpersonnelles et commerciales avec Hong Kong — une ville portail de la Chine continentale, qui joue un rôle clé dans le commerce et l'investissement dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.

Le Canada continue de renforcer sa présence dans l'ensemble de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique. L'accroissement du commerce et de l'investissement, comme le permettent le nouveau PTPGP et l'ANASE, avec laquelle le Canada est en négociations, offre à un grand nombre de Canadiens de vastes possibilités de diversifier leurs marchés, créant par le fait même de nombreux emplois pour la classe moyenne.

Citation

« Il n'y a jamais eu de meilleur moment pour le Canada, un pays du Pacifique, de diversifier et d’accroître ses échanges commerciaux et ses investissements, qui créent de bons emplois pour les Canadiens de la classe moyenne et ouvrent les portes des marchés de la dynamique région de l'Asie-Pacifique aux entreprises canadiennes. »

- François-Philippe Champagne, ministre du Commerce international

Les faits en bref

  • Singapour est la plus grande source d'investissements directs étrangers de l’ANASE au Canada, avec des investissements évalués à 194 millions de dollars en 2016.
  • Les pays membres de l’ANASE comprennent l’Indonésie, la Malaisie, les Philippines, Singapour, la Thaïlande, Brunéi, le Vietnam, le Myanmar, le Laos et le Cambodge.
  • Le groupe des pays de l'ANASE se classe au sixième rang des partenaires commerciaux du Canada.
  • En 2017, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et les pays de l'ANASE s'est chiffré à 23,3 milliards de dollars, et le commerce bilatéral de services a atteint 4,5 milliards de dollars en 2016.
  • Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et Hong Kong s'élevait à 2,6 milliards de dollars en 2017. Hong Kong est le troisième partenaire commercial du Canada en matière de services, avec un commerce bilatéral de services évalué à 6,1 milliards de dollars en 2016.
  • Le 8 mars 2018, le Canada et 10 autres pays – dont 4 membres de l'ANASE – ont signé le PTPGP à Santiago, au Chili.

Liens connexes

Personnes-ressources

Le Service des relations avec les médias
Affaires mondiales Canada
343-203-7700
media@international.gc.ca
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @CommerceCanada
Aimez-nous sur Facebook : Le commerce international du Canada – Affaires mondiales Canada