Ambassador Jenny Hill

Message from Ambassador Jenny Hill

Welcome to the website of the Embassy of Canada in Juba, South Sudan.

It is a great pleasure and honour for me to be appointed as Ambassador for Canada to South Sudan.

Canada developed ties with South Sudan years before independence and opened an Embassy in 2014.  Building on decades of support for the South Sudanese people, we are committed to partnering with the Revitalized Transitional Government of National Unity to advance the Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan to bring peace and stability to the country.

Our partnership is multi-faceted and includes engagements in peace and security, development programming, humanitarian assistance and consular services.  Canada takes a conflict and climate-sensitive approach, complementing emergency assistance with multi-year programming designed to strengthen local resilience and support a gradual transition away from dependence on the humanitarian system.  

Canada’s feminist approach promotes the meaningful participation of all South Sudanese citizens in peace-building and dialogue in the country, so that all women, men, girls and boys can meaningfully contribute to, and benefit from, its stability and development.     

Ultimately, we seek to maximize synergies across all our interventions to assist South Sudan in overcoming its protracted crisis and insecurity to build a brighter future for all its citizens. 

I would urge you to keep abreast of Canada’s Travel Advisories and Travel Reports for the countries in which you reside and travel. Further information on Canada’s Travel Advisories and Travel Reports can be found at: https://travel.gc.ca/travelling.

If you are a Canadian resident in or visiting South Sudan, please take a moment to register online: Registration of Canadians Abroad (ROCA).

I hope that you find this website useful and informative and I encourage you to explore the links for more detailed information on our engagement in South Sudan and the range of services we provide.

Yours sincerely,

Jenny Hill
Ambassador

Biography

Jenny Hill (BA [Geography], University of Victoria, 2006; MA [Geography], University of Toronto, 2009) joined the Canadian International Development Agency in 2005, where she worked on the Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi and South Africa desks. She served in Kandahar, Afghanistan from 2010 to 2011 as First Secretary (Development) and Ghana from 2015 to 2017 as First Secretary (Development). At headquarters, she has held a variety of roles including as Deputy Director in the International Humanitarian Assistance and Global Health Bureaus and as Senior Advisor to the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Global Issues and Development Branch. Her most recent previous posting was to Kenya, where she was Counsellor (Development) and Head of Cooperation for Kenya, Somalia, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi. Ms. Hill is from Salt Spring Island, British Columbia.

Ambassador Jenny Hill

Ambassadrice Jenny Hill

Message de l'Ambassadrice Jenny Hill 

Bienvenue sur le site Web de l'Ambassade du Canada à Juba, au Soudan du Sud.

C'est un grand plaisir et honneur pour moi d'être nommée comme Ambassadrice du Canada au Soudan du Sud.

Le Canada a développé des liens avec le Soudan du Sud des années avant l'indépendance et a ouvert une Ambassade en 2014. Construisant pendant des décennies de soutien au peuple sud-soudanais, nous sommes déterminés à établir un partenariat avec le Gouvernement du Soudan du Sud afin de faire progresser l'Accord Revitalisé sur la Résolution du Conflit du Soudan du Sud pour apporter la paix et la stabilité dans le pays.

Notre partenariat est multiforme et comprend des engagements dans les domaines de la paix et de la sécurité, des programmes de développement et des services consulaires. Nous cherchons à maximiser les synergies à travers ces interventions pour aider le Soudan du Sud à surmonter sa crise prolongée afin de bâtir un avenir meilleur pour tous ses citoyens.

Je vous exhorterais à vous tenir au courant des Avis aux Voyageurs et des Rapports de Voyage du Canada pour les pays dans lesquels vous résidez et voyagez. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les Avis aux voyageurs et les Rapports de voyage du Canada à l’adresse suivante : https://voyage.gc.ca/voyager.

Si vous êtes un résident canadien ou êtes en visite au Soudan du Sud, veuillez prendre un moment pour vous inscrire en ligne en utilisant : Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger

J'espère que vous trouverez ce site Web utile et informatif et je vous encourage à explorer les liens pour obtenir des informations plus détaillées sur notre engagement au Soudan du Sud et la gamme de services que nous fournissons.

Jenny Hill
Ambassadrice

Biographie

Jenny Hill (Licence en Arts [Géographie], Université de Victoria, 2006 ; Maîtrise en Arts [Géographie], Université de Toronto, 2009) ; a rejoint l'Agence Canadienne du Développement International (ACDI) en 2005, où elle a travaillé sur les bureaux de la Zambie, du Zimbabwe et de l'Afrique du Sud. Elle a servi à Kandahar, en Afghanistan de 2010 à 2011 comme Première Secrétaire (Développement) et au Ghana de 2015 à 2017 comme Première Secrétaire (Développement). Au siège, elle a tenu une variété de rôles notamment en tant que Directrice Adjointe aux Bureaux de l'Aide Humanitaire Internationale et de la Santé Mondiale et comme Conseillère Principale auprès du Sous-Ministre Adjoint de la Direction Générale des Enjeux Mondiaux et du Développement. Son affectation précédente la plus récente était au Kenya où elle était Conseillère (Développement) et Chef de la Coopération pour le Kenya, la Somalie, l’Ouganda, le Rwanda et le Burundi. Mme Hill est de Salt Spring Island, Colombie-Britannique.

Ambassadrice Jenny Hill