Canada - Lesotho Relations

Canada - Lesotho Relations

Diplomatic relations between Canada and Lesotho date back to Lesotho’s independence in 1966. Canada is represented in Lesotho by the High Commission of Canada in South Africa, in Pretoria. Lesotho maintains a high commission in Ottawa and has an honorary consul in Vancouver.

Our countries share a long history of positive bilateral relations based on Commonwealth ties and strong bonds created through development cooperation. A number of prominent Basotho have studied in Canada, including former prime minister Pakalitha Mosisili.

Lesotho benefits from Canadian support to key multilateral and regional organizations such as the United Nations, the World Bank, the African Development Bank, the African Union and others. Local organizations can apply for support from the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, which has funded projects in recent years focused on gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls, as well as inclusive governance. Basotho are also eligible for training through the Leadership and Learning for Development Effectiveness Program, as well as the Canadian Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarship Program and the African Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship Program. 

In 2017, total two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Lesotho totalled $10 million, consisting of $9.7 million in total merchandise imports and $302,000 in exports.

Other relevant information

August 2018

Relations Canada - Lésotho

Relations Canada - Lésotho

Les relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et le Lesotho remontent à l’indépendance de ce pays en 1966. Le Canada y est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada en Afrique du Sud, situé à Pretoria. Le Lesotho a un haut-commissariat à Ottawa et un consul honoraire à Vancouver.

Le Canada et le Lesotho entretiennent des relations bilatérales fructueuses depuis longtemps, qui sont fondées sur leur appartenance au Commonwealth et sur les liens solides qu’ils ont noués dans le cadre de la coopération en matière de développement. Plusieurs Lesothans éminents ont étudié au Canada, dont l’ancien premier ministre Pakalitha Mosisili.

Le Canada apporte un soutien au Lesotho par l’entremise d’organisations multilatérales et régionales clés comme les Nations Unies, la Banque mondiale, la Banque africaine de développement et l’Union africaine. Les organismes locaux peuvent présenter une demande de soutien au Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales, qui a financé au cours des dernières années des projets axés sur l’égalité des genres, le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes et des filles ainsi que la gouvernance inclusive. Les Lesothans sont également admissibles à la formation dans le cadre du Programme de leadership et d’apprentissage pour l’efficacité du développement, du Programme canadien de bourses d’études du Jubilé de diamant de la reine Élizabeth II et du Programme de bourses pour les leaders africains de demain. 

En 2017, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et le Lesotho a atteint 10 millions de dollars, soit 9,7 millions de dollars en importations de marchandises et 302 000 $ en exportations. 

Autres renseignements pertinents

Août 2018