Canada - Mauritius Relations

Canada - Mauritius Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Mauritius in 1968 following the latter’s independence. Canada is represented by an Honorary Consul in Port Louis, Mauritius, and by a High Commission in Pretoria, South Africa. Mauritius maintains Honorary Consuls in Ottawa and New Westminster, B.C., and a High Commission in Washington, D.C.

Canada and Mauritius maintain positive bilateral relations, anchored in shared interests and common memberships in the Commonwealth, La Francophonie and the United Nations. Canada and Mauritius share similar views on important issues such as the environment, climate change action and good governance. Canada has pledged to support vulnerable countries most affected by climate change, including Mauritius and other Small Island Developing States. There is a large Mauritian diaspora in Canada, and in 2017, Canadian parliamentarians established the Canada-Mauritius Parliamentary Friendship Group. In 2018, Canada and Mauritius celebrate the 50th anniversary of diplomatic relations.

Mauritius benefits from Canadian international assistance through Canada’s support to key multilateral and regional organizations active in the country, such as the United Nations, the World Bank, the African Development Bank and the African Union. Local organizations can also receive assistance from the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, which has funded projects in recent years focused on climate change and the environment, gender equality and governance. Students from Mauritius are eligible for scholarships to study in Canada through the Canadian Francophonie Scholarship Program, the Canadian Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarship Program and the African Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship Program.

In 2017, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Mauritius totaled $23.9 million, consisting of $6.4 million in exports from Canada, and $17.5 million in imports from Mauritius. Mauritius presents opportunities for Canadians in the education sector (with an increasing number of Mauritians studying in Canada), as well as in the information and communications technology sector.

Other Relevant Information

July 2018

Relations Canada - Maurice

Relations Canada - Maurice

Les relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et Maurice remontent à 1968, quand ce pays a obtenu son indépendance. Le Canada est représenté à Maurice par un consul honoraire à Port Louis, à Maurice, et un haut-commissariat à Pretoria, en Afrique du Sud. Au Canada, Maurice est représenté par des consuls honoraires à Ottawa et à New Westminster, en Colombie-Britannique, et par un haut-commissariat à Washington, D.C.

Le Canada et Maurice entretiennent des relations bilatérales positives, ancrées dans leurs intérêts communs, notamment au sein du Commonwealth, de la Francophonie et des Nations Unies. Les deux pays ont des points de vue similaires sur des questions importantes comme l'environnement, la lutte contre les changements climatiques, ainsi que la bonne gouvernance. Le Canada s'est engagé à soutenir les pays vulnérables les plus touchés par les changements climatiques, dont Maurice et d'autres petits États insulaires en développement. Il y a une importante diaspora mauricienne au Canada et, en 2017, des parlementaires canadiens ont créé le Groupe d'amitié parlementaire Canada-Maurice. En 2018, le Canada et Maurice célèbrent le 50e anniversaire de leurs relations diplomatiques.

Maurice bénéficie de l'aide internationale du Canada dans le cadre de l’appui que fournit le Canada aux grandes organisations multilatérales et régionales actives dans le pays, notamment les Nations Unies, la Banque mondiale, la Banque africaine de développement et l'Union africaine. Les organisations locales peuvent également recevoir une aide du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales, qui a financé ces dernières années des projets axés sur les changements climatiques et l'environnement, l'égalité des genres et la gouvernance. Les étudiants de Maurice ont droit à des bourses pour étudier au Canada au titre du Programme canadien de bourses de la Francophonie, du programme de Bourses canadiennes du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II et du programme de bourses d'études pour les leaders africains de demain.

En 2017, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et Maurice s’est élevé à 23,9 millions de dollars, soit 6,4 millions de dollars d'exportations du Canada et 17,5 millions de dollars d'importations en provenance de Maurice. Maurice offre des possibilités dans le secteur de l'éducation au Canada (de plus en plus de Mauriciens viennent étudier au pays) et dans ceux des technologies de l'information et des communications.

Autres informations pertinentes

Juillet 2018