Canada - Namibia Relations

Canada - Namibia Relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Namibia in 1990, following the latter’s independence. In Namibia, Canada is represented by a High Commission in Pretoria, South Africa, and an Honorary Consul in Windhoek. In Canada, Namibia is represented from its Embassy in Washington, D.C. Namibia also maintains an Honorary Consul based in Waterloo, Ontario.

Canada and Namibia maintain positive relations, and have a history of collaboration on shared priorities. Canada strongly supported Namibia’s independence, providing military peacekeepers, police monitors, election supervisors and technical experts. Canada and Namibia are members of the Commonwealth and the United Nations, and have a shred commitment to advancing important multilateral issues, notably climate change action, gender equality, and women’s empowerment.

Namibia benefits from Canadian international assistance through Canada’s support to key multilateral and regional organizations active in the country, such as the United Nations, the World Bank, the African Development Bank, and the African Union. Local organizations can also receive assistance from the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, which has funded projects in recent years focused on climate change and the environment, youth, and governance.

In 2017, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Namibia totaled $96.6 million, consisting of $2.4 million in exports from Canada, and $94.2 million in imports from Namibia. Canada has significant mining investments in Namibia and Canadian mining companies in Namibia demonstrate leadership in Corporate Social Responsibility.

Namibia presents many investment opportunities for Canadian companies, particularly in the natural resources, power generation and infrastructure sectors. Canadian investment in the country is centered on the natural resources sector, with Canadian mining companies operating in gold, zinc, diamonds and uranium.

Other revelvant information

July 2018

Relations Canada - Namibie

Relations Canada - Namibie

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec la Namibie en 1990, après l'indépendance du pays. Le Canada y est représenté par un haut-commissariat à Pretoria, en Afrique du Sud, et un consul honoraire à Windhoek. Au Canada, la Namibie est représentée par son ambassade à Washington, D.C. La Namibie a également un consul honoraire basé à Waterloo, en Ontario.

Le Canada et la Namibie entretiennent des relations positives et ont une tradition de collaboration sur des priorités communes. Le Canada a fermement appuyé l'indépendance de la Namibie, où il a envoyé des troupes de maintien de la paix, des surveillants des corps policiers, des superviseurs électoraux et des experts techniques. Le Canada et la Namibie sont membres du Commonwealth et des Nations Unies, et ils se sont engagés à faire avancer d'importantes questions multilatérales, notamment au sujet des changements climatiques, de l'égalité des genres et le renforcement économique des femmes.

La Namibie bénéficie de l'aide internationale du Canada grâce à son appui aux principales organisations multilatérales et régionales actives dans le pays, soit les Nations Unies, la Banque mondiale, la Banque africaine de développement et l'Union africaine, entre autres. Les organisations locales peuvent aussi recevoir de l'aide du Fonds canadien d'initiatives locales, qui a financé ces dernières années des projets axés sur le changement climatique et l'environnement, la jeunesse et la gouvernance.

En 2017, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et la Namibie s’est élevé à 96,6 millions de dollars, soit 2,4 millions de dollars d'exportations du Canada et 94,2 millions de dollars d'importations de la Namibie. Le Canada a d'importants investissements miniers en Namibie, et les sociétés minières canadiennes y font preuve de leadership en matière de responsabilité sociale des entreprises.

La Namibie présente de nombreuses possibilités d'investissement pour les entreprises canadiennes, en particulier dans les secteurs des ressources naturelles, de la production d'énergie et des infrastructures. Les investissements canadiens dans le pays sont axés sur le secteur des ressources naturelles, et les sociétés minières canadiennes y exploitent l'or, le zinc, les diamants et l'uranium.

Autre information pertinente

Juillet 2018