Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Government of Canada

Spain.gc.ca

Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bilateral Relations

Canada - Spain Relations

Political and defense relations

Canada and Spain are partners and allies that enjoy a strong relationship based on shared interests and values. Both countries, which have decentralized political structures, share an abiding belief in the fundamental values of respect for human rights, democracy, the empowerment of women and diverse and inclusive societies.

Canada and Spain are committed to fight against climate change and to work for a sustainable management of the environment. They believe in progressive and open economic and trade relations as a source of prosperity for all. Canada and Spain trust that these values must be preserved in a rules-based international order. A Canada-Spain Cooperation Agenda was established by the Canadian and Spanish Prime Ministers when they met in Montreal in 2018, and it was accompanied by a Declaration in Favour of Gender Equality.

Spain and Canada are committed to defending international peace and global security. They are excellent partners at the multilateral level and work together within several institutions such as the United Nations (UN). Spain and Canada are active members of NATO and the two countries are active participants in a variety of multilateral peace and security operations, especially in the NATO enhanced Forward Presence battle group in Latvia, led by Canada, and in the International Coalition against Daesh in Iraq.

Commercial relations, investment and innovation

Canada and Spain enjoy a stable trading relationship, which has entered into a new chapter with the entry into force of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA). As a progressive trade agreement, CETA addresses or eliminates barriers in virtually all sectors and aspects of Canada-Spain bilateral trade, increases jobs and promotes new commercial opportunities for Canadian and Spanish businesses. Spain ratified CETA in December 2017. CETA has led to tariff elimination on important Canadian exports to Spain and increased awareness of business opportunities with Canada. In 2020, bilateral merchandise trade with Spain grew by 15.1%, compared to pre-CETA (2016).

Canada and Spain’s trading relationship has grown steadily during the last decade and holds significant potential for further growth. Both economies are diversified, with areas of synergy in key sectors such as ICT, aerospace, agri-food, fish & seafood, energy, life sciences, automotive, infrastructure, and transport. Bilateral goods trade between Canada and Spain was $4.5 billion in 2020, making Spain Canada’s 6th-largest goods trading partner in the EU and 22nd largest goods trading partner in the world.

The strength of the bilateral economic relationship lies in strong two-way investment and collaboration. In 2020, Spain ranked 22nd amongst Canadian investment destinations abroad, with a total value of $8.1 billion (6.2% increase from $7.6 billion in 2019). Conversely, Canada is Spain’s 15th largest destination for direct investments with a total value of $13.2 billion (a slight increase from $13.1 billion in 2019). Bilateral innovation and technological cooperation is facilitated through Horizon Europe and the international Eureka program, where organizations such as Canada’s National Research Council and Spain’s Centre for Industrial Technological Development (CDTI) support market-oriented joint projects.

Youth mobility, education and culture

Spain and Canada enjoy strong academic relations with more than 100 agreements between Canadian and Spanish universities. Spanish students increasingly choose Canada as a destination for their studies and the multiple agreements between Canadian and Spanish universities attest to the excellent collaboration between the two academic communities. Thanks to the bilateral Youth Mobility Agreement (2009), young Spaniards and Canadians have increasingly taken the opportunity to work and study in Canada and Spain respectively.

Spain also has Memorandums of Understanding with several provinces, including Alberta (2006), Manitoba (2014) and British Columbia (2016), to support Spanish-English bilingual education opportunities.

Spaniards have shown great interest in Canadian art and culture. Spanish editors translate and publish Canadian authors in Spain. Canadian visual and performing artists are regulars on the Spanish cultural scene. The Spanish film market is highly receptive to Canadian cinema. Collaboration in the audio-visual field between both countries is facilitated by the coproduction agreement between Canada and Spain in cinema, television and other audio-visual formats.

Footer

Date Modified:
2021-12-17

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Gouvernement du Canada

Espagne.gc.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil
  2. >
  3. Relations bilatérales

Relations Canada - Espagne

Relations politiques et de défense

Le Canada et l’Espagne sont des partenaires et alliés qui entretiennent d’excellentes relations bilatérales basées sur des valeurs et des intérêts communs. Les deux pays, qui disposent de structures politiques décentralisées, partagent les mêmes valeurs de respect pour les droits de la personne, la démocratie, l’autonomisation des femmes et les sociétés diverses et inclusives.

Le Canada et l’Espagne sont résolus à lutter contre les changements climatiques et à travailler en faveur d’une gestion durable de l'environnement. Ils croient à l’importance de relations économiques et commerciales progressistes et ouvertes comme source de prospérité pour tous. Le Canada et l’Espagne sont convaincus que ces valeurs doivent s’inscrire dans un ordre international basé sur des règles. Les premiers ministres du Canada et de l’Espagne ont établi un programme de coopération Canada-Espagne lorsqu’ils se sont rencontrés à Montréal, en 2018, lequel s’accompagne d’une Déclaration en faveur de l’égalité des sexes.

L'Espagne et le Canada sont engagés envers la défense de la paix et sécurité mondiale. Ils sont très proches sur le plan des relations multilatérales et travaillent ensemble au sein de diverses organisations internationales spécialement aux Nations Unies (ONU). L’Espagne et le Canada sont membres actifs de l’OTAN et nos deux pays coopèrent dans le cadre de plusieurs opérations multilatérales de paix et de sécurité notamment le groupement tactique de Présence avancée rehaussée de l’OTAN en Lettonie, dirigé par le Canada, et dans la Coalition mondiale contre le Daech en Irak.

Relations commerciales, investissement et innovation

Le Canada et l’Espagne entretiennent des relations commerciales stables qui ont franchi une nouvelle étape depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG). En tant qu’accord commercial progressiste, l’AECG permet de réduire ou d’éliminer les obstacles dans pratiquement tous les secteurs et aspects du commerce bilatéral entre le Canada et l’Espagne, d’accroître le nombre d’emplois et de créer de nouveaux débouchés commerciaux pour les entreprises canadiennes et espagnoles. L’Espagne a ratifié l’AECG en décembre 2017. L’AECG a permis d’éliminer tarifs douaniers sur d’importantes exportations canadiennes vers l’Espagne et de mieux faire connaître les possibilités commerciales avec le Canada. En 2020, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises avec l’Espagne a progressé de 15,1 % par rapport à la période précédant l’AECG (2016).

Les relations commerciales entre le Canada et l’Espagne se sont intensifiées de façon constante au cours de la dernière décennie et présentent un important potentiel de croissance supplémentaire. Les deux économies sont diversifiées et fortes de domaines de synergie dans des secteurs clés tels que les technologies de l’information et des communications, l’aérospatiale, l’agroalimentaire, le poisson et les fruits de mer, l’énergie, les sciences de la vie, l’automobile, les infrastructures et les transports. Le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et l’Espagne était de 4,5 milliards de dollars en 2020, ce qui fait de l’Espagne le 6e partenaire commercial de marchandises du Canada dans l’Union européenne et le 22e partenaire commercial de marchandises dans le monde.

La force des relations économiques entre les deux pays repose sur les investissements bilatéraux et la collaboration. En 2020, l’Espagne s’est classée au 22e rang des destinations des investissements canadiens à l’étranger, qui représentent une valeur totale de 8,1 milliards de dollars (une augmentation de 6,2 % par rapport aux 7,6 milliards de dollars de 2019). En revanche, le Canada est la 15e destination pour les investissements directs en provenance de l’Espagne en matière d’investissements directs, qui représentent une valeur totale de 13,2 milliards de dollars (une légère hausse par rapport à 13,1 milliards de dollars en 2019). La coopération en matière d’innovation et de technologie sont facilités par Horizon Europe et le Programme international Eureka qui permet à des organismes comme le Conseil national de recherches du Canada et le Centre pour le développement technologique industriel espagnol (CDTI) d’appuyer des projets conjoints axés sur les marchés.

Mobilité des jeunes, éducation et culture

Le Canada et l’Espagne ont établi des relations académiques actives avec plus de 100 accords entre des universités canadiennes et espagnoles. De plus en plus d’étudiants espagnols choisissent le Canada comme destination d’études et les très nombreux accords existants entre les universités canadiennes et espagnoles témoignent des liens étroits entre les deux communautés académiques. Grâce à l’Accord de mobilité des jeunes (2009) entre le Canada et l’Espagne, les voyages d’études et de travail entre jeunes des deux pays se sont multipliés au cours des dernières années.

L'Espagne a également conclu des protocoles d'entente avec plusieurs provinces, dont l'Alberta (2006), le Manitoba (2014) et la Colombie-Britannique (2016), afin de soutenir les possibilités d'enseignement bilingue espagnol-anglais.

Les Espagnols s’intéressent à l’art et la culture canadienne. Les auteurs canadiens sont traduits et édités en Espagne. Les artistes canadiens de la scène ou des arts visuels sont des habitués de la scène culturelle espagnole. Le cinéma canadien trouve en Espagne un marché réceptif. La collaboration en matière audiovisuelle entre nos deux pays s’appuie sur un accord de coproduction bilatérale pour le cinéma, la télévision et autres formats audiovisuels.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2021-12-17