Canada - Maldives Relations

Canada - Maldives Relations

Canada and Maldives have had diplomatic relations since 1981. In Maldives, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in Sri Lanka in Colombo. Maldives is represented in Canada by its Permanent Representation of Maldives to the United Nations in New York. 

Canada and Maldives share a sense of urgency when it comes to climate change. In 2018, Canada provided funding for Maldives and other small island developing states to attend a regional meeting in Mauritius. 

Democracy and human rights

Canada’s interests in Maldives include good governance, democracy and the protection of human rights. Canada advocates for these principles in Colombo through its ambassador, in Geneva at the UN Human Rights Council and during high-level visits. Canada also works with its allies to advocate for human rights. 

Canada Fund for Local Initiatives

For over three decades, Canada has funded small development assistance projects in developing countries through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI). The CFLI supports small projects run by grassroots organizations like NGOs, village councils, cooperatives and women’s groups. In Maldives, the CFLI is administered by the Canadian high commission in Colombo. In the 2017-2018 fiscal year, the CFLI supported the Human Rights Commission of the Maldives and the Women’s Committee and City Council in the Addu Atoll to increase community participation in development.

August 2018

Relations Canada - Maldives

Relations Canada - Maldives

Le Canada et les Maldives entretiennent des relations diplomatiques depuis 1981. Aux Maldives, le Canada est représenté par son haut-commissariat à Colombo, au Sri Lanka. Les Maldives sont représentées au Canada par leur représentation permanente aux Nations Unies, à New York.

Le Canada et les Maldives partagent un sentiment d’urgence en matière de changement climatique. En 2018, le Canada a financé les Maldives et d’autres petits États insulaires en développement pour qu’ils puissent participer à une réunion régionale à Maurice. 

Démocratie et droits de la personne

Les intérêts du Canada aux Maldives sont notamment la bonne gouvernance, la démocratie et la protection des droits de la personne. Le Canada défend ces principes à Colombo par l’entremise de son haut-commissaire, au Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies à Genève et dans le cadre de visites de haut niveau. Le Canada travaille également avec ses alliés pour défendre les droits de la personne. 

Le Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales

Depuis plus de trente ans, le Canada finance de petits projets d’aide au développement dans les pays en développement par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL). Le Fonds contribue à de petits projets dirigés par des organismes communautaires tels que des ONG, des conseils de village, des coopératives et des groupes de femmes. Aux Maldives, le FCIL est administré par le haut-commissariat du Canada à Colombo. Au cours de l’exercice 2017-2018, le FCIL a appuyé la Commission des droits de la personne des Maldives, le Comité des femmes et le conseil municipal de l’atoll d’Addu pour accroître la participation de la communauté au développement.

Août 2018