A Message from the High Commissioner of Canada on the Occasion of Canada Day 2020

Hello!

Happy Canada Day!

Today is a special day for Canadians in Sri Lanka, Canada and around the world. This year, as we find ourselves celebrating Canada Day virtually, we dedicate this day to the celebration of diversity, inclusion and hope.

COVID-19 knows no borders, and its impact on our health systems, our economies and our lives have been devastating – particularly for seniors, the marginalized and the most vulnerable. The pandemic has highlighted the importance of working together both to respond to the crisis and for the long-term recovery.

The bilateral friendship between Sri Lanka and Canada goes back many decades and is strengthened by our deep people-to-people ties. Over the past few months, this partnership has been further strengthened as we worked with ministries and civil society partners to provide assistance and relief to the most vulnerable communities, including women and children.

Livelihoods and economic activities around the globe have been disrupted by the pandemic, and Canada is committed to work with partners to build back better. We are extending support to strengthen the capacities of the cooperative sector and Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSME) in Sri Lanka impacted by COVID-19. In international fora, Canada is working with international financial institutions to address the debt sustainability and financing challenges faced by middle-income countries, including Sri Lanka.

In difficult times, we must stand together and embrace our diversity as a strength. Canada continues to support the reconciliation process through our long-standing collaboration on national languages and by assisting with demining work. We will also continue to advocate for LGBTIQ2 rights.

After nearly three years on this remarkable and beautiful island, I continue to be struck by the warmth, creativity, and resilience of individual Sri Lankans. This is apparent wherever I travel here and in the many very successful people of Sri Lankan origin, from all communities, who have made their homes around the world, including in Canada. Canadians of Sri Lankan heritage help make Canada the diverse and vibrant country it is today, something I want to recognize this Canada Day. 

Happy Canada Day!

David McKinnon
High Commissioner of Canada to Sri Lanka and the Maldives/ Haut-commissaire du Canada au Sri Lanka et aux Maldives

Un message du Haut-commissaire du Canada à l’occasion de la fête du Canada 2020

Bonjour!

Bonne fête du Canada !

Aujourd'hui est un jour spécial pour les Canadiens au Sri Lanka, au Canada et dans le monde entier. Cette année, alors que nous célébrons virtuellement la fête du Canada, nous consacrons cette journée à la célébration de la diversité, de l'inclusion et de l'espoir.

La COVID-19 ne connaît pas de frontières. La pandémie de COVID-19 a des effets dévastateurs sur les systèmes de santé, les économies et notre quotidien — plus particulièrement pour les personnes âgées, marginalisées et les plus vulnérables. Elle a mis en évidence l'importance de travailler ensemble tant pour répondre à la crise que pour la reprise à long terme.

L'amitié entre le Sri Lanka et le Canada remonte à plusieurs décennies et est renforcée par les liens étroits entre nos peuples. Au cours des derniers mois, nous avons travaillé avec des partenaires gouvernementaux et de la société civile pour apporter aide et secours aux communautés les plus vulnérables, notamment les femmes et les enfants, renforçant davantage notre partenariat.

Les moyens de subsistance et les activités économiques dans le monde entier ont été perturbés par la pandémie, et le Canada est déterminé à travailler avec ses partenaires pour mieux reconstruire. Nous apportons notre soutien au renforcement des capacités du secteur coopératif et des micro, petites et moyennes entreprises (MPME) du Sri Lanka touchées par la COVID-19. Sur les tribunes internationales, le Canada collabore avec les institutions financières internationales afin d'aborder les problèmes de viabilité de la dette et du financement auxquels font face les pays à revenu intermédiaire, dont le Sri Lanka.

En ces temps difficiles, nous devons être solidaires et considérer notre diversité comme une force. Le Canada continue de soutenir le processus de réconciliation grâce à sa collaboration de longue date en matière de langues officielles et en apportant son aide aux travaux de déminage. Nous continuerons également à défendre les droits des LGBTIQ2.

Après près de trois ans passés sur cette île remarquable et magnifique, je continue à être frappé par la chaleur, la créativité et la résilience de chaque Sri Lankais. Cela se manifeste partout où je voyage au Sri Lanka mais aussi chez les nombreux Sri Lankais d'origine, de toutes les communautés, qui se sont établis et ont eu du succès partout dans le monde, y compris au Canada. Les Canadiens d'origine sri lankaise contribuent à faire du Canada le pays diversifié et dynamique qu'il est aujourd'hui, ce que je tiens à souligner en cette fête du Canada. 

Bonne fête du Canada!

David McKinnon
Haut-commissaire du Canada au Sri Lanka et aux Maldives