Welcome Message from the Canadian High Commissioner

Ayubowan, vanakam, bonjour, hello 

Welcome to the website of the High Commission of Canada in Sri Lanka, which also serves as the Embassy of Canada to the Maldives.  On this site, you can find out more about Canada’s relations with these two beautiful nations, as well information about services available to Canadians, and to Sri Lankans and Maldivians interested in doing business with or travelling to Canada.

Canada and Sri Lanka share deep people-to-people links, which we are happy to see continue to grow. Hundreds of thousands of Canadians of Sri Lankan descent make Canada their home, while a rapidly growing number of young people from Sri Lanka and Maldives are studying in Canada.  Please consult the visa and immigration links on the website for comprehensive information.  

Canada sees great value in a rules-based international order for the 21st century to achieve our collective goal of a better, safer, more just, more prosperous, and sustainable world. We support greater regional cooperation and continued work in important multilateral organizations such as the United Nations and the Commonwealth to advance respect for human rights and democracy in all member states. 

Canada welcomes the Government of Sri Lanka’s commitment to democracy, peace and reconciliation, including transitional justice. Canada stands ready to work with Sri Lanka and the Maldives to support their efforts to advance democracy, good governance and respect for the rule of law.

I am proud of Canada’s longstanding development cooperation partnership, which is aligned with Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy ‎and which recognizes that promoting gender equality and empowering women and girls is the most effective way to reduce poverty and promote prosperity.

Boosting trade is a Government of Canada priority: there is real potential for growth in two-way trade and investment.  Our trade team at the High Commission is at the disposal of Canadian companies seeking to conduct business in Sri Lanka and Maldives. 

For Canadians living in or visiting Sri Lanka or Maldives, I recommend you sign up with the Registration of Canadians Abroad program.  This will allow us to find you in case of emergency. We can also provide you with important information about elections, new travel advisories and other developments.  See the Government of Canada’s travel website (www.travel.gc.ca) for further details.‎

Feel free to follow me @McKinnonDavid, or the High Commission @CanHCSriLanka. 

David McKinnon
High Commissioner

Biography

David McKinnon (BA [History], University of Toronto, 1986; MBA, Queen’s University, 2002) joined the Department of External Affairs as a trade commissioner in 1987. During his time in Ottawa, he has served in a variety of positions related to the range of Canada’s overseas trade, economic and diplomatic interests, including as director for Asia-Pacific policy (2002 to 2004). From 2013 to 2017, he was executive director of strategic policy and planning and then director general of the Physical Resources Bureau. Mr. McKinnon’s assignments overseas have included Bangkok (1989 to 1992), Canberra (1994 to 1998 and 2009 to 2013, the latter as deputy head of mission) and New Delhi (2004 to 2009), where he was the minister-counsellor responsible for the delivery of Canada’s trade and investment program in India and Nepal.

High Commissioner David McKinnon

Twitter

Message de bienvenue du haut-commissaire du Canada

Ayubowan, vanakam, bonjour, hello,

Bienvenue sur le site du Haut-commissariat du Canada au Sri Lanka, qui sert également d’Ambassade du Canada aux Maldives. Sur ce site, vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur les relations du Canada avec ces deux magnifiques nations et sur les services offerts aux Canadiens ainsi qu’aux Sri-Lankais et aux Maldiviens qui souhaitent faire affaire avec le Canada ou voyager au Canada.

Le Canada et le Sri Lanka ont des liens interpersonnels forts, que nous sommes heureux de cultiver. Des centaines de milliers de Canadiens d’origine sri-lankaise ont choisi le Canada comme pays d’adoption, et un nombre croissant de jeunes du Sri Lanka et des Maldives étudient au Canada. Veuillez consulter les liens relatifs aux visas et à l’immigration pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.  

Le Canada accorde une grande importance à un ordre international fondé sur des règles pour le 21e siècle en vue d’atteindre notre objectif collectif de vivre dans un monde meilleur, plus sécuritaire, plus juste, plus prospère et durable. Nous appuyons une plus grande coopération régionale et la poursuite des travaux dans les organisations multilatérales importantes, comme les Nations Unies et le Commonwealth, pour favoriser le respect des droits de la personne et de la démocratie dans tous les États membres.   

Le Canada salue la détermination du gouvernement du Sri Lanka envers la démocratie, la paix et la réconciliation, y compris la justice transitionnelle. Le Canada est prêt à collaborer avec le Sri Lanka et les Maldives dans le but de soutenir leurs efforts pour promouvoir la démocratie, la saine gouvernance et le respect de la primauté du droit.

Je suis fier du partenariat de collaboration de longue date du Canada en matière de développement, qui cadre avec la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada et qui reconnait que favoriser l’égalité des genres et renforcer le pouvoir des femmes et des filles est le moyen le plus efficace de réduire la pauvreté et de favoriser la prospérité.

Stimuler le commerce est une priorité du gouvernement du Canada : il y a un réel potentiel de croissance dans des échanges commerciaux et des investissements bilatéraux. Notre équipe commerciale du haut-commissariat est à la disposition des entreprises canadiennes qui cherchent à faire des affaires au Sri Lanka et aux Maldives.   

Pour les Canadiens qui vivent ou qui voyagent au Sri Lanka ou aux Maldives, je vous recommande de vous inscrire au programme Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger. Cela nous permettra de vous trouver en cas d’urgence. Nous pourrons aussi vous fournir de l’information importante au sujet d’élections, de nouveaux avis aux voyageurs et d’autres développements. Consultez le site sur les voyages du gouvernement du Canada (www.voyage.gc.ca) pour de plus amples détails.  

Suivez-moi à @McKinnonDavid, ou suivez le haut-commissariat à @HCCanSriLanka. 

David McKinnon
Haut-Commissaire

Biographie

M. David McKinnon (B.A. [histoire], Université de Toronto, 1986; M.B.A., Université Queen’s, 2002) s’est joint au ministère des Affaires extérieures en tant que délégué commercial en 1987. Alors qu’il était à Ottawa, il a occupé différents postes liés à l’éventail des intérêts commerciaux, économiques et diplomatiques du Canada à l’étranger, notamment celui de directeur de la politique en Asie-Pacifique (de 2002 à 2004). De 2013 à 2017, il a été directeur général de la Direction de la politique stratégique et planification, puis directeur général de la Direction générale des biens. M. McKinnon a été affecté à l’étranger, notamment à Bangkok (de 1989 à 1992), à Canberra (de 1994 à 1998, puis de 2009 à 2013, période où il a occupé le poste de chef de mission adjoint) et à New Delhi (de 2004 à 2009), où il était responsable de la prestation du programme canadien de commerce et d’investissement en Inde et au Népal.

High Commissioner David McKinnon

Twitter