Canada-Eritrea Relations

Flag of Eritrea

Canada established diplomatic relations with Eritrea shortly after it gained independence in 1993. In Eritrea, Canada is represented by its Ambassador to Eritrea based in Khartoum, Sudan. Canada also has an honorary consul in Asmara. In Canada, Eritrea is represented by an embassy in Washington D.C. and a consulate in Toronto.

Canada’s interests in Eritrea center on promoting human rights, particularly with regard to respect for democracy and the rule of law, civil liberties, and freedom of the press and association. Canada remains concerned about Eritrea’s actions, which undermine peace and security in the Horn of Africa. The Canadian government has called consistently for Eritrea’s withdrawal from Ethiopia since the beginning of the crisis in northern Tigray in November 2020.

In 2021, two-way merchandise trade between Canada and Eritrea was modest at $2 million. Exports were dominated by industrial machinery, equipment and parts, which accounted for 75.9% of all exports to Eritrea. In 2021, Canadian direct investment in Eritrea was $477.0 million.

Other relevant information

Relations Canada-Érythrée

Drapeau de Érythrée

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec l’Érythrée, après son indépendance en 1993. L’ambassadeur du Canada auprès de l’Érythrée est basé à Khartoum, au Soudan. Le Canada a également un consul honoraire à Asmara. L’Érythrée est représentée au Canada par une ambassade à Washington et un consulat à Toronto.

Les intérêts du Canada en Érythrée sont axés sur la promotion des droits de la personne, particulièrement en ce qui concerne le respect de la démocratie et de l’état de droit, les libertés civiles ainsi que la liberté de la presse et la liberté d’association. Le Canada demeure préoccupé par les actions de l'Érythrée, qui compromettent la paix et la sécurité dans la Corne de l'Afrique. Le gouvernement canadien continue de demander le retrait de l'Érythrée de l'Éthiopie depuis le début de la crise dans le nord du Tigré en novembre 2020.

En 2021, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises entre le Canada et l'Érythrée était modeste, soit 2 millions de dollars. Les exportations étaient dominées par les machines, l'équipement et les pièces industriels, qui représentaient 75,9 % des exportations vers l'Érythrée. En 2021, l'investissement direct canadien en Érythrée était de 477,0 millions de dollars.

Autres renseignements pertinents