Canada-Sudan Relations

Flag of Sudan

Canada established diplomatic relations with the Republic of Sudan in 1961 and Canada’s Office in Khartoum (2000) was upgraded to an Embassy in 2004. Our diplomatic representation was at the Chargé d’Affaires level until February 16, 2021, when the first resident Canadian Ambassador to Sudan presented his letters of credence. In Canada, Sudan maintains an Embassy in Ottawa with a diplomatic representation at the Chargé d’Affaires level.

Since the military coup of October 2021, Canada has worked with partners to promote the resumption of a civilian-led transition through intra-Sudanese dialogue, in order to protect and promote democracy, human rights and economic development. Canada has been particularly active in supporting and promoting the inclusion of women’s voices in the dialogue process.

Through financial contributions to UN peacekeeping operations such as the African Union-United Nations Hybrid Operation in Darfur (UNAMID) and the United Nations Interim Security Force for Abyei (UNISFA), Canada contributes to the protection of civilians affected by conflict, the improvement of the security situation for the Sudanese people, and enhancement of peace and stability in the Abyei region.

In the 1990s, Canada also supported the strengthening of peace processes to bring an end to the conflicts between government and opposition groups through negotiation and dialogue, including providing support which contributed to the 2005 Comprehensive Peace Agreement.

International Assistance

Canada provides international assistance in Sudan through development, humanitarian and peace and security programs. Guided by Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy Canada’s development assistance in Sudan focuses on improving access to education, strengthening sexual and reproductive health and rights, and reinforcing the resilience of the poorest and most marginalized.

Canada’s gender-responsive humanitarian assistance supports the provision of food, nutrition, health, shelter, water, sanitation and protection, as well as initiatives to meet the specific needs and priorities of women and girls including sexual health and reproductive rights.

Canada’s peace and security funding supports women’s participation and the inclusion of gender perspectives in the political transition, and is providing support for human rights defenders.

In 2020-21, Canada’s international assistance delivered through organizations active in Sudan totaled $68 million. Canada does not provide direct budget support to Sudanese authorities.

Commercial Relations

Canada does not currently have trade agreements in place with Sudan and it has a modest trade relationship, with total two-way merchandise trade reaching $45.3 million in 2021, consisting of $44.9 million in exports from Canada and $400,000 in imports from Sudan. Opportunities for growth exist in oil/gas and agriculture.

Canada implements sanctions mandated by the United Nations Security Council with respect to Sudan. Subject to certain exceptions, the measures implemented in the United Nations Sudan Regulations include an arms embargo against Sudan as well as an asset freeze and travel ban against designated persons. Canadian companies active in or interested in doing business in Sudan must ensure they act in accordance with these regulations.

Relations Canada-Soudan

Drapeau de Soudan

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec la République du Soudan en 1961 et le Bureau du Canada à Khartoum (2000) a été promu au rang d'ambassade en 2004. Notre représentation diplomatique était au niveau de Chargé d'Affaires jusqu'au 16 février 2021, lorsque le premier ambassadeur canadien résident au Soudan a présenté ses lettres de créance. Au Canada, le Soudan maintient une ambassade à Ottawa avec une représentation diplomatique au niveau de Chargé d'Affaires.

Depuis le coup d'État militaire d'octobre 2021, le Canada a travaillé avec ses partenaires pour promouvoir la reprise d'une transition dirigée par des civils par le biais d'un dialogue intra-soudanais, afin de protéger et de promouvoir la démocratie, les droits de la personne et le développement économique. Le Canada a été particulièrement actif dans le soutien et la promotion de l'inclusion des voix des femmes dans le processus de dialogue.

Par ses contributions financières aux opérations de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies, comme l'Opération hybride Union africaine-Nations Unies au Darfour (MINUAD) et la Force intérimaire des Nations Unies pour la sécurité d'Abyei (UNISFA), le Canada contribue à la protection des civils touchés par les conflits, à l'amélioration de la sécurité du peuple soudanais et au renforcement de la paix et de la stabilité dans la région d'Abyei.

Dans les années 1990, le Canada a également soutenu le renforcement des processus de paix pour mettre fin aux conflits entre le gouvernement et les groupes d'opposition par la négociation et le dialogue, notamment en fournissant un soutien qui a contribué à l'Accord de paix global de 2005.

Aide internationale

Le Canada fournit une aide internationale au Soudan par le biais de programmes de développement, d'aide humanitaire et de paix et sécurité. Guidée par la Politique féministe d'aide internationale du Canada, l'aide au développement du Canada au Soudan est axée sur l'amélioration de l'accès à l'éducation, le renforcement de la santé et des droits sexuels et génésiques, et le renforcement de la résilience des plus pauvres et des plus marginalisés.

L'aide humanitaire du Canada, qui tient compte des sexospécificités, soutient la fourniture de nourriture, de nutrition, de santé, d'abris, d'eau, d'assainissement et de protection, ainsi que des initiatives visant à répondre aux besoins et aux priorités spécifiques des femmes et des filles, y compris la santé sexuelle et les droits génésiques.

Le financement du Canada pour la paix et la sécurité soutient la participation des femmes et l'inclusion des perspectives de genre dans la transition politique, et fournit un soutien aux défenseurs des droits de la personne.

En 2020-21, l'aide internationale du Canada fournie par l'intermédiaire d'organisations actives au Soudan a totalisé 68 millions de dollars. Le Canada ne fournit pas de soutien budgétaire direct aux autorités soudanaises.

Relations commerciales

Le Canada n'a pas actuellement d'accords commerciaux avec le Soudan et ses relations commerciales sont modestes, le commerce bilatéral total de marchandises atteignant 45,3 M$ en 2021, soit 44,9 M$ d'exportations du Canada et 400 000 $ d'importations du Soudan. Des possibilités de croissance existent dans les secteurs du pétrole/gaz et de l'agriculture.

Le Canada met en œuvre les sanctions mandatées par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies à l'égard du Soudan. Sous réserve de certaines exceptions, les mesures mises en œuvre dans le cadre du Règlement des Nations Unies sur le Soudan comprennent un embargo sur les armes à destination du Soudan ainsi qu'un gel des avoirs et une interdiction de voyager pour les personnes désignées. Les entreprises canadiennes actives ou intéressées à faire des affaires au Soudan doivent s'assurer qu'elles agissent en conformité avec ce règlement.