Message from the Ambassador

I am honoured to be representing Canada in Sudan, a country with rich culture and traditions.

I hope you find our website useful in providing information on Canada’s relations with Sudan and Eritrea and as a gateway for learning more about the services we offer.

Canada established bilateral relations with the Government of the Republic of the Sudan in 1961. Canada’s strategic priorities in Sudan seek to advance human rights, the rule of law, and democracy; to reduce poverty and increase gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls; to address the emergency needs of crisis-affected populations, and to advance regional security and stability.

Canada provides international assistance in Sudan through development, humanitarian and peace and security programs. Guided by Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy and through the bilateral development program announced in 2020, Canada’s support focuses on improving access to education and strengthening the resilience of the poorest and most marginalized. Canada’s gender-responsive humanitarian assistance supports the provision of food, nutrition, health, shelter, water, sanitation and protection, as well as initiatives to meet the specific needs and priorities of women and girls including sexual health and reproductive rights. Canada’s peace and security funding supports women’s participation and the inclusion of gender perspectives in the political transition, and the monitoring and increased accountability for human rights violations, including against women and girls, and marginalized groups.

Canada does not currently have trade agreements in place with Sudan and it has a modest trade relationship with the country. Canadian exports to Sudan are mostly composed of farm, fishing and intermediate food products. Canadian direct investments in Sudan are mainly concentrated in the mining sector. Please note that the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) offers services in Sudan and Eritrea, in collaboration with colleagues in Khartoum, through its offices at the Embassy of Canada in Ethiopia.

As for Eritrea, Canada established diplomatic relations shortly after Eritrea gained independence in 1993. Canada is represented in Eritrea through its Embassy based in Khartoum, Sudan, and an honorary consul in Asmara. Canada’s priorities in Eritrea seek to promote human rights, democracy and the rule of law, civil liberties, and freedom of the press and association, as well as regional security and stability. The commercial relationship with Eritrea is modest with limited exports and imports between the two countries. Most of the Canadian commercial relationship with Eritrea is centered on Canadian investment in the mining sector.

I strongly encourage Canadian citizens and residents working or visiting Sudan or Eritrea to keep abreast of Canada’s Travel Advisories and Travel Reports and to take a moment to register with the Embassy Consular Section using the Registration of Canadians Abroad (ROCA) webpage.

You are also kindly invited to follow us on Facebook and Twitter @CanadaSudan.

Welcome!

Philip Lupul
Ambassador

Biographical note

Philip Lupul - BA with Distinction [History and Slavics], University of Alberta, 1983; LLB [Law], University of Alberta, 1986; LLM [International Law], Dalhousie University, 1998)

From 1986 to 1990, as a member of the Law Society of Alberta, Mr. Lupul was a lawyer in private legal practice in Edmonton, Alberta.  From 1989 to 1990, he also served as a lecturer with the University of Alberta, designing and delivering public legal education programs.

Mr. Lupul joined the Department of External Affairs and International Trade Canada as a professional Foreign Service Officer in 1991, then later transferred to Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) where he served in a number of headquarters and overseas assignments.  Highlights include service as Manager of the Immigration Litigation and Appeals Unit in New Delhi, India (1997 to 2001), Head of Kosovo Refugee Crisis Field Operations based in Skopje, North Macedonia (1999), Immigration Program Manager in Detroit, USA (2001 to 2005) and lead on various international immigration cooperation matters at CIC headquarters in Ottawa, Canada (2006 to 2008).

Mr. Lupul rejoined the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) in 2008 where he worked in Consular operations and policy.  From 2009 to 2012, Mr. Lupul was posted to Afghanistan as Political Director of the Kandahar Provincial Reconstruction Team (KPRT) and was the last Canadian official to leave Kandahar province after completion of the Canadian civilian and military mission to the province.

In 2013 to 2015, as Director of Consular Policy and Programs at DFAIT headquarters with responsibility for strategic initiatives, Mr. Lupul was a founder and led the secretariat that successfully established the Global Consular Forum (GCF), the first multilateral body dedicated to enhanced international cooperation and knowledge sharing in consular affairs.

From 2015 to 2018, Mr. Lupul served as Director at the Canadian Embassy in Kabul, Afghanistan, responsible for Political, Economic, Trade and Public Affairs programs.  As lead for Canada’s engagement in the Rule of Law sector, Mr. Lupul served as International Co-Chair of the International Police Coordination Board (IPCB), coordinating donor assistance to the Government of Afghanistan on policing and security sector reform issues.

From 2018 to 2021, Mr. Lupul was posted at Global Affairs Canada (GAC) headquarters as Deputy Director and Senior Counsel in the Criminal, Security, Cyber and Diplomatic Law Division.  As GAC lead on cyber law, he was a member of the Canadian delegation to negotiations under the Council of Europe’s Budapest Convention on Cybercrime that successfully delivered a new Protocol for enhanced international cooperation in combatting cybercrime and handling of digital evidence. 

Mr. Lupul joined the Embassy of Canada in Khartoum as Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the Republic of the Sudan in January 2022.

Message de l’ambassadeur

Je suis honoré de représenter le Canada au Soudan, un pays dont la culture et les traditions sont riches.

J’espère que notre site Web vous sera utile pour vous renseigner sur les relations du Canada avec le Soudan et l’Érythrée, et qu’il vous permettra d’en savoir plus sur les services que nous offrons.

Le Canada a établi des relations bilatérales avec le gouvernement de la République du Soudan en 1961. Les priorités stratégiques du Canada au Soudan visent à faire progresser les droits de la personne, la primauté du droit et la démocratie; à réduire la pauvreté, à accroître l’égalité des genres et à renforcer le pouvoir des femmes et des filles; à répondre aux besoins urgents des populations touchées par les crises; et à faire progresser la sécurité et la stabilité régionales.

Le Canada fournit de l’aide internationale au Soudan dans le cadre de programmes de développement, d’aide humanitaire, de paix et de sécurité. Guidé par la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada et le programme d’aide bilatérale au développement annoncé en 2020, le soutien du Canada vise à améliorer l’accès à l’éducation et à renforcer la résilience des plus pauvres et des plus marginalisés. L’aide humanitaire du Canada, qui est axé sur le genre, appuie l’approvisionnement en nourriture et en eau (et son assainissement), la nutrition, la santé, le logement, et la protection des personnes les plus vulnérables, ainsi que des initiatives visant à répondre aux besoins et priorités propres aux femmes et aux filles, y compris les droits en matière de santé sexuelle et reproductive. Le financement accordé par le Canada aux programmes de paix et de sécurité soutient la participation des femmes et l’inclusion des perspectives de genre dans la transition politique, ainsi que la surveillance et la responsabilisation accrue en cas de violations des droits de la personne, notamment à l’égard des femmes et des filles, et des groupes marginalisés.

Le Canada n’a pas d’accord commercial avec le Soudan à l’heure actuelle et ses relations commerciales avec ce pays sont modestes. Les exportations canadiennes vers le Soudan sont principalement composées de produits agricoles, de la pêche et de produits alimentaires intermédiaires. Les investissements directs canadiens au Soudan sont principalement concentrés dans le secteur minier. Veuillez noter que le Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC) du Canada offre des services au Soudan et en Érythrée, en collaboration avec ses collègues à Khartoum, par l’intermédiaire de ses bureaux à l’ambassade du Canada en Éthiopie.

Quant à l’Érythrée, le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec ce pays peu après son indépendance en 1993. Le Canada est représenté en Érythrée par son ambassade à Khartoum, au Soudan, et par un consul honoraire à Asmara. Les priorités du Canada en Érythrée visent à promouvoir les droits de la personne, la démocratie et la primauté du droit, les libertés civiles et la liberté de presse et d’association, ainsi que la sécurité et la stabilité régionales. Les relations commerciales avec l’Érythrée sont modestes, les exportations et les importations entre les deux pays étant limitées. La plupart des relations commerciales du Canada avec l’Érythrée sont axées sur les investissements canadiens dans le secteur minier.

J’encourage vivement les citoyens et résidents canadiens qui travaillent au Soudan ou en Érythrée, ou qui s’y rendent, à se tenir au courant des avis et des conseils aux voyageurs publiés par le Canada et à prendre le temps de s’inscrire auprès de la section consulaire de l’ambassade en utilisant la page Web de l’inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger.

Vous êtes également invités à nous suivre sur Facebook et Twitter @CanadaSoudan.

Bienvenue!

Philip Lupul
Ambassadeur

Notice biographique

Philip Lupul – B.A. avec distinction [histoire et slavistique], Université de l’Alberta, 1983; baccalauréat en droit, Université de l’Alberta, 1986; maîtrise en droit international, Université Dalhousie, 1998.

De 1986 à 1990, à titre de membre de la Law Society of Alberta, M. Lupul a été avocat en pratique privée à Edmonton, en Alberta. De 1989 à 1990, il a également été chargé de cours à l’Université de l’Alberta, où il a conçu et présenté des programmes de vulgarisation juridique.

M. Lupul s’est joint au ministère des Affaires extérieures et du Commerce international du Canada à titre d’agent professionnel du service extérieur en 1991, puis il a été muté à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC) où il a occupé plusieurs postes à l’Administration centrale et à l’étranger. Il a notamment été gestionnaire de l’unité des litiges et des appels en matière d’immigration à New Delhi, en Inde (1997 à 2001), chef des opérations sur le terrain lors de la crise des réfugiés au Kosovo à Skopje, en Macédoine du Nord (1999), gestionnaire du programme d’immigration à Detroit, aux États-Unis (2001 à 2005) et responsable de diverses questions de coopération internationale en matière d’immigration à l’Administration centrale de CIC à Ottawa, au Canada (2006 à 2008).

M. Lupul est revenu au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) en 2008 où il a travaillé dans le domaine des opérations et des politiques consulaires. De 2009 à 2012, M. Lupul a été affecté en Afghanistan à titre de directeur politique de l’Équipe provinciale de reconstruction de Kandahar, et a été le dernier représentant canadien à quitter la province de Kandahar après la fin de la mission civile et militaire canadienne dans cette province.

De 2013 à 2015, à titre de directeur de la politique et des programmes consulaires à l’administration du MAECI, responsable des initiatives stratégiques, M. Lupul a été l’un des fondateurs, et aussi directeur, du secrétariat qui a réussi à mettre en place le Forum consulaire mondial, le premier organisme multilatéral consacré au renforcement de la coopération internationale et au partage des connaissances dans le domaine des affaires consulaires.

De 2015 à 2018, M. Lupul a occupé le poste de directeur à l’ambassade du Canada à Kaboul, en Afghanistan, où il était responsable des programmes politiques, économiques, commerciaux et des affaires publiques. À titre de responsable de l’engagement du Canada dans le secteur de la primauté du droit, M. Lupul a été coprésident international du Conseil international de coordination de la police (CICP), qui coordonne l’aide des donateurs au gouvernement de l’Afghanistan sur les questions de maintien de l’ordre et de réforme du secteur de la sécurité.

De 2018 à 2021, M. Lupul a été affecté à l’Administration centrale d’Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) à titre de directeur adjoint et avocat-conseil au sein de la Direction du droit criminel, de la sécurité et de la diplomatie. En tant que responsable du droit du cyberespace à AMC, il a été membre de la délégation canadienne aux négociations dans le cadre de la Convention sur la cybercriminalité du Conseil de l’Europe (Convention de Budapest), qui ont abouti à un nouveau protocole visant à renforcer la coopération internationale dans la lutte contre la cybercriminalité et le traitement des preuves numériques.

M. Lupul s’est joint à l’ambassade du Canada à Khartoum en tant qu’ambassadeur extraordinaire et plénipotentiaire auprès de la République du Soudan en janvier 2022.